We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Empress Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Empress Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

493 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Empress Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 483: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Third time here for TT races. Very expensive during TT fortnight but cheaper than some at £200 per night. Hotel is in a good spot but there are no parking facilities so expensive motorbikes are left curb side. We had a sea facing room which was very small. It's completely pot luck as we have had much larger rooms. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hypnochicky
Aberdeenshire scotland
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We always like a sea view room , which we have always had , you have to pay slightly more but well worth it for the view . There is a lift if required . The breakfast is lovely and staff are great . If weather is great we take our morning coffee outside , but please take your cups...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jill6643
Lancs UK
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Just returned from our second stay at the The Empress for the TT races. Again staff very helpful - a lot of the staff have been there for years and cannot do enough for you. Atmosphere in the hotel is relaxed and low key which is one of the reasons why we book it. Just being able to sit outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjb2173
Crawley
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Stayed here twice previously when working locally in Onchan and service and room were very good, both times I stayed with an employee. It was during one of these stays that I checked in with Reception and they had availability for much of the TT week and the price of £110 a night was to my mind reasonable, including breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
scotland
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Stayed here for 1 night during the TT for over £200 per night and we were given a really small room on 4th floor, overlooking the sea but the room has definitely seen better days. The wallpaper is coming away from the walls, the carpet is stained and frayed, furniture knocked and chipped, crack in the sink. Generally the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rj&lj
midlands
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Just had a lovely 2 night stay at the Empress.We had been to the lakes and as it was the start of practice week for the TT decided to spend 2 nights on the island and we're lucky enough to book in at the Empress we had an executive room with a sea view,I agree with some of the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fishwickMidlands
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fishwickMidlands Thanks so much for your lovely review. We appreciate the nice feedback and am glad you enjoyed the room with it's sea views, as well as the breakfast and hotel staff. Look forward to seeing you again. Regards Neil Gray Business Manager

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Just spent 5 days in this hotel, food good staff friendly, If you are traveling with Woods Travel avoid floor 4, Rooms quite small dreadful outlook we could accept that but this room has a sloping floor, My husband and I woke every morning with mild Vertigo, asked to change rooms but no joy there. We couldn't face breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eileen G I'm sorry you had problems with the room you were in and the sloping floor. I think that over the years, the floor has moved slightly, and hence why the bed base has been adjusted to keep the mattress horizontal and the base is up on different height wooden blocks. I agree it can be a little...

Sowerby Bridge
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday and to see the house in Douglas where my mother had been born. The hotel is in an excellent position, right on the promenade with a lovely sea view. The public areas are well presented and it was nice to sit in the bar area and listen to the pianist....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddict51
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear holidayaddict51 Thank you your feedback. I'm glad you had a nice time and enjoyed the Piano Bar atmosphere and views over the Bay. Our bedroom toiletries are now just wall brackets with Lux shower/face gel by the basin and bath, and these save an awful lot of plastic waste of individual bottles as part of green policy to save...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

My business trip was a last minute 1 night trip to the Isle of Man only booking 1 week before travelling. The Empress Hotel had a deal on a well known booking website and for only £54 for an overnight stay including breakfast, I thought this was a great price. My room was a single in land room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charli P
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charli P Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and am sorry the main meal took too long to arrive. Our single rooms are indeed at the rear of the hotel and offer the same facilities as the other room types but have a small double bed or a single bed in the smaller ones....

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016

i visited the hotel from the 19th till the 21st of this month ,i have stayed many times but this time my stay was marred by one person ? im not sure if this guy is as rude to every paying guest or it was just me over all my stay was and has been a pleasure but on paying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil G

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
326 reviews
0.0 km away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
544 reviews
0.0 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
99 reviews
0.0 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an ala carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: RM300 - RM526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Empress Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Empress Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only attended a function , did not use as a hotel”
 of 5 bubbles DaveManx, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pat the extra for the larger sea view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles johndianne2016, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It was worth paying for a Seaview as there was not much view at the back of sides of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles LuMM_13, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“probably worth paying for a sea view, but that means you're on the front, so may have some traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Seaview would be good”
 of 5 bubbles janethegarty15, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay