We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sefton Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sefton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sefton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 550: English reviews
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I was visiting Isle of Man to judge their dog show and travelling alone, the society had booked me into a B&B which I didn't like as the room was "dark" so I left and bravely wheeled my suitcase along the promenade and liked the façade of the Sefton, so in I went! At this short notice I had choice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vanessashihtzu
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting such an informative review. It sounds like you enjoyed a very busy few days here on the Island and we are pleased we were able to accommodate you at such short notice. The Sefton first opened its doors in 1892, with various sections added over the years and as a result has a few quirky features,...

Manchester
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Spend a very sunny weekend on an extremely good value off season DBB deal staying in an atrium room. Really comfortable beds, large,quiet room so we slept very well. It was lovely to sit on the balcony before dinner and enjoy the calm atmosphere of the atrium. The shower in the bathroom had a nasty shower curtain and very stingy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRCheshire
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your balanced feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and by the sound of it you even brought some lovely weather with you! Your comment regarding the provision of shower gel and shampoo has been noted - we will pass your comments on...

Cardiff
Reviewed 19 March 2015

100 Welsh rock and rollers just spent a weekend at the Sefton hotel. They are undergoing vast refurbishment so we are going to check with them next year to see how it is. The staff were very friendly but some of the rooms are very poorly decorated. The food was nothing more than average and someone commented that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindawales
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are sorry to hear your comments regarding our food, we will of course pass these on to our Chef, however in the meantime please accept our apologies. On the plus side we are pleased you found our staff friendly. We are indeed in the process of refurbishing a few...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Good Hotel and facilities. Decor a little dated or worn (carpets) in places but not enough to spoil your stay. Good Breakfast to start your day. Unfortunately despite a very comfortable bed I got very little sleep due to the noise of what I think was a generator or air con unit outside my bedroom window. My colleague was staying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cleggyv4honda
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for chosing to stay at the Sefton and for taking the time to submit a review. Overall we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us however please accept our apologies for the noise you encountered from the service unit outside your window. We do not normally receive feedback of this nature and we will therefore ask our...

Reviewed 8 March 2015

My friends and I normally go here on a Sunday every other week. Staff very friendly and polite . Can't do enough for you. Food is normally exquisite however last Sunday 1st March was not up to usual standard . Disappointed as we normally tell every body about sunday lunch. Hope the lady chef is back next time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zozo1982
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review although we are disappointed to hear your comments regarding our Sunday Carvery. We have of course passed your feedback on to our Chef. We welcome all feedback from our guests, whether good or bad. If there were any particular concerns which you would like me to look into, perhaps you...

UK
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We stayed for one night, bed, breakfast and evening meal. My husband has a mobility problem, he is not in a wheelchair but has a walker so we stayed in an accessible room. The room overlooked the Atrium and was very pleasant. Bed was large and comfy with lots of space around it. Great stay with good food in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank linianmcearn
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your positive feedback. We are of course delighted to hear that you would "definitely stay again" and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in the Isle of Man a lot, the Sefton ranks as the best place I have stayed so far. The room I had overlooked the atrium and was a pleasant oasis to come back to after a typical business day. The room was well furnished and serviced to a good standard. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dean V
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review and for recommending the Sefton to other prospective guests. We are pleased to hear that you found your room well furnished and serviced to a good standard. Your comment regarding the corridors and lack of pictures is noted, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sefton next time you visit...

Long Whatton
Reviewed 19 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for the TT. Best location, central to Douglas. The room was overlooking the atrium and had it's only balcony. Great to have a balcony where you don't don't get wet when it rains in IOM. Breakfast room was very traditional. Loved it and breakfast very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garyscottorn
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us last year. As you know TT is an incredibly busy time for us here on the Isle of Man and the Sefton is as you say a great location, right in the heart of the TT festivities. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We had a weekend break here in a suite, which was nice and roomy, but fairly standard compared to many hotels I've stayed in previously. The room was clean and tidy, and the bathroom with spa bath was fabulous - but apart from this nothing really gave us the wow factor. The windows were very dirty too, which kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scallywagz
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review following your weekend break with us. On the plus side we are pleased you found your room clean, tidy and spacious. Unfortunately, although the windows are cleaned on a regular basis, it can be very much a losing battle at this time of the year with the sea air and stormy weather. We are...

Isle of Man
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Perfect nights stay, arrived early to take my three boys swimming before nan picked them up, no complaints everyone had fun. Dinner in Sir Normans was excellent really great value for money. Ended up meeting friends doing the same package in the bar until two in the morning, great night. Breakfast was lovely and no rush to vacate the room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keely_63
SeftonHotelManager, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting such a glowing review and for your 5 star rating.....it is always a pleasure to open up TripAdvisor to be greeted with such comments. The winter B&B offer has been a great success and we are pleased you found your stay value for money. We note you will be back and we look forward...

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
339 reviews
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
116 reviews
0.8 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
318 reviews
0.0 km away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sir Norman's
Sir Norman's
Cuisines: Bar, British, Healthy
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: RM487 - RM863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sefton Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sefton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beware of 'road noise' in sea front rooms ...”
 of 5 bubbles dreemerdog, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for Atrium rooms”
 of 5 bubbles robertpO1330LN, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Object in the strongest terms if put in a dismal dowdy room”
 of 5 bubbles 1777NT, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Junior suites improve the ambience but can't take away the staid nature of the decor”
 of 5 bubbles Lpspeshmad, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that has a view of the Atrium, sea, back of hotel or even the sky! Not the internal enclosed courtyard!”
 of 5 bubbles pchomehelpsomerset, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5