We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (1)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good34%
  • Average21%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“great room”(3 reviews)
“fabulous stay”(2 reviews)
Public Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Concierge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for The George
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
27
37
24
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
27
37
24
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat roomcentral locationfabulous stayopposite the castlelovely pubokellsislanddecaftinmanxdouglasmann
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We wanted an early dinner in Castletown and The George was practically the only place that looked open. The staff were welcoming, service good. I had steak medium rare which was how I like it, not tough or stringy. The Guiness was better than the...More

Thank Suwentout
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Great central location, only a few minutes from airport. Friendly staff, family run business, great Sunday lunch, good selection of wines all at reasonable prices. Lots of other local restaurants and pubs all within walking distance. Certainly will return Capt Medley

Thank Captain M M
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Popped into The George for an afternoon meal after visiting the attractions in the town. Decided upon the Manx Steak and Okells Ale pie which was really nice, with the accompanying chips and veg being good also. The pub decor could be updated a little...More

Thank 94thMinute
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We booked as a group of 7 for a Sunday lunch and had no problem getting a table to suit us. The menu gave options of the traditional Sunday Roast (lamb or pork) or anything else off the menu. Most of us went for a...More

Thank graham b
Response from HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The GeorgeResponded 2 May 2017

Hi there, We appreciate all feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch at The George. We work really hard to offer the best food using locally sourced ingredients and I'm glad this was reflected with your meal. We hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 26 April 2017

Visited the island with my dad for a long weekend in March 2017. IOM is a wonderful place to visit and I would recommend it to anyone. However do not make the mistake of staying in this place- it is, quite simply, a dump. First...More

2  Thank willtjl
Response from HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The GeorgeResponded 27 April 2017

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate all feedback and are disappointed you did not receive the level of service we aim to achieve at The George Hotel. We would like to contact you further regarding this matter,...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Banquet Room
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$85 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$85 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SteveChappers
26 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HeronBrearleyPubs | Property representative |
Hi Steve Thank you for contacting us. Please can you email george@hb.im with the dates you are looking to book and hopefully we can get you booked in. Kind regards Lauren
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Wait for refurb as much will change"
Read review
"Room at the top at the front perfect view of the castle ."
Read review
"Room 5 has a fantastic view of the square and Castle Rushen."
Read review
"Stay somewhere else!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing