We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Columba House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Columba House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 303: English reviews
Start your review of Columba House Hotel
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Short and sweet....my lasting impressions. We paid £100 for one night bnb and stayed in the Ministers Room.......dark and dingy with not even a picture on the wall. The room and the hotel is made out to be in keeping with its old styling of yesteryear so the furniture within is all the old, solid, brown wood, traditional style....quite depressing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have just had a five day Easter stay at this hotel excellent location for exploring the cairngorm hotel was lovely room very spacious and clean staff very helpfully breakfasts were very tasty and plentiful evening menu we thought was a bit pricey as we're drinks at the bar but overall a very nice stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian paul s
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently stayed here for two nights but most probably won't go back. The hotel is situated off the High Street and is really quiet even though there is a train track behind. The decor is fairly old but you can see they are trying to maintain it as well as they can. We stayed in the Coachman room (i think)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattpreece87
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our second visit to this hotel did not disappoint, lovely location, room was warm clean and comfortable. Excellent service from the staff. We had dinner on both evenings and the food was good. As the train station was only a 5 min walk away we took the train to Inverness, quick and easy with no hassle of parking!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anniepeg
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this as a Groupon Deal, not knowing what to expect, but were delighted at the quality of this hotel. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable, and the food the delicious.The service was also excellent, and friendly. Would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelauch
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had coach house room, comfortable with ensuite. Bed was king size and room had two seater couch and good sized quality flat screen TV. Food, breakfast and dinner was good, and the service friendly. WiFi only available in the public areas of the hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break which was booked through Groupon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely hotel great service great views handy for everything in the Cairngorms. Room nice and cosy. Makes a really relaxing getaway. Thanks for a great couple of days. Staff were great. Great breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Proprietors, Owner at Columba House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments!!! You were the perfect guest, do come visit the Highlands again.

Balfron, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

I think we were checked in by one of the owners but we only saw staff thereafter. Only one person appeared to be on duty at any one time but there must have been someone else in the kitchen as the service and food were both good. Lonely but no complaints! Stayed for two nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RHB711
Proprietors, Owner at Columba House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write another review. I always try and be here for guests arriving. As I have so many other duties too, I cannot always entertain and need some form of rest as well, as you can appreciate. My excellent team do take care of our guests! Apologies if you felt lonely.

Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Tucked away on a small private road, this delightful little hotel is well worth hunting out. We were in a courtyard room and had to walk our room from the main hotel however we were able to park our car outside our room. The room itself was in need of a little tender loving care and wasn't without faults but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John508598
Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I must state, we did not stay here but tried to book 2 nights in June 2017. We booked from tripadvisor using booking.com. The site we used to book specifically said "cancellation at any time." It stated a 40 pound fee could be charged against our VISA at any time before arrival. We would not have booked non refundable as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markath
Proprietors, Owner at Columba House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mark & Kathie Bauer. Thank you for the comments. We take all comments made on here very serious. Your's especially now as you claim we advertise fraudulent information, such a false claim made against us is not taken lightly. I have sent a private email explaining the cancellation policy as well, without any response from you. As per booking.com:...

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
1:18
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingussie
0.6 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
447 reviews
0.7 km away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 km away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
187 reviews
26.6 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
4.2 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Garden Restaurant
Garden Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish, International, European, Fusion
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our Hotel:Set in an area of outstanding natural beauty, an oasis amidst the magnificent scenery of the Spey Valley. Shimmering lochs are fringed by sandy beaches, and sparkling rivers lie in the shadows of heather-covered mountains. A paradise for outdoor activities, golf, fishing, climbing, rambling, pony trekking, water and winter sports, and those who appreciate invigorating Highland air, dramatic scenery and Highland hospitality.The village of Kingussie is in the Central Highlands of Scotland, surrounded by the Monadhliath and Cairngorm mountain ranges, it provides the opportunity to explore the peaceful countryside with the chance to see a wide variety of wildlife from Golden Eagle or Osprey to Red Deer Stag and Pine Martin. There is also an abundance of wild flowers, plants and trees. 2 miles from Kingussie is the rspb insh Marshes Reserve, one of the finest wetlands conservation areas in the UK. Many wildlife events are organised from here. Golf Pass available guaranteeing 30% reduced rate at all eight of the finest courses within the Cairngorms National Park.A romantic Highland Retreat, highest standards of accommodation, welcoming hospitality, & customer care. Nestling in a secluded, walled garden with ducks, red squirrels, rabbits, deer, pheasants & numerous beautiful birds in attendance. Regret we cannot accommodate children but offer indulgent refuge for grown-ups wishing to enjoy peace in beautiful surroundings with attentive service, & a relaxed adult atmosphere.All modern facilities while retaining the original charm of the Old Manse & Croft.Various stylish, en-suite, room types, doubles/twins/super-king doubles/a large suite and the superb, triple aspect, Penthouse Suite, with ever-changing views of the surrounding village and mountains, including romantic four-poster rooms with locally hand crafted traditional four-posters, mostly king size, and all with double baths, showers. Personal controllable heating, The pampered comfort we offer tells a story, which speaks for itself, as many guests return time and time again. ”Monarch of the Glen” was filmed entirely in the Spey Valley, including many scenes featuring Kingussie.The sport at which Kingussie excels is Shinty and if the team is playing at The Dell (their local ground) you will have the opportunity of watching one of the oldest Gaelic field sports, performed by a team with an unrivalled record of championship and cup wins in the modern era. So….break free from city life and take to the byways, vast moorland, hills, and highland glens. Breathe in the pure highland air, which brightens the eye and lightens the step. Total freedom to relax, unwind and accept the slower pace of the Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Columba House Hotel

Address: Manse Road, Kingussie PH21 1JF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Kingussie
Price Range: RM377 - RM569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Columba House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Columba House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Columba House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only 10 rooms all quiet”
ianpauls2014, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“stay in the main building”
RHB711, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not see other rooms but would assume all will be of similar quality.”
MikeP202, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dog friendly rooms may be substandard.”
39hayleys, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great views of the Cairngorms. Wonderful safe garden for dogs and children.”
_bramatha, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5