We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duke of Gordon Hotel

Save
Traveller (122)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (17)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good32%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“cairngorm travel”(78 reviews)
“coach trip”(30 reviews)
“coach parties”(20 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Duke of Gordon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
234
157
53
23
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
234
157
53
23
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscairngorm travelcoach tripcoach partiesevening entertainmentlairds buffetdining roomthird floorbuffet stylechristmas breakstaff were all friendlyscottish dancingthe hotel managercourse meallovely hotelfour nightshaggislog fire
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Had I known this was a coach tour hotel I would not have booked this was reflected most especially in the standard of catering and other services . Our evening meal was very poor I ordered Atlantic prawns and got shrimps, roast beef with soggy...More

Thank Ian W
Response from DukeofGordonHotel, Manager at Duke of Gordon HotelResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are disappointed that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Most of the larger hotels in the area provide accommodation for tour groups throughout the year. Scotland, particularly the Highlands and the Cairngorm...More

Reviewed 15 April 2018

rooms and hotel very nice and clean. the food was cold and lacking taste. when we sent back cold food and complained of cold plates the took umbridge and left table no 3 the very last to be served and was very slow in clearing...More

Thank DAVID Q
Response from DukeofGordonHotel, Manager at Duke of Gordon HotelResponded 24 April 2018

I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your meal in the restaurant. I can assure you that no offence will have been taken and that the meals will have been replaced as soon as they were ready. We would be more than happy...More

Reviewed 14 April 2018

We popped in for an evening meal in the bar. We found the staff were very helpful and attentive but sadly the meal was mediocre at best. My daughters burgers were over cooked and my fish was a bit limp however my wife's salmon was...More

Thank Ian S
Response from DukeofGordonHotel, Manager at Duke of Gordon HotelResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not happy with your meal. If any of our guests are unhappy with their meals we will happily change them immediately or offer an alternative dish. We offer ales from the Cairngorm Brewery which...More

Reviewed 29 March 2018

We came back yesterday from a short break, we were late getting to the hotel on Friday, but we were welcomed by the manager and dinner put back an hour. The staff were great. The food is amazing, and being piped into dinner was something...More

1  Thank Karen D
Response from DukeofGordonHotel, Manager at Duke of Gordon HotelResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Duke of Gordon Hotel and for your kind comments & observations. We hope you will visit again in the future. Paul & Team Duke

Reviewed 12 March 2018

Took my wife and kids here for lunch on Mothers day and were so glad we chose here as the food and service were great.I could not fault anything the food was all cooked fresh and we did just arrive after the cut of for...More

1  Thank Merlin S
Response from DukeofGordonHotel, Manager at Duke of Gordon HotelResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you all had a good lunch with us here at the Duke and that the team took care of your needs. Paul & Team Duke

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Kingussie
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Dry Cleaning
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$125 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$125 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (122)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (17)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Karen J
14 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Hazel E | Reviewed this property |
I think it was £10 per night single supplement.
1
Vote
bigpsimon
1 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from DukeofGordonHotel | Property representative |
Hello bigpsimon. The dress code is smart casual for the hotel in the evenings. some of our guests do dress for dinner on their last evening and we prefer that guests do not wear jeans & tea shirt for dinner in the restaurant... More
1
Vote
Gillynomates
11 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Car0line05 | Reviewed this property |
There was a hairdryer, but only shower jel was in the bathroom. Lovely hotel.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Front rooms have the best view. We've had no noise problem wherever we've slept there."
Read review
"Refuse if they give you room 107 - terrible"
Read review
"2nd floor at front"
Read review
"Second floor good. Third floor no lift"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing