We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
08/10/2017 09/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ocean Backpackers

    29 St. James Place, Ilfracombe EX34 9BJ, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    08/10/2017 09/10/2017
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (10)
    Dining (7)
    Marine Court Hotel
    387 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Varley House
    441 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Imperial Hotel
    271 reviews
    #7 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    The Bath House Hotel
    214 reviews
    #8 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Overview
    • Excellent55%
    • Very good25%
    • Average14%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible4%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Beachfront
    Family Rooms
    Kitchenette
    Pets Allowed
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    {"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Marine Court Hotel
    387 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Varley House
    441 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Imperial Hotel
    271 reviews
    #7 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    The Bath House Hotel
    214 reviews
    #8 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (92)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 90 reviews

    Reviewed 4 days ago

    Abby at the front desk was very accommodating in spite of my booking with short notice. Happily met my diva requests for an iron and shampoo as I had brought neither. Would go here again as well situated and off street parking.

    Thank James C
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 2 days ago

    Hi James! Thank you for your fab review! So relieved that you went off to your friends wedding with clean hair and an ironed shirt!!! Hope you had a fabulous time and hope to see you again at Ocean Backpackers! Best wishes Abby.

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    The hostel is located very close to the harbour. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The dorm is quite small, but cosy and very clean. Love the en suite! The common - rooms are clean and very inviting.

    Thank Britta48
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 2 days ago

    Thank you for your lovely review! Great to hear you found the hostel friendly, cosy, inviting and clean!! Enjoy your travels and hope to see you again at Ocean Backpackers!

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We reserved family room with bathroom. The room was only small, bathroom not big as well. We came in the middle of the night and were given access code to the property, which was working fine. Unfortunately, despite our request, there was no towels in...More

    Thank Dariusz S
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

    HI Dariusz! Thank you very much for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with your stay. I am pleased that you were able to access your family room in the middle of the night without any problems...More

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Comfortable and friendly with a warm welcome and secure storage for my bike. Had a single room on the top floor. The top-floor kitchen was great! Central and convenient. Would recommend LynBay on the harbour rather than the chippie next door.

    2  Thank Paul K
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

    Hi Paul! Thank you for your review! Great to hear that as a single traveller you found our accommodation comfortable and that you received a warm welcome from our staff! Thank you for the chippie recommendation too!! Hope to see you again soon!

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    This hostel is really great. It is located in the heart of Ilfracombe. Many pubs and restaurants can be reached within a 1-2 minute foot-walk. Also the harbour is one minute away. Everything in the hostel very clean. It includes two self catering kitchen. One...More

    3  Thank axello7
    Response from ChrisTappenden, Owner at Ocean BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

    Hi There! Thank you for a great review!! Really pleased that you had a fab time at Ocean Backpackers and that we were the perfect location for your stay!! Hope to see you again soon!!

    Marine Court Hotel
    387 reviews
    #1 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Varley House
    441 reviews
    #2 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    Imperial Hotel
    271 reviews
    #7 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    The Bath House Hotel
    214 reviews
    #8 of 20 hotels in Ilfracombe
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$41 - US$97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 12
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ocean Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Devon >
    • Ilfracombe
    • Also Known As
    • Ocean Backpackers Ilfracombe, Devon
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (17)
    Room & Suite (10)
    Dining (7)
    Pool & Beach (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (19)
    Nearby
    The Bath House Hotel
    214 reviews
    .66 km away
     
    Varley House
    441 reviews
    1.02 km away
     
    Marine Court Hotel
    387 reviews
    .67 km away
     
    Imperial Hotel
    271 reviews
    .35 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Blacksands Bistro
    285 reviews
    .11 km away
    The Terrace Tapas & Wine Bar
    741 reviews
    .12 km away
    St James Tearoom
    228 reviews
    .05 km away
    Adele's Cafe
    318 reviews
    .09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Ilfracombe Harbour
    744 reviews
    .23 km away
    Tunnels Beaches
    1,340 reviews
    .74 km away
    St Nicholas Chapel
    186 reviews
    .32 km away
    Ilfracombe Museum
    368 reviews
    .42 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Ocean Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Top floor is quiet and has its own kitchen"
    Read review
    "Dorm room en suite was spacious and great hot powerful shower."
    Read review
    "If you don't want to share make sure 8 of you go , but we didn't have any problems."
    Read review
    "Private rooms available if privacy is preferred. Rooms on top floor quieter."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing