We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Esplanade

Expedia.comUS$91*
View Deal
#12 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$93*
US$91*
Great Deal
US$93*
US$93*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 246: English reviews
Start your review of The Esplanade
 Click to rate
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here last weekend excellent hotel very clean breakfast was very good and lovely and hot nothing was to much trouble would stay here again and I would recommend this place to my family and friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely hotel in perfect location. Welcomed by the owner who was very friendly and helpful assisting with our luggage. Had top floor family room as travelling with friend and our daughters, plenty of space for 4 of us and very clean. Breakfast beautiful with plenty of choice. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellieh83
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you another time.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly hotel.I arrived by bycycle was given a very warm welcome by the owner and the bike was looked after.My room was immaculate with a view of the sea.The owner started breafast half an hour earlier just for me to accommadate an early start. The breakfast was excellent and all the staff charming.Would definetly stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you another time. Hope the weather was kind to you for the rest of your journey. Kind Regards Julie Andrasko

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved how spacious our bedroom was, very surprising for the steal of a price we got! Also a beautiful view of the ocean from our bedroom. Excellent breakfast in the morning and very friendly staff!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

Hi, So glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you another time soon.

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a excellent location on top of the cliff with uninterrupted views out to see. We were made most welcome and the room was very clean and up to date. Hotel bedding is always welcome. Breakfast is very good with a large choice of cooked or continental. The only difficulty is parking....car parks are expensive in Tenby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barnwood
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you another time soon. Cheapest car park option is the multi storey at £3 for 24 hours approximately 5 minutes walk away.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked last minute a break with my friend and our two young daughters. We were greeted by the owner and shown to our lovely room. We booked a high family room facing the sea. The room was spacious, beds comfortable and everything was lovely and clean. The children were welcomed and had a settled nights sleep. Breakfast was lovely with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

We`re so glad you enjoyed your stay thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you another time. Book direct to get the best price.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights with my boyfriend. We chose the Premier Double Room with Seaview. The view was beautiful, you can sea the south beach and Saint Catherine's Island from your window and there is a pair of armchairs and table by the window to do so. Had a 4 poster bed which was very traditional and pretty! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EA45
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you another time. Please book direct for the best prices.

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Esplanade is situated on the sea front and a good location for access to the whole of Tenby. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly woman who showed us to our room. Unfortunately this is where the positive points stop. We were immediately very disappointed as I had booked this hotel as a celebratory treat weekend away with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and we're very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. With regards to the room and the rates, unfortunately you 'mistakenly' booked the double room for single occupancy, so obviously we had to charge you the full double occupancy rate as there were two of you. Our rates are comparable with similar properties in the area,...

swansea
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed with our two year old for a one night stay in the esplanade.The room was just what we wanted,clean,spacious with a seating area and balcony.The owner/manager was very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us,she helped us to our room with our sons buggy.....which was over and above what we expected but so welcoming.The breakfast the day after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richmbSwansea
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Julie Andrasko

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Stayed here for a weekend and enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Ideal for a person with a mobility issue if you are able to book the ground floor room. The manager was able to sort this out for us. The above floors have no lift access and although this is plainly stated on the website, i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AberRob

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (17)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Second Standard Double Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.1 km away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
520 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
670 reviews
1.4 km away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.7 km away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated alongside the town walls and overlooking South Beach, this 4 Star Guest Accommodation has magnificent views across Carmarthen Bay towards the islands of Caldy and St Catherines, and on a clear day, the north Devon coast.Access to the beautifully sandy South Beach is directly in front on TheEsplanade.A two minute walk will take you into the charming walled town of Tenby with it's wide selection of shops and restaurants.Run by proprietors Peter and Julie Andrasko who took over in April 2004. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Esplanade

Address: 1 10 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Price Range: RM419 - RM714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Tenby
The Esplanade Tenby, Wales
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#12 Family Hotel in Tenby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Esplanade staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Cardigan, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Newport, United Kingdom
1 month ago
.
Newport, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Esplanade staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views sleep to the sound of the Sea”
U1909IWjamesb, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Best views and location in Tenby”
amandapT4231FL, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues I suggest you give the manager a call and see whats available. He is very good and will do what he can”
AberRob, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are exhilarating.”
jennieh2017, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“some rooms have a four poster bed and sea views”
, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$91* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$93
TripAdvisorUS$93
Hotels.comUS$93
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates