We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Esplanade

Booking.comUS$86*
View Deal
#13 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$86*
US$86*
US$86*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 240: English reviews
Start your review of The Esplanade
 Click to rate
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Esplanade is situated on the sea front and a good location for access to the whole of Tenby. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly woman who showed us to our room. Unfortunately this is where the positive points stop. We were immediately very disappointed as I had booked this hotel as a celebratory treat weekend away with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and we're very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. With regards to the room and the rates, unfortunately you 'mistakenly' booked the double room for single occupancy, so obviously we had to charge you the full double occupancy rate as there were two of you. Our rates are comparable with similar properties in the area,...

swansea
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed with our two year old for a one night stay in the esplanade.The room was just what we wanted,clean,spacious with a seating area and balcony.The owner/manager was very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us,she helped us to our room with our sons buggy.....which was over and above what we expected but so welcoming.The breakfast the day after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richmbSwansea
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Julie Andrasko

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Stayed here for a weekend and enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Ideal for a person with a mobility issue if you are able to book the ground floor room. The manager was able to sort this out for us. The above floors have no lift access and although this is plainly stated on the website, i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AberRob
Colac, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The hotel is well located in Tenby with easy access to town and seafront. Our room was clean, bright, well appointed and comfortable with views of both town walls and sea. Hotel staff were welcoming, supportive and very efficient. Breakfast in the dining room was ample and well prepared with excellent views over the seafront. Well worth a visit! Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennieh2017
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely bed , fantastic view in room 14 I strongly recommend you stay in! Breakfast is also lovely - the mushrooms are a must have! Only thing I'd criticise it for is hiding the WIFI details in a drawer ! Maybe leave that out on the side for guests? But other than that amazing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BCFCBudd
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Nice with A Brilliant bed and pleasant staff, the location was excellent , whilst the rooms where good that's all they where , they seemed a little jaded and in need of a refresh to be honest.. Better places for this kind of money in the local area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamieontour92
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

A very comfortable hotel if of an age which must require constant attention. Not withstanding that it was clean freshly decorated and excellent for our purposes (visiting relatives). The only possible downside was that the phone appeared not to work (we wouldn't have noticed if the proprietor hadn't pointed it out) and the kettle was to big to fill from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Returning to Tenby after too many years away. Wanted to stay close to the headland between the two main beaches, the Esplanade was ideally placed. We made a mistake in the booking being out by one day, this was not a problem to the owner who dealt with the matter withhout any fuss. The hotel is a very old building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We`re glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back another time.

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as birthday treat tor my partner and me.Booked in no problem told the room on second floor opened the door what a let down nothing like the pictures on Web site small room dated furniture. All in inside of building could do with a lick of paint. Owner seamed to be doing everything from booking in people to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank neithevs
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

stayed at the esplanade hotel very clean rooms a nice size staff very helpful and polite breakfast very good thorouly enjoyed the whole weekend blues festival very entertaining would go back in aminute

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scruffydodo

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (17)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Second Standard Double Room (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.1 km away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
501 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 km away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tenby
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
668 reviews
1.4 km away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.7 km away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 24 in Tenby
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated alongside the town walls and overlooking South Beach, this 4 Star Guest Accommodation has magnificent views across Carmarthen Bay towards the islands of Caldy and St Catherines, and on a clear day, the north Devon coast.Access to the beautifully sandy South Beach is directly in front on TheEsplanade.A two minute walk will take you into the charming walled town of Tenby with it's wide selection of shops and restaurants.Run by proprietors Peter and Julie Andrasko who took over in April 2004. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Esplanade

Address: 1 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Price Range: RM410 - RM693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Tenby
The Esplanade Tenby, Wales
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#12 Family Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Esplanade staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Cardigan, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Newport, United Kingdom
25 days ago
.
Newport, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Esplanade staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have mobility issues I suggest you give the manager a call and see whats available. He is very good and will do what he can”
AberRob, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are exhilarating.”
jennieh2017, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“some rooms have a four poster bed and sea views”
, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea front ones look good and in older part of hotel so sound proof might be better.”
Helena0218, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we were on second floor to the front - with a little noise from above and the road outside maybe top floor is best”
j0hnn0_001, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$86* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$86
Hotels.comUS$86
Hotwire.comUS$86
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates