We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All reviewsone way systemrobert burnsshopping centrebuffet breakfastmiddle of towncentral hotelbars and restaurantsfunction roomold buildingsteak piestayed for one nightfull scottish breakfastlovely roomwallace monumentharoldballroomthistle
Stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a local wedding. Big mistake not checking TripAdvisor before booking. All the poor reviews are completely accurate. Telling that they ask you to pay full bill on arrival - they want to take your money before...More
2 Thank Tal1204
Response from GoldenLionStirling, General Manager at Golden Lion HotelResponded 10 April 2018
THank you for taking the time to comment
I am disappointed to hear of your concerns which we will investigate. It is normal policy for most Hotels to request payment upon arrival of accommodations. All our rooms vary in style, size and decor which reflects...More
We were in Stirling for a day out, with really dreadful weather, so we decided to eat here.
We stuck to very traditional main courses, but I did have calamari in a tempura batter-crisp and delicious.
The steak pies were very ample portions, with very...More
Thank Gavin N
Response from GoldenLionStirling, General Manager at Golden Lion HotelResponded 9 April 2018
Thanks you for your kind comments - I will pass them on to the team accordingly
The rooms do not look anything like they do on their website. They are old and musty and don’t even have heating. On arrival we were given a room which we had paid the fee for a double room. We were put next to our...More
6 Thank swood152
Response from GoldenLionStirling, General Manager at Golden Lion HotelResponded 5 April 2018
THnak you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am disappointed that you have also commented and failed to omit you were attended to accordingly and the situation remedied. It is quite easy to voice your concerns on reviews and quick...More
No hot water from sink or shower in en suite. Notice on wall to run tap for some time in order to bring hot water through. This didn't work. Manager felt that this was acceptable and was hesitant to offer compensation for no hot water....More
We booked to stay here in Jan 2018, for Easter and after confirmation booked train travel and made necessary arrangements. However, we received a phone call a few days prior to say our rooms would not be available due to ongoing refurbishments and we had...More
5 Thank PCsW0rld
Response from GoldenLionStirling, General Manager at Golden Lion HotelResponded 3 April 2018
Thank you for your Comments, I can confirm our bedroom refurbishment has been delayed for 3 weeks which is beyond our control so we have had to out book several rooms during this timescale where we did advise you two weeks prior to your arrival...More
Response from delingard | Reviewed this property |
As said above, there is a lift from the carpark up to reception and the other floors. When I was there I saw a gentleman in a wheel chair using this lift and sharing the lift with companions, so though small the lift is... More
As said above, there is a lift from the carpark up to reception and the other floors. When I was there I saw a gentleman in a wheel chair using this lift and sharing the lift with companions, so though small the lift is adequate. The problem is getting into the car park, which is behind the hotel, especially if you are new to Stirling. Then having found the car park finding a space may be difficult depending on the time of day. Speak to the hotel directly, they may have disabled spaces set aside.