We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Windmill

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Windmill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Great atmoshere and food and staff excellent. Plenty of choice and fast service. Highly recommend. We visited on a saturday afternoon and were greated by usual staff who were very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

A one night stop over on a cycle ride from Newcastle to Hull. All the staff were very helpful, including somewhere to keep the bike over night and book discussions. The room was clean tidy with plenty of space, with usual tea, coffee tv etc - with bath (had a good soak). The location was good for me as quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
holmfirth
Level Contributor
213 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

stayed Saturday night for £45 for the 2 of us. the room No4 was ok, looked tired and basic. there was stains on both the chair and the stool, one of the glasses had what looked like fag ash stuck to the bottom. the toilet flush was missing and no plug for the basin. the quality of the bedding was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kiaHolmfirth

Travellers are raving about these Hartlepool hotels

Chandlers Ford
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016

This one is probably better than three blobs, but not quite four! I stayed here while travelling solo a few days ago. The room was large, and pretty clean, but seemed a little, well, sparse; like no controls on the radiators. It had all that I needed but just seemed a bit lacking in character, and there was a very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank exilegull
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take on all of your feedback in order to improve our service. We hope that you visit us again More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Very pleasantly surprised about this Hotel looks very deceiving from the outside but on entering the hotel we were extremely well greeted from Michael on reception and what made our stay even more special is that he had upgraded us to the Honeymoon suite at no extra cost and what a room it was very large and spacious had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonycourt51
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again shortly. thank you More 

Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a night on route to Scotland, very pleased and satisfied with the standard and price. Nice comfortable and quiet a great meal next door in the restaurant, parking was would use again, good and friendly welcome on arrival and would certainly recommend this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alwyn F
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a lovely time and hope to see you again soon thank you More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed over with my Dad as we went to the England match in nearby Sunderland. Great location for travelling around the North East. Great hotel, nice rooms, nice atmosphere with friendly staff. Will be staying again for sure to try the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Danny M
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon. thank you More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Went for a family birthday meal, first visit but had heard good things, we weren't disappointed - staff were very attentive without being pushy. Order was taken promptly and arrived in a timely manner, started with free garlic bread for the table which was a lovely surprise. All nine of us had starters and Mains everything was delicious. The stand... More 

Helpful?
Thank alycat67
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again shortly thank you More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2016

only came for food as we know the Sambuca brand is always very good value and we weren't disappointed we all had potatoe wedges for a starter, a pasta main and ice cream for desert and we all had a coke to drink. £28.80 final bill was good value.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dazho
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon thank you More 

Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2016

I stayed with my wife and kids in Windmill for 4 nights on Christmas time. We booked 2 double rooms including breakfast. We didn't know what to expect coming here all the way from Spain. When we arrived we were very surprised. The gentleman in reception was so friendly and nice help us with everything we asked for. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mrivera511

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartlepool
5.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
436 reviews
6.6 km away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
6.2 km away
Travelodge Hartlepool Marina Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hartlepool
122 reviews
0.0 km away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
38 reviews
16.1 km away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Windmill

Address: Dalton Piercy, Hartlepool TS27 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Price Range: RM213 - RM249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windmill 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Windmill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Windmill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quite close to the A19 - try and request a room not directly on the A19 side.”
 of 5 bubbles alansK2971ZS, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great food is all we came for”
 of 5 bubbles Dazho, 30 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms large size and clean”
 of 5 bubbles mrivera511, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Get a Room away from the very busy A19.”
 of 5 bubbles keithy306, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“All rooms ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles N6372IEmiker, 12 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay