We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Richmond Gate Hotel

CancelonUS$95*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$184*
US$95*
Great Deal
US$96*
US$115*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

956 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Richmond Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 937: English reviews
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Firstly The good points ... The Staff were friendly and helpful. The 1st night in the bar, the Manager welcomed us and placed a plate of fudge and Strawberries on our table. However, on the 2nd night, I ordered 2 vodkas with lemonade and was told that there was no lemonade on the premises. A little peeved, we decided to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies that your stay was not as enjoyable as you had hoped. I will review your comments with the housekeeper/maintenance and review repairs. I was pleased that you enjoyed your meals at the hotel. We do try to ensure that all food and beverage items are available at all times. The hotel does charge for parking, but...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Book this hotel for a wedding i was attending but had to cancel. To cancel you need to do it via the website according to the Eastern European lady i spoke to on the phone. I could not find this anywhere so called back and she said i needed to email them with my cancellation request which i did and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FJT_11
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies that you had frustration in trying to cancel your bedroom. If guests book direct with the hotel then they can cancel direct with the hotel. If a guest books through an alternative/third party supplier/website then unfortunately you need to cancel the room with the original supplier/website that you made the booking with. (I appreciate that...

kent
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We stayed 2 nights over a weekend in March . The hotel is superb for Richmond park but is in easy reach of town centre and transport links . The hotel has a country feel to it even though your in London . We had dinner both nights a small menu but the food was well cooked in pleasant surroundings....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevin503
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and the team looked after you well. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Richmond. Regards Andrew Lee

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We had a very comfortable four night stay in February. Our room and bathroom was spacious. The hotel has character and the staff were all extremely helpful and courteous. It was very helpful to have onsite parking. Being an old building there were no lifts; the staff helpfully carried our bags for us. The breakfast and bar snacks (sandwiches) were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RuthwNZ
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you well. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Richmond. Regards Andrew Lee

Anstruther
Reviewed 9 March 2017

If you want a very good hotel in Richmond, with car parking, this is worth considering. Ok, perhaps the room could have done with a refurb, but it was spotlessly clean. After the first few hours, even the eccentric plumbing seemed fine. The staff were brilliant, they could not have been more helpful during my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the team looked after you well. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Richmond. Regards Andrew Lee

Reviewed 7 March 2017

I spent one night here with a friend. We both had a wonderful massage and the staff in the salon were wonderful - even went out of their way to return my necklace when I left it in the treatment room. We ate in restaurant in the evening, which was pleasant and the breakfast was great! I was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tosytoes
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and I was pleased that you had a nice time. I will review your comments concerning attention to detail with the team and action improvements. I was pleased that you enjoyed your meals and massage. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Richmond....

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Picked this hotel for a couple of days in London, first impressions are good and pictures on internet makes it look impressive! Found the hotel reception staff very helpful and polite, check in was easy and directed to our room, which I will say was clean and tidy,good sized bed, the usual you'd expect. Decided to go and try the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spurssupporter
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and I appreciate you taking the time to detail your comments that I will review with the team and action improvements. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Richmond. Regards Andrew Lee

Reviewed 20 February 2017

We had a pleasant room, but the information details need updating. It was not clear how the evening meals were served. Breakfast was good and reasonable price. The drenching shower was good and hot, easy to adjust, but the extractor fan in the bathroom was not working. We heard one guest complain there was no hot water in their bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and I was pleased that in general you had an enjoyable stay. The maintenance team have reviewed the extractor fan in the bedroom. I hope that you will consider staying with us again on your next visit to Richmond. Regards Andrew Lee

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a three night stay which included dinner, bed and breakfast. The location of the hotel is excellent, with Richmond Park on the doorstep, as well as the town, which is a good ten minutes walk away. The District Line into the city centre is is also extremely handy. Our room was in the original part...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angieba2015
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. I have reviewed your comments with the Head Chef and F&B Manager concerning the evening menu and food quality and actioned improvements. I have also discussed your comments concerning housekeeping. They should be checking with reception when guests have checked out of the hotel and therefore are aware the room is unoccupied. I hope...

Reviewed 16 February 2017

I liked the fact that the room was clean, it had a good bed, and a nice TV. The shower was hot and had good pressure - it ticked all the important boxes! The pool and sauna/steam room were much better than expected albeit shared with another hotel and apparently the public. It lost a star in my review (and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PendulumX
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and I was pleased that in general you had an enjoyable stay. Please accept my apologies that the hot room service meal options were not available. These normally are and the chef will ensure that in future these are available. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on...

393 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (236)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Executive Room (30)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 km away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Richmond
1,432 reviews
0.2 km away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 11 in Richmond
633 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Coach and Horses
0.6 km away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 11 in Richmond
415 reviews
2.9 km away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Price Range: RM407 - RM1,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Richmond Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Richmond Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower floors more accessible”
PatriciaG147, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 40 should be avoided”
bdenhow, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Check whether they are sticking you in a basement room.”
jcannon60, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our Room 40 . very comfortable and quiet with a large flatscreen tv”
rogersH368LZ, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front facing down to the river”
linkeo, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$95* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$96
ClarionHotels.comUS$115
TripAdvisorUS$96
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates