We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Explorers Caravan Park

    88 Dowling St, Thargomindah, Queensland 4492, Australia
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (9)
          Room & Suite (1)
          Hotel & Grounds (14)
          Overview
          • Excellent62%
          • Very good34%
          • Average2%
          • Poor0%
          • Terrible2%
          Travellers talk about
          Free Parking
          Kitchenette
          Pets Allowed
          Wheelchair Access
          Breakfast included
          Pool
          Restaurant
          Room Service
          All hotel details
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (38)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 38 reviews

          Reviewed 11 April 2017

          Our repeat visits to this meticulously-maintained caravan parks have never disappointed us. The welcome extended by Eide and Paul is always warm and informative. Eiide always shows an interest in her guests: engaging with them in a pleasant and friendly way and providing much valuable...More

          Thank juliem1952
          Reviewed 6 April 2017

          There is a caveat on this advice. The Park is owned by the local Shire/ Council and operated by managers, now Paul and Ide. It is my understanding that they are being replaced after op-erating the park for ten years. Therefore, this advice may have...More

          Thank sydfire2015
          Response from Paul R, Manager at Explorers Caravan ParkResponded 8 April 2017

          Thank you very much for your review Sidfire2015 - we very much appreciate it. Indeed we are extremely sad that we didn't get the contract to continue and have to leave after being here for 10 years, as surely Thargomindah is one of the loveliest...More

          Reviewed 8 January 2017

          My wife and I stayed in an ensuite cabin at Explorers Caravan Park in Thargomindah in August 2016, for nine nights. The ensuite cabins are absolutely clean, quiet, well-appointed and comfortable, with everything you would ever need for a holiday in Thargomindah. Air conditioned (reverse...More

          Thank Julien R
          Response from Paul R, & Ide Rush, Managers, Explorers Caravan Park at Explorers Caravan ParkResponded 10 January 2017

          Thank you for your fantastic review Julien, and thank you for sharing the word about the Explorers Caravan Park in Thargomindah. It's a joy to look after such nice people as yourselves, and as you know, we do agree that Thargo is such a great...More

          Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

          This park is really done well, the grounds are beautiful and green. We stayed in a "cabin" which are really a bit more like little self-contained motel units. They are really nice. For what you can pay for accommodation around Qld, these are well worth...More

          Thank Kizz B
          Response from Paul R, Paul & Ide, Managers, Explorers Caravan Park at Explorers Caravan ParkResponded 10 January 2017

          Thank you for your excellent review. We are glad you obviously enjoyed your stay here in the Explorers at Thargomindah. Yes, we have lovely wrap-around verandas which allow shade for animals travelling with you, and we do agree that walk to the river is spectacular....More

          Reviewed 11 November 2016

          Very well presented and absolutely wonderful managers, who couldn't do enough to help us out when our car broke down, they where very friendly and went out of their way to help us. The unit we stayed in was clean and tidy and contained everything...More

          Thank duthiefiona
          Response from Paul R, Paul & Ide, Managers, Explorers Caravan Park at Explorers Caravan ParkResponded 10 January 2017

          Thank you for taking the time to do your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here in the Explorers at Thargomindah. Hope to see you here again some time in the future...and that you don't have the car problems again.

          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$15 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Kitchenette
          • Number of rooms
          • 10
          • Location
          • Australia >
          • Queensland >
          • Thargomindah
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (9)
          Room & Suite (1)
          Hotel & Grounds (14)
          Nearby
          Nearby Restaurants
          Bulloo River Hotel Motel
          9 reviews
          .64 km away
          Coffee On Dowling
          21 reviews
          .93 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Lake Bindegolly National Park
          1 reviews
          2.76 km away
          Kilcowera Station
          1 reviews
          77.15 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Jessica P
          Have you a room for 2adults and I child 16/17/18 of this month including pricing. We are coming over for gymkanah but are unsure as to wether it will be cancelled or not re weather conditions, rain is predicted. Are we able to tentatively book until we find out if it will go ahead Jessica Petrie Cunnamulla
          9 September 2016|
          Answer Show all 3 answers
          Response from Christine S | Reviewed this property |
          Ditto the previous answers to your query.
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Try for Cabin number six"
          Read review
          "The cabins are little duplexes, all much the same, I think some have an extra bed."
          Read review
          "Ring ahead to secure a site to suit your needs."
          Read review
          "All the cabins looked the same. I do not think you could go wrong with any of them."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing