We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pier House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westward Ho
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pier House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 70: English reviews
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We visited here last night the food was fabulous we were very impressed. Thai fish cakes, chicken and pork pate, scallops , rack of ribs, slow cooked confit of pork belly and steak - excellent atmosphere we had a window seat which if it was daylight would have had a spectacular view over the sea. Reasonably priced would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mullencp
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the recommendation and for taking the time to offer a review following your recent visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

At lunchtime today I called in to the Pier House Restaurant to check the menu, as I had been told by a friend that the food was good. Although it was a very busy evening of bookings a table for two was promptly found for me. On arrival my partner and I were shown promptly to our table by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and we thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

The food is always amazing here and you are always felt to be welcome, the food is so good here we return for our Sunday lunch nearly every weekend at ease it is so relaxing and the whole family love it! There are no cons about it and I would recommend it to anyone. ☀️☀️

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baileydell
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation and we thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Relaxing, good food and service, made to feel you could stay all day and chat and enjoy the view. Easy to find amidst a caravan park, but not spoilt by this. Views overlooking the sea, on two levels outside or sit in if preferred. Caters for wedding functions, but not during the summer holidays. Entertainment for holiday makers in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Pier House and we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Me and my family went to the pier house for a meal, the food was great and the fact they have a gluten free menu was even better. I could actually sit and eat my whole meal without feeling ill. Will definitely eat there again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSTONE16
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our gluten free menu and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit at The Pier House

Lancashire
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The sea views from this restaurant are superb. We went for sunday lunch. Both the a la carte menu and a carvery were available. We chose to have the carvery where there was a good choice of roasts and vegetables. The food could have been hotter. Booking advisable as it did get very busy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TowerTwo
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

That you for taking the time to offer a review of your visit with us for a Sunday carvery. We thank you for your feedback and will be sure to pass your comment onto the relevant department. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Leeds
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Amazing place to grab a drink or something to eat whilst watching the sunset. The views are breathtaking on the large outdoor glass fronted terrace. We went as a family - kids were very made to feel welcome. Menu was extensive - something for everyone - probably best described as good pub food but I think there's another restaurant inside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cvl333
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us at The Pier House and we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Visited the Pier House again for Sunday Lunch Carvery which is always great but the service was absolutely terrible; once finished our meals we just sat waiting for the staff to ask for the desert menu which after another 30 minutes didn't arrive so decided to skip desert and asked for the bill which we then had to wait another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devonfamily2015
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. We are sorry to learn of your experience with us on Sunday and can only apologise for the length in time that you had to wait for service. Please be assured that we take customer satisfaction very seriously and we are disappointed to learn that on this occasion we did not...

Appledore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

The service was excellent the waiters were friendly and answered all our questions about the dishes. There is a varied selection of fish starters and mains dishes. I hope that local caught fish is available as much as possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felicity S
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed the crab and cod cakes. We really hope to welcome you back again soon

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

The good and drinks were really nice and they had a wide range of selection i definitely think you should go to have a lovely relaxing night out, also they serve your food amazingly quick and you do not find and uncooked bits altogether i think this restaurant is awesome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaden T
Braddicks, Public Relations Manager at Pier House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review of The Pier House following your recent visit with us. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and thank you for saying you think we are 'awesome'. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westward Ho
2.6 km away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#7 of 12 in Bideford
658 reviews
7.8 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
323 reviews
4.2 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#4 of 12 in Bideford
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 6 in Westward Ho
64 reviews
0.5 km away
Westbeach Resort
Westbeach Resort
#5 of 9 in Westward Ho
84 reviews
1.0 km away
Mayfield House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Pier House Hotel

Address: Merely Road, Westward Ho, Bideford EX39 IJU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford > Westward Ho
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pier House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only had a meal so don't know about the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles juliebuckingham, 14 Dec 2013 | Read review
“I am unable to report on Rooms, I only visited for lunch.”
 of 5 bubbles Hector-W, 7 Dec 2013 | Read review
“you can take your dog with you there (dog friendly)”
 of 5 bubbles MCANDRE, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
“If you like fresh seafood go for the seafood salad. It looks divine!”
 of 5 bubbles 440Sunny, 13 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Only used Restaurant”
  • Terrace
 of 5 bubbles skippy083, 19 Jul 2011 | Read review
5 of 5