We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackaddie Country House Hotel

374 reviews
Save
Traveller (68)
Dining (39)
Room & Suite (12)
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good17%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fine dining”(38 reviews)
“ian mcandrew”(30 reviews)
“partridge”(16 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (374)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Blackaddie Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
257
66
29
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
257
66
29
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfine diningian mcandrewpartridgesorbetgourmet menumichelin starfudgepennefantastic foodbanks of the riverwine listhighest orderjacuzzi bathcheeseboardsouthern upland wayfirst classcountry house
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We spent a few days here and the hotel is ideally placed for exploring the beautiful Dumfries and Galloway countryside. We were made very welcome and were extremely well looked after. Our room was large, very comfortable and quiet. The food in the hotel's restuarant,...More

Thank Polly B
Reviewed 15 October 2017

After booking direct with the hotel for an upgraded room, talking through dietary requirements , we were so bitterly disappointed on our arrival. We were met by Jane , shown to our room, but quickly pointed out that it wasn't quite what we expected. Jane...More

5  Thank lindasmith146
Response from Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House HotelResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback. You were basically rude to us throughout, from the moment you arrived blatantley ignoring me in the process while I held the door open for you and tried to greet you, even the nice young man thought so too. This...More

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Absolutely appalling! Yes the hotel it's self looks lovely . We booked a cottage for a weekend . Says it's pet friendly? Maybe if the pet is a gold fish?! The photographs on the website do not depict the true picture at all! The garden...More

6  Thank ashleighcolman
Response from Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House HotelResponded 14 October 2017

These people did not stay with us, they checked in and because the garden was not a private one (we have never claimed it as such) they decided they would not stay but before going wanted their deposit back which we refuised to return. The...More

Reviewed 13 October 2017

We stayed in the Grouse, a luxuriously appointed over-sized room with pleasant views of the countryside. The owners have spared no expense here -- king bed (rare in Scotland), super-comfortable mattress, contemporary bathroom with excellent shower and Jacuzzi tub. Ian's mastery of the kitchen was...More

Thank ColoTraveler2001
Response from Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House HotelResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you and we look forward to you returning to us one day

Reviewed 9 October 2017

A real chill out place which is really comfortable to stay in with ample public areas despite being a small hotel. Whilst we had one of the hotel rooms (spotless) our friends had one of the lodges which were extremely spacious and comfortable. The dinner...More

Thank rourkemanchester
Response from Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House HotelResponded 15 October 2017

Thank you so much, you were a lovely group and it was a pleasure to look after you.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345675
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$231 - US$321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$231 - US$321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (68)
Dining (39)
Room & Suite (12)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lynne R
11 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from fatbirdnotts | Reviewed this property |
The town is adequate, and has everything you need, however, Thornhill is around 15 mins drive away, and Ayr is approx. 45 mins drive, on the way you pass through Cumnock and it has quite a few shops there, depending what... More
1
Vote
Lynne R
11 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from fatbirdnotts | Reviewed this property |
Hi, there is a smashing café at the top of the road, at the side of the garage/petrol station, fantastic choice and superb food, staff etc. The Nithsdale also have a restaurant up in the town and again very nice food. For... More
1
Vote
LondonerE6
15 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ian M | Property representative |
We have a couple fo steps up to the front door and no ground floor rooms unfortunately so I sadly have to say no, very sorry.
1
Vote
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"room with view over the river"
Read review
"We would recommend the " Pheasant " room we stayed in."
Read review
"Large room with 4 poster was lovely"
Read review
"Couldn't possibly"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing