We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Hotel

TravelocityUS$62*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$122*
US$62*
US$122*
US$62*
US$64*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

532 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 530: English reviews
Start your review of The George Hotel
 Click to rate
Blackpool
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My better half took me away for a few nights here for my Birthday, knowing how much I love the Yorkshire countryside. It was definitely days well spent. Hotel staff friendly, rooms clean and tidy and the food was rather nice. Spent one afternoon at the river bank of the hotel sipping Prosecco (more like slugging) in the sunshine. Beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprilsherry23
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If you're a coeliac don't bother going here. Rang asking if they could cater for gluten free for an afternoon tea and was asked what would need to be gluten free, was it just the bread :S I pointed out that the whole afternoon tea would need to be free of gluten. He went away to ask the chef who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank June P
Reviewed 1 week ago

One night Travelzoo deal - which was just about worth it! Lovely location, shame about the shabby, dated appearance, and the rather bumbling service. Dinner was OK but very slow, although the view out of the window was fabulous. Chef had a bit of an off night judging from other comments in the dining room! Room was spacious, but very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David Martin C
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a great night at The George. The staff looked after us all very well and we all enjoyed our meals. Great base for a team of motorcyclists as they lock the car park gates at closing time, but there is still a night porter on duty. So a great night's sleep with every confidence that your bike is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weekenders-14
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a 2 night stay at the George. The rooms were clean and spacious with a loverly view of the river and sleep quality was very good. The food menu had a good choice as did the breakfast menu. Staff were brilliant and very approachable, service great! Thanks for making our mini break very enjoyable!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aud1809
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic review it was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your break with us we hope that you are able to join us at the hotel again in the near future! Kindest Regards Jeff & The Team

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at The George Hotel over the bank holiday to celebrate my 50th birthday. The hotel lived up to our expectations - bedrooms clean and spacious, meals excellent and stunning views. Staff were polite and helpful at all times. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we are looking to return in the summer and fancy attending the advertised events.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linzy F
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic 5* review Linzy it was a pleasure for us to have you here during your 50th Birthday celebrations I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again very soon! Kindest Regards Jeff & The Team

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here as I was at a wedding on the Saturday, room was out in the courtyard, nice and quiet. Bed comfy, nice facilities. Breakfast the next morning had a lot of problems. Over 45 minute wait for a Full English which wasn't the warmest. A few other people in our party said they'd had a long wait for theirs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsR309
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel it is great to hear that you enjoyed your room at the hotel. I am sorry that our breakfast service was poor during your stay I will pass this onto our management team to ensure that this is more organised in the future. I hope this hasn't affected your enjoyment...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel for the murder mystery night. Great night, excellent entertainment. Brilliant food. Special mention to Nathan the waiter and his team, fantastic staff. breakfast the next morning was pleasant, made even better by the wonderful waitress shannen, bright and bubbly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank l_paul2311
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review it was great to hear that you enjoyed our murder mystery I will pass your comments onto Nathan and the team Kindest Regards Jeff & The Team

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in to have some lunch on sunday and noticed that the guy with the beard and glasses was working so we chose to go some where else. We were not happy with the service he provided when we had supper there during a previous visit. When I go out for a meal I don't expect to be called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teessider744
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel I am sorry that one of our team has let you down with regards to service we always aim to provide fantastic service and will speak our managers regarding this. I hope that you will join us again in the future Many Thanks Jeff & The Team

Merseyside
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the George overnight and have to say it's a lovely place to stay. The bedrooms are very comfortable , the Restraunt and food are great the staff are friendly and helpful. Fantastic views from restaurant. We would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlieandme
Nathan L, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and most importantly that we can expect you back in the future :) Many Thanks Jeff & The Team

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
3.9 km away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
9.6 km away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
34.2 km away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
8.2 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,067 reviews
32.0 km away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Piercebridge
Price Range: RM316 - RM710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front hotel rooms are a tad noisy due to main road so close”
aprilsherry23, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“View over the river and bridge”
davidmartinc2016, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“We had a room downstairs with excellent shower - badger room.”
571linzyf, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“family room with 2 double beds was great for us”
berbriboo, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“plenty to choose from up or down, river views”
gffryhdgk, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$62* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$62
PricelineUS$64
AMOMAUS$122
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates