We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 504: English reviews
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Despite getting married 28 years ago, for a special treat, I booked the Honeymoon Suite, whilst attending a function at the hotel. We found the room pleasant, lots of room, especially large en-suite. Breakfast was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4444DavidY
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this fantastic review of our hotel! I am very glad that you chose The George to celebrate such a special occasion and i hope that you don't hesitate to visit us in the future

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Used to be one of my favourite establishments but over the last few years has gone sadly down hill .... reasonable for a beer but cant overlook the river any longer -- was one of the high points ! If things were improved happy to visit on a regular basis ...........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sticks61
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you feel the hotel isn't what it was, I myself and our new management company Bespoke Hotels have only been with The George since November and i can assure you that we want the hotel to move onward and upwards with regards to its standards. I hope you will visit the hotel in the...

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2015

This is a countryside hotel. The room I had was spacious enough and reasonably laid out. The bed could do with replacement as its worn out, the wallpaper of the ceiling is coming of and the room only has an en-suite shower. Breakfast was reasonable, though the black pudding was only cooked on one side so not eatable. The rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

I would first of all like to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I have taken your comments on-board and i am happy to say that the room that you stayed in we have replaced the mattress and are we are asking our housekeeping team to keep an eye out for any others that may need...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

My husband and I have a soft spot for this place having had our wedding there and frequently return for a meal - most often for a Sunday carvery. Today we arrived with parents and a friend to discover there is now no carvery. The meal provided, served to your table can only be described as 'OK'. The Yorkshire pudding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KirstyBewick
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

How disappointed I am to read your review. I will certainly discuss your comments with our Head Chef and the food & beverage team members as what you describe is certainly not an acceptable experience. Since you have brought this to my attention I will look at putting more training in place for the team. We do hope you visit...

Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

This was a surprise birthday present, we weren't sure what to expect, but it was fantastic from start to finish. Greeted by very welcoming and professional staff. We went to our room to unpack, we were very surprised at the size of the room, it was very roomy. It had a smart modern bathroom and large TV on the wall....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danandrs
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, we are over the moon to hear that you enjoyed your birthday treat with us, we are glad we could be a part of it. From myself and the team we do hope to see you again in the near future, you don't need to wait until your next birthday.

Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Food over priced for quality as is wine and beer, wifi is terrible but is a necessity due to no phone signal, standing outside in winter to make phonecalls is 21st century is sheer bliss, the staff is a plus point, the maids are excellent and friendly, if I was contemplating having a wedding here I would rather hire a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christian w
Jeff H, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We would like to let you know that the hotel has been taken over by a new company and we currently have our IT department looking at how we can improve the WiFi throughout the hotel and the annex blocks. Our pricing is regularly looked at and kept in line...

Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at the George Hotel and from the first meeting with the staff we had known we had made the perfect choice. They were so kind, understanding and helpful and nothing was too much to ask. The value for money is excellent and so are the surrounding views. They were perfect for wedding pictures. The wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jayney55
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

It was an absolute pleasure being part of your special day, so thank you for choosing our venue to hold you wedding reception. The whole team has been highly praised for their efforts throughout the ‘wedding season’, each and every one of them are always willing to go the extra mile to ensure your wedding day is the best day...

Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

I booked the George Piercebridge for an overnight stay as a birthday present for my girlfriend and what a wonderful present it turned out to be .amazing hospitality on our arrival and on entering our room I can only say our mouths fell open.beautiful doesn't describe it.from the amazing bed to the leather settee and the TV that almost took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven s
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

I don’t think a review could get any better than this one! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit, it sounds like your girlfriend, and yourself, really enjoyed her birthday. The room you stayed in is definitely a favourite amongst our guests and is ideal when you are wanting to spoil a loved one....

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015

good food, helpful staff, lovely location. I have been coming here for years staying 4 times a month . Bar is used by locals and they make you feel welcomed, just a great place to stay for pleasure or business.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kennyw919
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Your kind words are very much appreciated by everyone here at The George. It’s a good sign when regular guests leave us such great feedback, so thank you for taking the time out to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Valletta, Malta
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

The staff are helpfull pleasent and the food is good . The the rooms are ok but could do with a revamp. The main problem was the bed,it was knackered to the point of shocking. If theres one thing that must be good in any hotel its the bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and food that we serve. We have a great team and very hard working team, its lovely to read the nice comments about them. Your comments regarding the bed have been passed onto our housekeeping team who have looked into this and rectified the issue. Hopefully next time you stay you...

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piercebridge
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
34.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
445 reviews
9.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
268 reviews
32.0 km away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
4.5 km away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Piercebridge DL2 3SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Piercebridge
Price Range: RM309 - RM696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Piercebridge
George Hotel Darlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“plenty to choose from up or down, river views”
 of 5 bubbles gffryhdgk, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“save your money - dont go”
 of 5 bubbles jocka11, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for the recently refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles susansS6903MY, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 226 has a nice view of the river.”
 of 5 bubbles Abigail1410, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Luxury hotel at a budget price.”
 of 5 bubbles Houghtn_House, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5