We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 140: English reviews
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I have stayed here several times, although I prefer to stay at Mt Barker because this park is not pet friendly and We like to travel with our pet dog. I have stayed in a tent and cabins here, the park is well appointed for all types of accommodation and is close to the beach and tourist railway. The park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront, responded to this review

It's great that you have come back to stay with us - and enjoy the sunsets! Thank you for your review, Peter - we hope to see you again in the future.

Renmark, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Have been staying here for approximately 7 years. Amenities are A1 ! Staff are friendly despite an on going turn over. every few years. The location is quiet and more importantly safe- Close to West Lakes Shopping Centre which is perfect for me, opposite end there is the enticement of the great foodie eateries down the road at Semaphore! Couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darissa108
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you keep coming back to us, Darissa! Thanks for returning and sharing your positive feedback.

Melbourne
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Check in was good until I realised the 4 berth superior studio was actually 1 room with a queen bed and two pull out chair beds and not two single beds as stated, they upgraded us to a Blue Water cabin but while this had separate bedrooms and proper single beds this is very dated and drab compared to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMMN
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed in the bedding configurations in our super studio, but happy that you would stay with us again!

Salt Creek
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Hadn't been to Adelaide in 6 months or so. We were surprised to see new management at the park. The regular reservation staff is still there, and it's always a great feeling to be remembered by first name as we walk in the door. The park, itself, has had a bit of a face-lift with the lawn at the sites...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront, responded to this review

We're so happy you love staying at our park, Margaret! Thank you for choosing to stay with us again - and thanks for sharing your review.

Melbourne Australia
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Arrived at park to be told we didn't have a booking,sorted that,turned out staff member had forgotten to put our booking into the computer! Have a 19.6 van which was not easy to get on site as there seemed to be 2 or 3 cars to adjoining sites,even though park rules state only one car per site. We were 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hughdeany
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the space and pets roaming on the sites, but happy that you enjoyed the amenities. We rely on feedback like yours to continue to make improvements to our park. Thanks for sharing your review!

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Stayed at this park in March 2016. Had a 'wicked' van park up in the neighbouring lot. Driver got out holding his bottle of alcohol, drank all night with his "mate" and sister, sisters daughter and dog. Ended up in a full on fight between the 2 mates over a couple of hour or more, eventually one knocking the other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sallyott
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear of your recent experience at our park. Please contact us on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au so we can discuss this further with you.

Highfields, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Budget cabin was very seviceable for two night stay. Park was walking distance from the beach and short drive to lovely seafront community of Semaphore with mini steam train, water slide, mini golf and jetty for fishing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront, responded to this review

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our convenient location right near the beach! Thanks for sharing your review, Trevor.

Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

We have been visiting this park for 30+++++ years and love it. We have watched the park change over the years and seen many staff turn overs. I think we have stayed in almost every cabin and on almost every site. Our children loved coming here and now we are introducing the next gereration to this amazing park. The most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront, responded to this review

Wow! What a wonderful review, Jenny. We hope you and your family return for many more years. Thanks for sharing!

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2016

It was ok. Ensuites for the powered sites were small and old. Whilst they were clean they did smell musty. Sites were a bit on the small side. Short walk to the beach but you can't see it from the park. Close to Surf life Saving club which is good for a quality and economical meal. Shop at the park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, Ian!

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2016

To be fair we left our booking late (one month out) and we arrived the week before Easter so there was only one cabin left at booking. It was classed as a budget/basic cabin (very budget) but still not cheap & was supposed to sleep "5" in a total area the size of a regular dining room, which included a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_Yukon
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review! We rely on feedback like yours to continue to make improvements to our park.

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semaphore
3.0 km away
Largs Pier Hotel - Motel
Largs Pier Hotel - Motel
#1 of 1 in Largs Bay
143 reviews
3.2 km away
Lakes Resort Hotel
Lakes Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Lakes
216 reviews
15.1 km away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
14.6 km away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
13.6 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 59 in Adelaide
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You've barely left the city but it feels like another world when you arrive at Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront, a historic seaside resort. Your family will be sampling local fish and chips, building sand castles, casting a line off the jetty or exploring the beautifully preserved seafront in no time.Situated between bustling Port Adelaide and Semaphore, the area boasts a melting pot of cosmopolitan meets old-world, with maritime, railway and aviation museums, as well as contemporary cafes and funky boutiques. AAMI Stadium less than 10 minutes away.The caravan park is a beautiful destination with direct waterfront access. If you're looking for all the comforts of home, we have a range of self-contained three and four star cabins and villas (sleeping six), complete with reverse cycle air conditioning, colour TV and full kitchen amenities. Looking for a romantic getaway? Look no further with our three star spa cabins equipped with luxurious spa bath and separate queen bed accommodation. Powered and unpowered camp and caravan sites are also on offer.Once you're settled in, it's time to explore the best of SA. Pay a visit to Giant Pandas at Adelaide Zoo, venture further afield for whale watching at Victor Harbor or head to the hills to historic Hahndorf. Whatever your day trip, Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront is the perfect base to explore. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront

Address: Adelaide Tourist Park 349 Military Rd, Semaphore, South Australia 5019, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Semaphore
Price Range: RM240 - RM636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Adelaide Beachfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a newer cabin.”
 of 5 bubbles TraleeTraveller001, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dolphin House offers quiet location, great sunsets and a spacious place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 2B2G, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront access, quiet, great amenities”
 of 5 bubbles marktM1355GY, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book a superior studio for the newest and more modern units”
 of 5 bubbles KMMN, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We do try to take a site away from the major road, but other than that, any site is great.”
 of 5 bubbles 897MargaretM897, 26 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay