We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Purple

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Purple
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Purple
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

We just got back from lunch here.. Unfortunately was the only place open and near us. Has the potential to be lovely in a nice tree lined garden. However the pile of dog poo in the corner of the eating areas, dogs in and out the kitchen, lack of food available from the menu, a pink uncooked hamburger still cold,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Princessslugslime221
New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 September 2015

I recently stayed here for a week for my big summer vacation. I had an amazing experience. The property is in a great location, very close to Sorrento with a great view of the coast and Mediterranean Sea. The view of the Mediterranean Sea which is just steps away from the property, was breathtaking. The fresh breeze and peace it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Terrible experience, they over booked my room, they then tried to send me to a nunnary miles outside sorrento in a dirty town (assuring me that breakfast included), the owner is so rude, after refusing this 'alternative accommodation' they put me in an almost air b&b across the road, infested with ants. After giving me a bed here I came...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Laurann O
purplesorrento, Proprietario at Purple, responded to this review

Sorry for what she wrote because it is not the truth ! she booked a bed in a dormitory for 14 people without breakfast ! because of plumbing problems the room was closed and people moved into a new apartment ,20 meters away and occupied by four people instead of 14 !!!! if this is a bad arrangement might have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

This hostel (not a B&B) is in a fantastic location, but the accommodation itself is very average. The rooms are relatively clean and basic, but the shared bathroom is not clean and the breakfast is very poor. The only saving grace for this hostel is that you can walk out the front door and ten steps later there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jase-and-Stef
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

Private parking on arrival - very useful! The lady that checked us in seemed rather scatty and wasn't sure what she was doing - but was very friendly and helpful. Room was not as purple as expected, in fact, most of the colour scheme was pink and magenta. Room was adequate and clean, yet very old fashioned. Bathroom fan sounded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Porto Salvo is an old monastery/convent converted to an inn. It is about a 10 min walk from the Sant'Agnello train station. The inn has bikes that you can rent (at least it did when we visited), and you can walk down to the beach. The city is very pretty in the month of May and early June with blooming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zeus I
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2015

I stayed at the Porto Salvo with my son for a week in January. We wanted to be close to Naples as we were there to see Napoli v Juventus and I didn't want to stay in the city centre. The building is historic, a former convent which means it has real character. We were given a friendly welcome, offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bri c
Reviewed 16 January 2015

we had a very pleasant stay, all the staff were extremely friendly. We were lucky to be upgraded to a room with a private bathroom and although breakfast wasnt very adequate as almost everything was gone 30mins after it started. No complaints. Everything was clean, and all the staff were really good. The chef was really sweet and cooked us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2014

This is a former convent thus rooms & corridors reflect this & to me that was delightful. We were lucky & got a limited but wonderful sea view however under that very window was a badly damaged I guess electric fire which luckily we didn't require. Breakfast wasn't very good but adequate. The barman "Jon" who seemed to have 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bucketlistman2014
Surrey
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Because I read the reviews before going I knew what to ask for with regard to rooms and I insisted on a room with a sea view and got exactly that apart from a big tree obscuring the view which really needs cutting back. Because of that view it made up for any other shortcomings, of which there are a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travellerinsurrey

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.0 km away
Villa Garden Hotel
Villa Garden Hotel
#1 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
419 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,220 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,022 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
913 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#8 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME Purple is an Hotel situated in an old abbey of the Capuchin Monks dating back to the sixteenth century located in Sant'Agnello di Sorrento, overlooking the beautiful sea of the Bay of Naples. Purple is also a American Lounge Pub and our philosophy consists in the genuineness of traditional cuisine associated with the taste of local wine, beer or just a drink. 5 GOOD REASONS TO CHOOSE US: Best Price Guaranteed! A holiday in a welcoming and relaxing place at only 1 kilometre from Sorrento town centre! You can easily reach the nearby town of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples, Amalfi and Capri The parking and internet access are included in the price The nearest beach is at only few minutes walk.SERVICES Purple offers its guests numerous exclusive services to make their stay even more enjoyable: international buffet breakfast with a vast selection of sweets, jams, cheeses cold cuts and other snacks, outdoor parking, transfer to and from Naples airport, dinner service upon request, tour reservations for Herculaneum and Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast and wonderful spots on the Sorrento Peninsula, boat trips to Capri and Isola dei Galli. ROOMS The B&B Purple has very large bright rooms, furnished with taste and simplicity: dark wood furniture with clean lines, light upholstery, floors covered with antique terra cotta tiles. The rooms all have heating, air conditioning and television. Different types are available to meet all needs: singles, double, triples and quads, with internal or external private bath or shared bathroom. Most of the rooms have sea view, while some look onto the peaceful garden which surrounds the residence. SERVICES INCLUDED All rooms include: Free WiFi, Hair dryer and Breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Purple

Address: Via Nuovo Rione Cappuccini 11, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy (Formerly Porto Salvo)
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Price Range: RM177 - RM1,740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Purple 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Purple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Salvo Hotel Sant`Agnello
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Purple staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Purple staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A view of the sea will be very nice. You can see cruise ships go by in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles ZeusIyer, 26 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Room 4 for en-suite facilities and wonderful views of Naples”
  • full of character, corridor to rooms
  • view from room 4
  • room 4
 of 5 bubbles 619bric, 16 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Room No. 1”
 of 5 bubbles travellerinsurrey, 5 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Don't take the cheapest rooms. They are cheating on the people with the pictures.”
 of 5 bubbles 981fel, 26 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Ask for Room 6, not ensuite but bathroom is straight opposite the bed room door. This room has beautiful view over the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles 999MargaretD, 1 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5