We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Friendly Hostel

Orbitz.comUS$37*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$41*
US$37*
Great Deal
US$41*
US$40*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Friendly Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Start your review of Friendly Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Our stay here would best be described as indifferent. We arrived late, but the guy on reception advised us it was only a short walk or to take a cab - the walk was easy enough. All arrangements were left in the safe. The owner/ receptionist also arranged our Fraser Island day tour, which was very helpful. My only gripe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This Hostel is one of the best Hostels I stayed in. I booked a 3 bed room and I actually got put in a 2 bed room. I've never had that before in a hostel. I really enjoyed the stay there - it didn't feel like a hostel, it felt like Grammys house. Old furniture, but quite comfortable and because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathi P
Campobello di Mazara, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel was the first one of my solo trip and it was amazing! Super clean! Gary was friendly and helpful! The free shuttle from the greyhound bus stop was really useful! I really recommend it! The perfect stop before going to Fraser Island!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loredana S
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Don't stay at this place! The place is dirty. The fridge doesn't close. You need to pay to have air conditioning (if your lucky enough to actually have someone to pay to) but worse of all, they lie. They said there will be a free shuttle until 19:00. But when we got to the bus station at 18:40 and called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gadi_mag
TheFriendlyHostel, Manager at Friendly Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Gadi It saddens us to hear that your experience at the hostel did not meet your expectations. However, there are a few points of your review that we would like to address. Our shuttle service runs from 8am to 6:30pm. As the Greyhound bus you arrived on is always late, we informed you by email that if it arrives...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Stayed here for one night only, but had an enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, the kitchen and bathroom facilities were great also. The room had no air con which was poor as it got really warm at night and the pillow was very thin. The place overall looked a bit run down, but overall we enjoyed our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cocoon321
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Relaxed atmosphere, excellent kitchen shared with only a few people. Free bikes to borrow, and electric ones at a daiy rate of 20AUD. AC cost an extra 6USD a day. Free pickup and dropoff at bus station. This was one of my best stays in Australia and the beach is just down the road a few hundred meters. Highly recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smithzonian
Belfast
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night before my Fraser Island trip and then I came back for 2 nights after! I have just read the other reviews on here about the manager Gary being unhelpful, I don't see how anyone could write that as he was more than helpful with anything I needed. He emailed me as soon as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Expert123
New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hostel for one night. We enjoyed taking the bikes out of the esplanade for the day and cooking in the clean kitchen. The rooms and shared bathroom are very clean and cozy. Gary was very nice and friendly, as well as his staff. We had an unfortunate incident during our stay, and he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mptl0504
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

A great little hostel, a proper bed as I was in a twin room. A similar feel to a house with a living room, kitchen area and good wifi which is free. The staff are very helpful and understanding. A great location to be collected for all the trips leaving from Hervey Bay. Well worth a stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Really impressed with this hostel. We loved the lay out, each unit has its own kitchen which means the kitchen isn't crowded. The whole place was spotlessly clean. They were really helpful with allowing us to leave stuff behind when going to Fraser and we arrived back late but there were no problems. Overall great place to stay before and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeganWilliams101x

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarness
5.3 km away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,676 reviews
0.4 km away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#2 of 53 in Hervey Bay
454 reviews
0.1 km away
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Coconut Palms on the Bay
4.7 km away
Colonial Village Resort
Colonial Village Resort
#32 of 53 in Hervey Bay
201 reviews
4.4 km away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small, friendly, spotlessly clean, family-run, quality, budget accommodation with ocean views and cool comfortable king-size rooms all year round. At "The Friendly" you can relax and enjoy the delights of beautiful Hervey Bay and Fraser Island. Experience personal service and develop friendships with fellow guests in a quiet, intimate setting. No rowdy bars, no cramped dorms, no walking to an outside amenities block, just relax, meet new friends and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Friendly Hostel

Address: 182 Torquay Rd, Scarness, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Scarness
Price Range: RM77 - RM214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Friendly Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Friendly Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Friendly Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Friendly Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back of the hostel are quieter as there is a bus pick up out the front every morning around 7am.”
jessicahD6591LO, 12 Apr 2015 | Read review
“This is a hostel”
juliea893, 11 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Take the bikes out!”
Codie90, 31 Oct 2014 | Read review
“No pool but could not remove this from the rating once I clicked on it :)”
Cc_Ireland2013, 2 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Some rooms are dorms but they do have rooms for couples”
weentty, 3 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$37* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$41
Hostelworld.comUS$40
Hotwire.comUS$37
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates