We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Heerstr. 69, 56329 Sankt Goar, Rhineland-Palatinate Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
US$68
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$68
View deal
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Expedia.comUS$77
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (110)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (2)

About

#4 of 14 hotels in Sankt Goar
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Hotel Rheinfels their hotel of choice when visiting Sankt Goar. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV and a desk, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to baggage storage while staying at Hotel Rheinfels. In addition, Hotel Rheinfels offers free breakfast, which will help make your Sankt Goar trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is paid public parking available nearby.

If you like Italian restaurants, Hotel Rheinfels is conveniently located near Alla Fontana and Restaurant Corazon.

During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Rheinfels Castle (0.5 mi), Stiftskirche (0.0 mi), and Kath. Kirche St. Goar (0.2 mi), which are all within walking distance of the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Hotel Rheinfels as you experience all of the things Sankt Goar has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast buffet
Fishing
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Private balcony
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Languages Spoken
English, German, Hindi
230Reviews2Q+A65Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 85
  • 28
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Prasanna Vee wrote a review Aug 2022
Copenhagen Region, Denmark5037 contributions509 helpful votes
+1
This place might not have the Luxury and charm of a posh hotel, but it comes loaded with character and million-dollar views of the legendary Rhine that make a stay here an uber-romantic one! LOCATION: Located right next to the riverfront and steps away from the train station DINE + DRINK: Decent breakfast at the restaurant, but no dinner offered as far as I know ROOM: We stayed in Room 22, Which was a Suite with a Balcony, so this review is based on that; VIEW: Spectacular views of the calmly flowing Rhine river; SIZE: Very spacious room; AIR-CON: No Air in the room, but the weather was quite cool during the night; BED: Comfortable bed that played the expected part to put me to sleep; BATHROOM: Stand-in shower; TOILETRIES: Nothing much, do bring your own! FACILITIES: No gym or pool, pure Riverside chill! SERVICE: Friendly staff that took care of all our needs with a smile and made us feel pampered and well taken care of. Special Shout out to the Owner of the property who took good care of us. HOW WIRED YOU WILL BE: Medium high-speed Wi-Fi that works well all over the property.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jesshutchy wrote a review Aug 2019
Lake City, Arkansas95 contributions55 helpful votes
Their credit card machine will ask if you want US dollars or Euros. The owner will tell you it’s a better exchange rate. Be aware, it’s terrible. Hit Euros. Your credit card company will give you a way better exchange rate. Also if you want to leave your windows open at night (no a/c) do not book close to a room with smokers. Your windows open will work as a vacuuming suck the smoke into your room. The room was very clean. Great location. The owner from Germany was very nice. The other owner-not so much.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sikander Singh S, Inhaber at Hotel Rheinfels
Responded 12 Aug 2019
1.The hotel manager always asks if you want to pay with dollars or with Euro. 2. We have 30% guests from America, none has complained until today. 3. We have a hotel but not a money Exchange.We have no any profit with that. 4. No matter which currency guest pays we only get Euro. I do not know how to maintain this nonsense. 5.The choice of the payment currency, You have arranged yourselves 6.You stayed with us for 3 days, why did you not tell us about smoke? The Hotel is none smoking. If you are so sensitive about smoke then you could have made shut the window.You are much exaggerated
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue S wrote a review Jul 2019
Birmingham, United Kingdom14 contributions16 helpful votes
Location, location, location! This hotel is high up overlooking the beautiful Rhein river. Our room had a stunning view, but this was nothing compared with the breathtaking views from the dining room the next morning at breakfast! The quality of the food - both at breakfast and in the evening - was excellent, and the staff are friendly and keen to ensure you enjoy your stay. The added advantage of this hotel is that you can visit the ruined castle nextdoor - indeed just across the hotel car park! This is well worth a visit. For anyone travelling along the Rhein, this is a hotel not to be missed!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
derbarkasmann wrote a review Apr 2019
5 contributions
I very much enjoyed my stay there, wish it could have been longer. The breakfast was quite good. Next time (and there will be a next time) I'll pay the few dollars extra for the river view. This was an excellent value.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CCR227 wrote a review Oct 2018
Tampa, FL261 contributions167 helpful votes
We stayed here while on a cycling tour. Perhaps if we had rooms looking out on the river, we would have been more pleased. I had a single room, and it was tiny and seemed very dark-the bathroom as well. The furnishings seemed old and dated. The hallways were very dark but had automatic lights that came on. My sister and niece's room was larger but dated looking, too. The breakfast was our least favorite. The man at the desk did not offer to help us with our bags. I'm a healthy but 60 year old female, and my room was up 3 flights of stairs. On a more positive note, the view from the breakfast room the next morning was amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Haddaway wrote a review Sep 2018
Chester,England3455 contributions50 helpful votes
I can only agree with the good reviews given here to date. The only downside that I can see is that there is no lift n the hotel,so if you are not comfortable with a flight or two of stairs, perhaps look elsewhere. Having said that, all of the Hotel people we came into contact with, were so pleasant and helpful that I feel sure they would take your bags up to your room,I asked. We would stay here again, no worries.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rhine view rooms have a view of the Rhine, simple as you that The room was very quiet inside and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rev1up wrote a review Aug 2018
Woodland, California10 contributions3 helpful votes
We had 3 lovely nights including breakfasts at the Hotel Rheinfels on the Rhine River in Sankt Goar, Germany! It was so reasonable and all with a view of the river right from our hotel room! And we were directly across from the river cruises so we took an afternoon cruise up the Rhine. Seeing all those castles were incredible! We had a wonderful stay! Thank you so much! (Great breakfast too, by the way!!)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The gent at the desk informed us that in restaurants there all tips are included! Good info!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Senja Dour wrote a review Aug 2018
Rochester, Washington8 contributions
My sister and I stayed here one night on our way to Cochem and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel room was spotless, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast, at 5 euro, was well worth it. We had a room on the first floor with a wonderful view of the river. Highly recommend this hotel for the price! Thank you for a very pleasant stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Eivind L wrote a review Jul 2018
1 contribution
This is not a fancy hotel, but it is kept very clean and the owner and his team are very helpful indeed... not to mention that they do also sing! And serve the most remarkable Indian scrambled eggs.Just ask them.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a view over the river.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AceBar wrote a review Jul 2018
Port Elizabeth, South Africa105 contributions49 helpful votes
Our family of three stayed here for 4 nights recently; we highly recommend it for anyone wishing for some 'slow life' amidst beautiful natural surroundings. Pros: 1. Perfect location next to the Rhine; also good for links upstream, downstream or ferries to St Goarshausen. 2. Good value - room rates are very reasonable. 3. Breakfasts are varied and large; we did not particularly like the spiced scrambled egg, but there was enough other options that we did like. 4. The owners (specifically Mr Sikander-Singh Sangha) is very helpful and accommodating; we arrived just after 09h00 after an overnight flight, hoping to leave our luggage at reception until the normal check in time - however our room was ready and we were allowed to check in immediately. 5. Good and reliable free wi-fi. Cons: None really!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rheinfels hotel sankt goar
LOCATION
GermanyRhineland-PalatinateSankt Goar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Rheinfels
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Rheinfels?
Nearby attractions include Stefans Wine Paradise (0.08 km), Loreley (0.4 km), and RheinBurgenWeg (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Rheinfels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Rheinfels?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Rheinfels?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Rheinfels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Café und Bäcker St. Goar, Alla Fontana, and Gasthaus „Zur Krone“.
Is Hotel Rheinfels located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.01 km away from the centre of Sankt Goar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Rheinfels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Rheinfels?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Burg Katz (0.6 km), Burg Gutenfels (7.8 km), and Mainzer Torturm (8.0 km).
Does Hotel Rheinfels have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.