Hotel de la Foret

Hotel de la Foret

Route De La Combaz 19, Crans-Montana 3963 Switzerland
Traveller (80)
vue depuis la chambre côté montagne avec un hôtel à moitié vide.
Room & Suite (26)
Restauranten
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#20 of 30 hotels in Crans-Montana
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel de la Forêt is located in the heart of Wallis, in the internationally renowned village of Crans-Montana. The station (1500m-3000m altitude), with a casino, offers numerous sporting, recreational and cultural activities both winter and summer.Our Hotel-Restaurant, with its 59 new and comfortable bedrooms with Wifi connection, its piano bar, its sunny terrace et its brand new wellness area, will delight you with its proximity to the skislopes, hiking trails and its view on the Rhone valley and the Alps.A warm and impeccable service will make your trip to Switzerland unforgettable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Casino and Gambling
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Mini golf
Ski school
Skiing
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Massage
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Route De La Combaz 19, Crans-Montana 3963 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 41 out of 100
41
Sion Airport
14.6 km
See all flights
Belp Airport
66.7 km
See all flights
143Reviews4Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 43
  • 18
  • 11
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
robert_bos53 wrote a review Apr 2020
Geneva, Switzerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel de la Foret is located at the far end of the Montana part of Crans Montana, on the main road with an exceptional view over the Rhone Valley and Alpine ranges. It has parking space up to a limit (hard to have a space when the hotel is fully booked). It is a ten minute walk to the skilifts and cable cars taking you to the 3000m Plaine Morte. The centre of Montana is 15 minutes away, and a walk to the funiculaire to Sierre takes 7 minutes (the funiculaire to Sierre takes 12 minutes, it is an amazing ride!). Rooms at de la Foret are on the tiny side and bathrooms give away its 1970s origin.
Service is very helpful and friendly and there is a generous breakfast buffet. In terms of price: excellent value for money!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Iain M wrote a review Feb 2022
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Hotel de la Foret in February 2022. There were four of us (2 adults and 2 children) in a family room at the back of the hotel (so no balcony). There was plenty of space for four, with 4 single beds (two pushed together). Wi-Fi (vital for teens) was good. Always lots of hot-water. Found the hotel quiet at night.

Breakfast was excellent every morning, with cereals, bread/toast, teas/coffees/hot choc, pastries, fruit, ham/cheese, yoghurt. Plenty to stoke yourself up with for the day.

The hotel is well located, about a 3 minute walk to the Etoile bus stop, from where you can catch the free buses in either direction. We went to Barzettes and started our day on the Violettes lift most mornings. The buses always arrive exactly on time!

In the evenings we normally took the bus into town to a restaurant then walked back (about 15 mins downhill).

The staff were friendly, but the only negative was our experience of eating in the restaurant. We ate there twice. The first night it took 40 minutes from ordering to receiving our food. Just about acceptable. The second time it took over an hour, maybe 1h10m. Communication was terrible and there was no apology or offer of compensation. Ultimately after I pointed out that this was appalling service, they took some money off the bill.

I am aware they were short-staffed due to Covid, but we were the first in the restaurant and others arrived, ordered and left before we even received our food.

That aside, we enjoyed our stay and I would recommend the Hotel de la Foret for families or as a budget location in Crans Montana.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you can get a room with a balcony, that would be a bonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul B wrote a review Jul 2023
Binzen, Germany
4.0 of 5 bubbles
View from the room was exceptional. The facilities at the hotel were ok but have seen better. No coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms, bottled water in room were chargeable at 3 CHF per bottle and restaurant closed at 1900!! Hair dryer should have been included in the room according to the specification but had to be requested at reception. The hotel location was high up in the mountains. Great if you are capable (driving and walking) but could be too much for some people if not so mobile. Town centre was ca. 1.5 km from the hotel with several restaurants offering a good range of food types.
The limited on site facilities could have been better.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne D wrote a review Sept 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The only two good things about the hotel is the staff and the view. We booked a deluxe room with a view of the mountains and when we got there two big threes where blocking half the view (technically providing the Mountain View but not at all as showed in the pictures. Furthermore this was supposed to be the best room the hotel had to offer but was full of stains on the carpet floor and there was a whole in the bedsheets. The hotel itself is very old looking and very used, and the facilities such as the hairdryer (which is a million years old) and the tv (which isn’t nearly as big as said in the add, actually it’s more the seize of a computer screen) did not in any way live up to the expectation we had when booking a “deluxe” room.

The road is just down by the rooms and the car noise is super disturbing, when sitting on the balcony and trying to enjoy a peaceful moment.
You can even hear it when closing the balcony door. But the worst disturbance is the ability to hear EVERYTHING private that goes on in the nearby bathrooms. Every pee, ever splash, every handwash and flush of toilets. Super uncomfortable.
Another minus is the cleaning lady who starts hovering the halls around 7.15 in the mornings. So no chance of late sleep-ins there.

On the webpage it said that the restaurant was closed which was true, but the bar also seemed very closed.

Another big letdown was the “spa and wellness available” which is just a small fitness room and a sauna.
So don’t book if you’re there to have a relaxing getaway in the mountains.

The breakfast is okay-ish. Better than expected.

We ended up leaving a day earlier because it just wasn’t what was promised in our opinion.

So the only two good things was the very very lovely staff who did everything they could to help, letting us change rooms to a full Mountain View but then having a smaller room, and that the receptionist let us have the last night as a voucher, if we wanted to give them another chance if we ever came to the area again and so the money wouldn’t be a total waste.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t go in offseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano G wrote a review Jan 2021
Lugano, Switzerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I really appreciated the staff and the structure. The hotel is very near of the center Crans Montana. You can reach the center by 2 shuttle stop or by car. I had a small problem in the beginning of the reservation but the hotel manager solved straight and fast. The food is very good. The wine list is not very large but acceptable. The cleaning is perfect. The breakfast international very good. To comeback soon. Thanks everyone for two days unforgettable. Appreciated all of you. Best.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David S wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dated, remote, no view. If you are assigned a room at the rear of the hotel do not expect a view and if i had spent time in prison i would imagine room 318 is what it would be like. There is no restaurant in the evening and no atmosphere. The decor is pre 70s at best and the lift is a health hazard so take the stairs if your stupid enough to stay here. Thankfully, I wont he here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: find another hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GV32 wrote a review Aug 2011
Brussels, Belgium
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is not rated propperly. Old fashioned with rooms just over one of the main roads accessing to Crans-Montana. No price for value. Kind of hotel that shouldn't be in Crans-Montana
Read more
Date of stay: September 2010
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Best rooms? Difficult to say as our was, according to the reception, one of the best BUT was...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carlos M wrote a review Sept 2017
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I came to this hotel for 5 nights to participate on the Omega European Masters. Room was nice, however breakfast the worst I ever had. Breakfast hours were between 7 and 10 am, however if you get at the restaurant after 9 most of the things were already gone and they weren't replaced. First day there was no cider, no milk and no ham. Asked the waiter and he was kind enough to bring that. Scrambled eggs were terrible. Second day asked for fried eggs, which he did bring 2 fried eggs. The following morning I asked for fried eggs again, as the scramble eggs were not eatable. They were absolutely just liquid. His answer was that I couldn't have fried eggs as the cook has already left for the day. This was around 9:15. The following morning I went to the restaurant at 9 o'clock and I was lucky enough because the chef was still there and I could have the fried eggs. On my fourth morning went for breakfast at09:15; there wasn't no sausages, beans, cold cuts and no coffee. Once again asked for eggs as the scramble ones were not eatable at all as you Will be able to see the photos. The waiter apologies and said that the chef was already gone. I asked him if breakfast wasn't from 7 to 10? He said yes but he was gone. Asked to speak with the Manager which happen to see also the owner. I asked her to come with me to the breakfast buffet and to let me know if it was ok as most of the items were missing. Also showed her the scrambled eggs and asked her if she thought they were eatable? She said I think so. I said well to me that is not acceptable. Sh was very rude, arrogant and despite apologizing she told me that I have chosen the wrong hotel.
When you receive an answer like this from a Hotel Manager and also owner, what else can you say? Not too much. Also wifi very, very poor.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hoteldelaforet, Gérant at Hotel de la Foret
Responded 15 Sept 2017
Good Afternoon, It was with great attention that we read your comment. The opinion of all our guests is very important for us because it allows us to constantly improve the quality of our services. However, we would like to point out that in this case, the reality is quite different and you know it! We kindly warned you that we do not offer a la carte service. The first two days our chef was there and to please you we prepared eggs. The week we stayed, the hotel was full and we had over 100 guests. Do you really think that we let the buffet not reasortit? When you came on the last day at 9:45am (the end of the breakfast being at 10:00am) it might be missing some of ham for two minutes, and you found it "unacceptable". On the other hand when you allowed yourself to criticize my collaborators, you have exceeded the limits! So stop lying on the forums and review your behavior! We remain at your disposal. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LucienHoudremont wrote a review Jun 2013
Htl Saint-Nicolas L - 5533 Remich
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a horrible journey from Luxembourg to Crans Montana ! Almost 7 hours nothing but rain.
So when we entered La Foret we felt fine immediately. ome things migth be dated but the most important, the hospitality is present and so we spent a good night to cope with the next day's rain, again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antonis D wrote a review Jan 2018
Vienna, Austria
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just came back from Crans Montana and this lovely Hotel! I spent 5 nights with good friends of mine. Snowboard vacations! The hotel is beautiful, looks luxurious, and it reminded me of those fancy hotels I used to watch in ski movies from the 90's. It's very well preserved, mostly wooden decorated with golden mirrors on the ceiling of the lounge. I totally enjoyed my time there. Very clean and quiet,near the lifts for the resort like 5 min drive. Breakfast was fine, I would prefer though a bigger buffet . The personnel was very professional and kind. The room was very tidy and clean, However I would prefer if we had a view on the balcony, rather than nothing, especially with the hotel half full for that period. The bar was good with plenty of options, and the environment very cosy. I just couldn't get myself out of the lounge! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone willing to have a great time during his staying at Crans Montana.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Foodie Esports asked a question Sept 2017
California1 contribution8 helpful votes
How to go to your hotel from Geneva airport?
Answer from Carlos M
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Take the train at Geneve Airport direct to Sierre. Exit at Sierre and take the Funiculair to Crans Montana. Then from the Montana Gare to the Hotel is about 300 m, however there are taxis there t take you to the hotel and costs around 15CHF.
Foodie Esports asked a question Sept 2017
California1 contribution8 helpful votes
How to go to your hotel from Geneva airport?
Answer from hoteldelaforet
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
Good Afternoon. Our hotel is located at 2km from Les Roches School. You can either take a bus or the funicular to go there. Also you are at 20min by walk from it. We remain available for any further information. Best regards, Julien Mirguet
Answer from hoteldelaforet
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
Good Afternoon, The closest train station is the train station of Crans-Montana (funiculaire) which is at 750 meter from the hotel (bus station near the hotel). Best Regards, Hôtel de la Forêt
Anne D wrote a tip Sept 2022
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go in offseason"
Read full review
Iain M wrote a tip Feb 2022
Brighton, England, United Kingdom15 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you can get a room with a balcony, that would be a bonus"
Read full review
David S wrote a tip Aug 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"find another hotel."
Read full review
Karin E wrote a tip Mar 2018
Lausanne, Switzerland112 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"My room had a lovely balcony with a view over the valley and the Alps."
Read full review
Latikaam wrote a tip Dec 2015
Mumbai, India22 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 220 had bad view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Crans-Montana area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 683 - RM 782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de la foret hotel
LOCATION
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of ValaisCrans-Montana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DE LA FORET: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 106 Photos (Crans-Montana, Switzerland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel de la Foret
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel de la Foret?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel de la Foret?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel de la Foret?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel de la Foret?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hotel de la Foret?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel de la Foret?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
Does Hotel de la Foret have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Crans-Montana HotelsCrans-Montana Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Crans-MontanaHotels near Hotel de la Foret
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire