Hotel De l'Etrier

Hotel De l'Etrier

rue du Pas-de-l'Ours 31, Crans-Montana 3963 Switzerland
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#18 of 30 hotels in Crans-Montana
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel de l'Etrier is more than a hotel ... A place filled with charme and tradition One of the oldest hotel in the resort, built in 1963, the Etrier has been beautifully renovated keeping its unique open spaces offering its guests an amazing view on the Valaisanne Alps. You will be welcomed in a space where everything tells a story, each stone, wooden board and object. It is in this exceptional place that the art of Welcoming has been put together to seduce you. Children are kings in dedicated spaces within the hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

rue du Pas-de-l'Ours 31, Crans-Montana 3963 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
197Reviews4Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 63
  • 38
  • 21
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AntonNik63 wrote a review Mar 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this hotel and Crans Montana in October last year. The whole experience was disappointing regarding this hotel. Breakfast, rooms and spa - below average. The hotel restaurant is simply nothing good and atrociously expensive. The hotel needs renovation and a lot of attention. It has potential due to location and view. But we had to ask for the swimming pool to be opened externally as they have a ridiculous policy to open it only for an hour and only on sunny days. the whole spa needs attention and better care and cleaning. Not recommending.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kenny A wrote a review Aug 2020
Lenzburg, Switzerland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is very nice and was probably 4 starts in the past. Unfortunately the Room we booked really needs to be modernised. The price was 'discounted' but was still 377 CHF per night (including breakfast), the room was sparse, not enough electrical sockets, the bathroom was very clean but very small and the shower in the bath was very tight.
If the hotel is to keep it's 4 star rating then money needs to be invested.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: I only saw our room so cannot comment on other rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
juliejuem wrote a review Mar 2022
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Decided to come to Crans with my boyfriend for some skiing while visiting my aunty.
Hotel was lovely, staff were extremely friendly and approachable.
The view from the bar area was lovely and staff even provided table service.
The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were great, it was a very relaxing way to spend the early evening after a long day skiing.
One evening we decided to have dinner in the restaurant and it was delicious, had fondue chinoise, with fries, rice and 4 different sauces all of which were delicious, I had the chocolate fondant for desert!
The hotel is a 10 min walk away fromthe ski lift and main town center.
Definitely recommend and already planning to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LadyMary88 wrote a review Jun 2021
Zermatt, Switzerland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Maybe the hotel was 4* in the past but it isn’t anymore. It started when we arrived. Check-in was from 3pm but we were there at 2.30pm because we had to change clothes for our tee-time at the golf course. There was a very young man at the recpetion desk and he insisted in a very unfriendly way that we can not have our room before 3pm. Altough it was summer season and the hotel not fully booked for sure. So we had to change in the restroom.
Our room waa very small and very old. You couldn‘t close the bathroom door and also the door of the shower wasn‘t closing properly. The hotel needs a renovation!
Stuff wasn‘t friendly at all and the breakfast choice was nothing special. There was nothing explained (if it contains gluten, lactose…) you had to guess what it is on the buffet (also what kind of marmelade or joghurt - you had to guess). The coffee and the croissants were good, but that was the only thing.
In the night it was loud (we had the north view to the street) and you couldn‘t sleep with open windows. And the worst thing were the blankets: it was summer and they had winter blankets. We were sweating (no clima and closed windows). Wouldn‘t recommend the hotel until they renovate it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Free parking available, no summer blankets, restaurant nothing special
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richall wrote a review Sept 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I paid 500 Swiss Francs for a suite for 2 nights. The tv didn’t work, the fridge didn’t work and the door handle to the balcony came off in my hand.

There were no staff anywhere to be seen my entire stay. It was a ghost hotel! No management even working to complain to. All the restaurants and bars were closed and there were no servers or staff anywhere. Just one girl at reception. I have never witnessed anything like it before in my life!

If they had told me that there was no food or bar service available I would never have stayed there. I couldn’t cancel through booking.com and when I complained at checkout the woman made me feel like it was my fault for staying there. Unbelievable!

For the two days I stayed there I could not get a drink or any food. I had to walk 1-2 km into town. They have no shuttle service. How did this hotel get a 4 star rating? It’s a 1 star hotel with a nice pool. They don’t know the meaning of service. I’m sure they can’t even spell the word. Never stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Never stay here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve C wrote a review Feb 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went to this hotel for a long weekend skiing with some apprehension having read the previous reviews (a friend had booked it). I had an upgraded room with a balcony and view which was fantastic. The main seating area in the lobby was very nice with a log fire and a bar. The restaurant was excellent and whilst expensive by UK standards, it was in keeping with prices in the area. The inside/outside pool was lovely and the steam room and sauna were definitely up to a 4 star standard. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful - for example, they lent me a travel plug at no cost and sorted our ski passes every day. It’s a bit of a walk to the piste (I guess about 600m) but we left our skis and boots at a rental place nearer the slope so the walk was actually quite nice. It’s a very nice town and the skiing was great.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Blaise D wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall I loved my stay here. There were a few things they could improve upon to make the stay better and I would return. But first let me touch on the positives

+ gorgeous views when you enter and from breakfast
+ our room was cosy and the decor fab
+ nice shower
+ dog friendly
+ close to ski (not directly there but maybe 10 mins walk)
+ interiors are cool

Now to the negatives which I really think they should work on to improve the hotel and the experience

- the car park is completely dangerous. Other hotels clear the car parking area but not this one. Its full of ice and snow and it’s directly outside of the entrance to the hotel. So even if you don’t have a car you’ll need to walk there. So bad and needs NEEDS to be amended.

- the breakfast is not great and ends at 10:30 but when we arrived at 9:45 I had to say to the waitress can we have more of everything at the buffet because there was literally one croissant. I would understand if we arrived at 10;25 but not at 9:45.

- internet does not work downstairs and is pretty bad throughout.

Overall I had a lovely stay because the views are gorgeous and staff lovely. They just need to change the few things above ans I would be telling everyone what a fab hotel it is.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Before you arrive perhaps call to check where to park so you don’t drive in unnecessarily.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Le Spa Etrier-Pas de L'ours, Directeur général at Hotel De l'Etrier
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear Sir We warmly thank you for your comments. We are always grateful for the positive as well as the negative, as it helps us improve ourselves each day. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay after all, and are looking forward to greeting you again soon among us. Best regards Reception Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maria begoña l wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is the first time I am staying in a 4 star hotel. I know the swiss Alps quite well, and the best hotels too. 5 stars hotel sometimes their kindness is related to our tips, and this I find it not very honest and authentic. I move around in life with energy and the energy of who is around me. Honestly, I think in this hotel, people were super sweet and kind. I felt really home, food and service was pretty decent for the price.
I will most probably came back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dmitry Z wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good hotel. Big rooms, large common hall with a huge fireplace. Very helpful, welcoming and friendly staff, trying to make staying as most comfortable as possible. Several not minuses, but inconveniences: little bit too far from a ski lift to walk on ski boots, but bus station is almost in front of a hotel; restaurant menu as well as room service and wine list are very short, but bar menu is a quiet good. Great SPA, unfortunately outside pool is closed for a winter season. And last, but not least are comfortable prices compared to other local five stars.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There are a lot of parking places around a hotel as well as garage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claudio L wrote a review Dec 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I read the very few 2022 reviews that seem overwhelmingly positive. The hotel claims to be a 4 star which it is definitely not. Except for the room rate.

Pros:
- nice staff trying to compensate for the modest hotel offering
- wonderful view on the Alps (although many hotels in Crans-Montana offer the same view)

Cons:
- location: on the main road to Crans so noisy car traffic if your room is facing North
- room: if not renovated, the room is as it was when the hotel was first built (40-50 years ago?) so keep your expectations low
- ridiculously poor breakfast
- no shuttle to ski slopes (15 min away on foot)
- cold swimming pool (understood if lower energy consumption is at play but let the customer know at booking at least)
- poorly equipped gym with no ventilation
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hôtel Etrier, Propriétaire at Hotel De l'Etrier
Responded 30 Dec 2022
Dear Mr Claudio, We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay in our hotel. Our standard street facing rooms are, as offered, simple rooms. The rate reflects also the standard of the room and we do not pretend otherwise. Most clients are very satisfied with our breakfast buffet. It would have been a pleasure to serve you something different if you had asked. There is a bus service next to the hotel going to the slopes that are 8 to 10 walking minutes (including 2 lifts). Our swimmingpool is heated at 28 degrees and is not a thermal swimming pool. The fitness room is equipped with Technogym Eliptic machine, running machine, two bikes and a weight bench. Crans Montana offers a wide range of outdoor activities. Our fitness simply completes this offer. We are glad that you appreciated the kindness of our staff and hope to have the chance to welcome you and try to satisfy you another time. Best regards, GB la direction
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kathyd928 asked a question Oct 2018
Fort Smith, Arkansas140 contributions24 helpful votes
How do we get from the Geneva airport to your hotel.
MaryEs111 asked a question Jan 2017
Houston, Texas1 contribution
If I am taking the train from Zurich which station should I arrive at?
Answer from Hôtel E
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
Dear Madam, From Zürich you have to take the train direction Sierre and here you have to stop. Then, from Sierre Station you have more options to reach Crans-Montana. You can take the funicular (5 minutes walk from Sierre station) till Montana station and then we can order for you a taxi (arround Chf 25.-) otherwise you have the bus from Sierre station till the center of Crans, then you will have to walk arround 12 minutes to reach the hotel. Otherwise we can order a taxi for you from Sierre station till Crans. (arround Chf 70.-).
Julian M asked a question Nov 2014
Nottingham5 contributions1 helpful vote
Which is the nearest airport and how can I get there in January?
Answer from Bruce L
Salzburg, Austria117 contributions70 helpful votes
Geneva airport ( 150 kms ) Sion airport is of course Much closer rebut mostly private flights and one or two commercial flights a day only.
Dmitry Z wrote a tip Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom94 contributions116 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are a lot of parking places around a hotel as well as garage"
Read full review
Blaise D wrote a tip Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom53 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Before you arrive perhaps call to check where to park so you don’t drive in unnecessarily."
Read full review
Richall wrote a tip Sept 2021
108 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Never stay here"
Read full review
LadyMary88 wrote a tip Jun 2021
Zermatt, Switzerland53 contributions55 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking available, no summer blankets, restaurant nothing special"
Read full review
Kenny A wrote a tip Aug 2020
Lenzburg, Switzerland73 contributions35 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I only saw our room so cannot comment on other rooms."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Crans-Montana area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 1,430 - RM 1,654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
etrier hotel crans montana
LOCATION
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of ValaisCrans-Montana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DE L'ETRIER: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 147 Photos (Crans-Montana, Switzerland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel De l'Etrier
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel De l'Etrier?
Nearby attractions include LAKE GRENON (1.2 km), Creativlaser (0.6 km), and Alex Sports Les Boutiques SA (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel De l'Etrier?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel De l'Etrier?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel De l'Etrier?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel De l'Etrier?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel De l'Etrier?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burger Lounge, LeMontBlanc, and Restaurant Le Continental.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel De l'Etrier?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel De l'Etrier?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel De l'Etrier?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel De l'Etrier offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
All Crans-Montana HotelsCrans-Montana Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Crans-MontanaHotels near Hotel De l'Etrier
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire