We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Ascona

Expedia.comUS$169*
View Deal
#6 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Ascona
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Ascona
 Click to rate
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and views. Warning: you go downhill to get to downtown and have to walk back up-not for the very unfit- Big plus: the pool and tropical garden. Pros: the staff was very nice apart from a brunette receptionist-she could not be bother helping us- Great waiter at the Bar, he even made a surprise mocktail for my nephews...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laura w
andreabcAscona, Reception at Hotel Ascona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are very sorry for the noise, you could come to the reception to ask us to speak with our restaurant staff, we could find a solution or we could change your room to the other side of the building. Many rooms are now renovated, yours was an old...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was renovated, we were upgraded to a room with the view. The room was big and comfortable. Every thing was perfect - clean room, great service, the pool was heated, the spa the only downside in the noise- the walls are thin so you can hear everything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yael M
andreabcAscona, Reception at Hotel Ascona, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are sorry for the noise, the next time do not hesitate to ask us to solve the problem, we could change the room. Anyway we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Sandra Saillen Reception

Aalborg, Nordjylland, Denmark
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately we was delayed on a business trip and called the day before to ask if we could cancel the room, however this was refused. We made the booking via booking.com and we knew we could not change the booking and therefore we called the hotel directly if they could help - but this was not possible. As a business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans A
ancaroni, Owner at Hotel Ascona, responded to this review

When the house is not fully booked we can cancel, no problem. Another case is when we refuse other guests because we are fully booked and get empty rooms in case of cancellations. In these cases we charge, it's normal. Everybody would do the same.

zurich
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The Ascona is located above the town, so that the views of Lago Maggiore are magnificent. The spacious sized room had been recently renovated and the bathroom especially was well set up. For once the lighting in the bathroom was excellent ... something not even 5 star hotels manage often these days. The room was quiet as well. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZurichKashew
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The room is quite basic. we took a view on the lake. I expected a bit more comfort in the room given the price. but the room was clean and the staff very kind. the 20chf breakfast is quite basic as well for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florent D
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Over a year ago my wife's wish was to return to Ascona. This hotel was "picture perfect" and we booked it. End of story. Actually, we loved it... the restaurant, the pool and the garden. Only problem was a very hot summer ...my problem in Alaska and Hawaii too, I borrowed two fans and kept the night windows open. Otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DomAIJr
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Nice very well lit room und a breathtaking view. Big room and a spacious bathroom. Price value especially due to the off season. Unfortunately not enough time to check out the facilities at the hotel. Will come back soon enough to enjoy the facilities. Quick no fuss check in at the reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Usha B
Owosso
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Just a beautiful hotel up on a hill overlooking the lake and town. It was a little tricky to find at first but once we did, we were very impressed. It's a lovely place to stay., Very comfortable room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gene J
Bremgarten, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Rooms perfect. Wonderful view of Lake and surrounding mountain. Meals Super. Well prepared and professionally served. Breakfast buffet superb. Staff extremely helpful and competent. View unbelievable. We shall return !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _roysteffen50
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Stayed her for one night and have mixed feelings. The good points:- it is clean, the service is friendly, multi lingual and helpful. The room is huge and well equipped. The balcony was massive and a nice view. The pool is lovely. The bad points:- the decor of the room was awful - pink carpets, wallpaper and curtains !! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jp t

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Collinetta
Hotel Collinetta
#5 of 32 in Ascona
264 reviews
1.9 km away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
299 reviews
0.4 km away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#2 of 32 in Ascona
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
439 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#12 of 32 in Ascona
89 reviews
0.7 km away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Ascona

Address: Via Collina, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Price Range: RM675 - RM1,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascona 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ascona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ascona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ascona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ascona staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ascona staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As long as you face the lake you will love it.”
DomAIJr, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room on the Southampton side havé à wonderful view”
annelisevillars, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a high floor if you want a balcony.”
AgnesHS, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony with lake view - stunning.”
MadelaineM557, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a lake view, of course!”
mombatDallas, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$169* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$169
Hotels.comUS$169
TravelocityUS$169
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates