We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hannah's Homestead

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hannah\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The downstairs motel unit at Hannah's Homestead had everything we needed for our 4 night stay. We were warm & cosy & the king size bed was really comfy. Ruth was really friendly & keen to help make our stay as comfortable as possible. I was interested when reading the reviews before we visited that the most common "negative" comment... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
Ruth-Wayne, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Michelle C, thank you very much for your review. As you can see, people do not usually have time to do one, so it is highly appreciated. I was also very happy to read why you liked the place. It is situated where it is, and I do have many negative comments about the location. However it is where it... More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Hannah’s Homestead Like the emptiness of the coast on which it is located, Hannah’s Homestead was at the ‘end of the known world’ or so it seemed arriving late on the evening of 17Mar2016; a cold, dark and blustery day which always threatened rain. But then this is a region with just about the highest rainfall anywhere outside the humid... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Ruth-Wayne, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you for your very interesting response. I enjoyed reading it and it is lovely to here some accurate details so well explained. Indeed we have no shops around here but the one at the camping ground just up the road do open long hours from 8 until 8 or 9 at night because they have a good... More 

Seaham, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Before my arrival, I was wondering what lay inside this industrial steel themed homestead on this windy part of the world. At Haanah Clearing, a friendly personalised note on the unlocked door welcomed us at Hannah's Homestead. It was warm, spacious, very clean, had an excellent bed and large comfortable armchairs. We were able to self cater or choose to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed last January at Hannah's homestead at the upstairs apartment. We found it very good for a family, well equipped for everything you need. Ruth, the owner is very nice welcoming and taking care for all your needs. Make sure to go for a day to Neil's beach, we had over there one of our most amazing experience with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hardof J
Ruth-Wayne, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you, Hardof, for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet your family. The Dolphins are really special, they are Hectors and very rare but play out there all the time. We also had a Penguin crossing the road down there last week which is fairly normal in this remote World Heritage Park. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Had a very comfortable stay. Great beds, more spacious than we expected and quiet. Ruth very helpful and Wayne very entertaining in the Jet boat trip that they run. Re previous reviews yes sand files are an issue but hey - it is the West Coast of NZ so you have to expect and prepare for them everywhere you go.... More 

Helpful?
Thank pinkpoodle_10
RuthAndWayneWaiatoto, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate you taking the time out to share your thoughts about the motel, us and the river safari. Thanks for your emails too, enjoy the rest of your holiday. Kind regards, Ruth. More 

Glaziers Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2014

Stayed here after a paddling trip down the Waiatoto. Great place. Clean and our hosts Wayne and Ruth were lovely. The shower was the best shower I have had in my entire life and not because we just got back from the bush. Insane pressure and plenty of hot water for all of us to indulge. Cheers Wayne and Ruth... More 

Helpful?
Thank elias e
RuthAndWayneWaiatoto, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Elias, thank you for your very kind review. We enjoyed helping you out, it was a pleasure. And I am still delighting the very dark chocolate you left....Thanks! More 

FORT COLLINS
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is quite a distance from the main road in a very remote area. When we found it we were concerned as from the outside it looked unacceptable. Our key and our name was taped to the door. We never saw the owners. But we were pleasantly surprised. We had a very nice room with a small kitchenette.The bath was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Likestotravel1000
RuthAndWayneWaiatoto, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed yourself. The unit is only rented out to one group at a time, the other room is for if there are more people in your own group. Breakfast can be requested on booking and then left in your room the evening before. As we operate a tourism business we may... More 

New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hi folks, It's been a year since we visited NZ and really felt compelled to write a review just to thank folks for the nice overnight stay. We hit a strange patch of wet weather during our trip, and we were welcomed with open arms, a wonderful steak dinner, and friendly hospitality. Felt like we were staying with family. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank mtrachtenberg
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write your review, it is appreciated. We are new owners but I am pleased you had a good time here when you stayed. It is a lovely location. We have made one change that means we do not offer the dinner that you spoke of, because we are also owner operators of... More 

Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment. From the outside it didn't look much, but inside it was modern-ish comfortable and clean. There were only 2 things which let it down. Firstly, there were dozens upon dozens of dead sand flies all over the windows. I don't expect the windows to be cleaned after each guest has checked out. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben D
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. It is unfortunate that you did not ask us for more Wi-Fi tickets. On check in, we explain about how to purchase Wi-Fi and one free ticket is given out. It is up to the guest to purchase more. Because we are on satellite internet, the cost is very high which is why we cannot... More 

Peterborough
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

The four of us (two couples) stayed the night before doing the river safari the following day ( it's run from the same place). The accommodation had everything we needed, clean, good beds and with a great shower. Might be best to bring food as when we went out to have a meal the fish and chip shop in Haast... More 

Helpful?
Thank KZB1
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reply. Yes we are 19km away from the shop, so good idea to bring food. We leave insect repellant in the motel unit but I always recommend long trousers, as that is how I avoid the sandflies. The view from the beach is amazing all the same. More 

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haast
11.7 km away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
17.4 km away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
11.7 km away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Aspiring Court Motel
Aspiring Court Motel
#2 of 2 in Haast
87 reviews
0.0 km away
Makarora Tourist Centre
Makarora Tourist Centre
#1 of 3 in Makarora
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On New Zealand’s West Coast of the South Island, you will find Hannah's Homestead with a two bedroom ground flour, access friendly, en-suite motel unit, which is perfectly situated on the scenic road to Jackson Bay, at Hannah's Clearing, Haast. The homestead sits right on the edge of the west coast wilderness and is only a few minutes walk from the Tasman Sea. Hannah's Homestead Motel was built in 2009 and offers comfortable West Coast accommodation. Whether you are planning on a one night stay or a full-on week of sightseeing and outdoor adventures, Hannah's Homestead Motel is the perfect place to reside. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hannah's Homestead

Address: 1921 Haast - Jackson Bay Road | Hannah's Clearing, Haast 7844, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Price Range: RM458 - RM929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hannah's Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hannah's Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Carry sufficient food with you; prepare a meal a la carte; walk down to the beach afterwards with a bottle of wine.”
 of 5 bubbles F12MPpeters, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Remember you might have to share a bedroom”
 of 5 bubbles Likestotravel1000, 3 May 2014 | Read review
“Let John know ahead of time via email what you are interested in...he'll suggest some activities. We were glad we took all our food so we didn't have to go driving around looking for somewhere to eat. John kindly cooked a dinner for us, so ask him about this option.”
 of 5 bubbles SueL687, 18 Jul 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay