We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scandic Visby

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Visby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located very convenient next to the ferry terminal and about 20 minutes walk to historic down town. The hotel and restaurant staff was great... but my room smelled a little... have to do some cleaning to get the smell out. Not a big things took about 3 minutes... so if you stay here make sure your room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
Pernilla H, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Visby, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your nice review. Sorry for the smell in the room, nothing we know of. Hope you informed the front desk about it so that the cleaning staff becomes aware of the room. Welcome back to Gotland and us at Scandic Visby. Best Regards, Pernilla H Scandic Visby

Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Arriving at 00:00h with the ferry it is good to know that the hotel is situated very close to the harbor. Hotel is composed by several separate buildings of about 20 nice spacious clean rooms. On the ground floor it was pleasant sitting outside in the sun. The hotel restaurant has very friendly and helpful employees. Good place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jos V
Pernilla H, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Visby, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your nice review. I am pleased to hear that you like our hotel and that you had a nice stay with us. Welcome back to Gotland and to us at Scandic Visby. Best Regards, Pernilla H

Lappeenranta, Finland
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Hotel rooms are located in a few smaller 2-storey separate house on the hillside. My room was cozy and clean. Breakfast was served in two different restaurants. My group had also dinner, at least the steak was good. The atmosphere was a nice relaxed, but the staff seemed a little inexperienced. The hotel's location is pretty good, right next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjaana54
Pernilla H, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Visby, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you had a nice stay with us. I will be thoughtful of your comment regarding the inexperienced staff. I will convey your point to the restaurant manager. Hope we can deliver better servcie at your next visit. Welcome back to us at Scandic Visby. Best Regards, Pernilla H...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Standard Scandic quality, not the best but not worst either. Good breakfast with lots of fresh fruits. The room was okey but not the cleanest. This would be a great place to stay with kids because there is a swimming pool on the yeard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oskar_eriksson
Pernilla H, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Visby, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hej oskar_eriksson! Tack för din recension. Härligt att du är nöjd med din vistelse hos oss men tråkigt att höra...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Good decent breakfast Kids love the visit of siggy the iconic figure Room is ok. We took family std with sofa bed. Room service was so so. Think they missed changing the towels ( its summer and our towels didnt dry completely) Within walking distance to old town Location is gd if you come.by ferry and want fussfree transport arrangement....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joyceheng7666
Pernilla H, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Visby, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review. Great to hear that the kids liked Sigge. Regarding the towels, to save the environment, we change only towels lying on the floor. There should be an information sign in the bathroom about this. I hope soon you will have the opportunity to visit Gotland again. Welcome back to Scandic Visby. Best Regards, Pernilla...

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Wery nice environment and the rooms are clean, modern design and have all the facilities I require for a business trip. The service in the reception and restaurant are always professional and nice. Would recommend it both for holiday and business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susanne K
Pernilla H, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Visby, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your nice review. It always feels great to get feedback from satisfied guests. Hope you get the pleasure of visiting Gotland and us at Scandic Visby soon again. Welcome back. Best Regards, Pernilla H Scandic Visby

Vastervik, Sweden
Reviewed 22 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 287andersk
Pernilla H, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Visby, responded to this review

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Our family stayed one night and chose this hotel based on the Scandic brand. We could not have been more disappointed. The hotel has clearly been converted from a cheaper alternative and really it should have been knocked down and rebuilt. The rooms are too small. The ventilation was the poorest of any hotel I have stayed at (and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evaf783
Pernilla H, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Visby, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear that you not enjoyed staying with us at Scandic Visby, neither in the room and in the restaurant. Hope you told the front desk at check out about your bad experience so we could compensate you. We always want our guests will go home satisfied. Sorry about the heat in the room,...

Cork
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

All the must haves are certainly there, and it is very clean and a good location with a short walk to Ringmuren whilst just across the road from the harbor. But the nice-to-haves are missing, the room we stayed in for three days was quite expensive, but bare and no wardrobe or drawers, just some hangers so we were living...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bipbipbipbopbop
Pernilla H, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Visby, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for your nice feedback, we are glad that you had a good time with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your stay and we will listen to your views. You are welcome back to us again soon! Best Regards, Pernilla Hallbom Scandic Visby

Helsinki
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Very good location near harbour and not far away from the city center, nice pool area, good breakfast and bikes to borrow. Clean rooms. No air condition though so couple of nights had to keep window open. Nothing to complain and would surely go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annukka U
Pernilla H, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Visby, responded to this review

Hello Annukka U! Thank you for your nice feedback. We wish you a warm welcome back to us at Scandic Visby. Best Regards, Pernilla Hallbom Scandic Visby

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.9 km away
Clarion Hotel Wisby
Clarion Hotel Wisby
#2 of 15 in Visby
685 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 15 in Visby
422 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 15 in Visby
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Solhem Hotel
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Strand Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Borgen
Hotel Villa Borgen
#8 of 15 in Visby
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay comfortable at Scandic Visby in Visby Harbor with an unbeatable location just opposite the ferry terminal and with 10-minutes walk to the medieval town centre. As our guest you have free access to gym, pool and relax with sauna. In the restaurant, guests can relax with a good well-cooked food after season. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Visby

Address: 3 Faerjeleden, Visby, Gotland 621 58, Sweden (Formerly Visby Hamnhotell)
Region: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Price Range: RM391 - RM600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Visby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Visby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Visby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room in the lobby building = close to the parking and restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles dgjohansson, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“There are a lot of things to see on the island of gotland especially in spring and summer”
 of 5 bubbles GoranB32, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with a view to the harbor”
 of 5 bubbles MM6102, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Take rooms at the upper floors for unrestricted views”
 of 5 bubbles pradeep9, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Ask for anything else except a room in the reception building.”
 of 5 bubbles RLJ62, 28 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay