We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swinside Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swinside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Swinside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

This is set in the beautiful Newlands Valley - so pretty. Ideal for visiting Derwent Water and Butteremere, and just a little further to drive to Grasmere and Ullswater which we also visited. Our little doggy was very happy here. The evening meals were really really delicious! They come with either salad or hot veg - both of which have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline Q
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

And you know that we would happily have you again! Thank you Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

A fantastic, relaxing time in a hotel with breathtaking views, a big thank you to Ben and Sharon, Mat the manager for all his hard work in making your stay fantastic, and to Karlos and the table staff who are very polite and efficient, the whole place is excellent, and surrounded by beautiful scenery. Will defiantly be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8659james
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

That's really nice to hear. Thank you so much. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

At 3pm I was planning a 150 mile trip to Derwent water for a Paddle board session and to see some friends who were staying on the Lingholme Estate... This Inn was a possible location for my stay the weekend before for a wedding, the reception of which, was held on the Lingholme Estate....in the event we stayed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George H
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely (and poetic) review of The Swinside Inn. I particularly love your "you just know it's a busy Inn, it's not jaded by neglect, it is worn by scores of customers". You can come again! Lucinda, on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We booked three nights at this hotel as a late wedding anniversary celebration and chose the Swinside Inn on the recommendation of friends. What a disappointment. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was fine, but our room was poky, badly in need of a makeover and definitely needed a good deep clean. I cleaned the window on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Gillian, What a shame that you were disappointed - we'll investigate to try to work out which room you were in from your description, and have housekeeping have a look at it. It's true that you would have been able to hear music from below until about 11pm, as we are a pub, but I am sorry that you...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Excellent friendly,a room with a view,huge bathroom very clean,will recommend highly food was very good a beer garden for children to enjoy the fresh air and ducks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank u2kezza
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Had a lovely weekend break at this Inn. The food was great and very good value.. Staff on the whole were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our bedroom was over the pool room. Lots and shouting , screaming and banging on the Friday night. When I went down to complain I was told firmly by the Landlady that if I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinehodgson6
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Caroline Thank you for your honest review. I'm really sorry that you were disturbed. We are aware that there can be residual noise from the bar below the room you are in, and although we can serve drinks until midnight, we always ask people to move into the main bar by 11pm. On the night in question, we had...

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We bought the voucher from a deal website and were not disappointed at all and will definitely return. Lovely big bedrooms with great views. Food was amazing, massive portions! Good drinks choice too. Breakfast included was plentiful. Short taxi ride to Keswick. Definitely one to stay at!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura W
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting after the floods last winter - we really appreciated you coming, and it's great to hear that you had a good time. Make sure you're on our mail list to hear about our 2016 December celebration package.

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Will be back loved every Monet thank you to the owners and staff so friendly nothing is a problem always ready to help feel like you have known them for ever wish them all the best and we will see you again. Hope you are lucky in finding your family dog

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Caroline. Hope we see you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Stayed for 1 night during C2C cycle ride. First the positives: -Spectacular location and views. Quiet location a few miles outside Keswick with breathtaking views from the hotel. Really outstanding. - We had a very good meal in the hotel . Delicious fish. Good service too. -Good storage for our bikes. The negatives: - Although room/bathroom was clean, poor interior....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HJxxx2016
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm trying to work out which room you were in - it may be the one which we are actually upgrading as I type. I shall look into this further. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

A bank holiday weekend away with the hubby and what a treat! The room borrowdale was spacious and clean with some gorgeous views The breakfast lasted us all day and was very tasty Our evening meals were of equally good quality and the local ales very much appreciated after a couple of walking days! Excellent location for walking into Keswick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevin w
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Haha, yes we're used to seeing people a little weary. Thank you very much for your 5 star review. hope you return. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
4.6 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,009 reviews
1.5 km away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
670 reviews
5.0 km away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
577 reviews
4.5 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
495 reviews
5.3 km away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional, over 300 year old, lakeland pub,with bed and breakfast rooms. We're a short walk from Derwentwater and the iconic Catbells. Traditional bar with open fire places. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to explore the lake district, with mountain views from some rooms and all bars. We also have a six bedroom holiday let available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swinside Inn

Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Price Range: RM513 - RM896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swinside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swinside Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Swinside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views in the front would have a lovely valley view...but we only slept in ours so overlooking the back and trees was not a problem.”
KathrynT, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The 'Causey' has just been fixed up so all new and lovely”
Sheila1951, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For the view stretch a bit and stay in Catbells, plus get the cheese board!”
Jonno1910, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All have views I think, I don't think there's a bad choice.”
945georgeh, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in Barrow, and were very disappointed. I am sure there were better rooms.”
GillianP968, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5