We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wernhir Farm

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newbridge-on-Wye
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wernhir Farm
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Monica and Dave are so friendly and welcoming and at the same time very professional - they've got it so right. Every comfort in our rooms plus superb, tasty, well cooked breakfast in lovely surroundings. We look forward to returning in the summer to take full advantage of the lovely garden and location. Thanks again Monica and Dave for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melvin C
Wernhir, Owner at Wernhir Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit. Monica More 

Cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed here for one night while on the Wye Valley Walk. Monica (a bit of a local celebrity it seems!) could not have been more helpful and welcoming, starting with happily picking us up about a mile from the end of the day's walk thereby avoiding what would have been a very unpleasant walk down a busy road into... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rands9
Wernhir, Owner at Wernhir Farm, responded to this review

Thank you, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again if you are ever in the area. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Booked three nights over RWAS. Excellent stay in every way. Nothing was too much trouble for Monica. Breakfast incredible. Enjoyed Dave's sense of humour and the farming chats with all the family. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Alan P
Wernhir, Owner at Wernhir Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we hope you enjoyed the Show. More 

Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We were looked after so well from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble. We were attending a wedding locally and we felt very much at home. The black and white room was nicely done out and everything you could think of was provided. Monica even brought fresh milk to our room for our teas. Breakfast was superb and... More 

Helpful?
Thank car0linefry
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Mrs Monica Fairclough made me very welcome, lovely situation with a beautiful outlook over open pasture. One of the best breakfast I have eaten in years. Easy to find, plenty of parking. I recommend this lovely farmhouse to you. For your evening meal try Fabian's Kitchen in Llandrindod Wells. 01597 824642.

Helpful?
1 Thank 57Fred7
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Planned a off roading weekend for 4 people arranged to camp out but the camp site turned us away due to the ground being to wet to camp on so we started to look for local B&Bs we found this on online rang up and there was availability so we pulled up at about 6pm settled into our rooms and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spikefuzz
Kamloops, BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We were made to feel very welcome at this lovely farmhouse B&B. The black and white bedroom was tastefully furnished with spacious and clean modern en suite. Breakfast consisted of buffet style fresh fruit salad as well as yogurt choices, cereal choices, juices, plus a full cooked breakfast, toast, and tea or coffee. Monica and Dave were very friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank holiday-wishes
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Fabulous place, fabulous people and fabulous food, can't say anymore than that. Thank you do much for the wonderful welcome you fave us. We will return, and if you are ever in new Zealand look us up we'd love to see you.

Helpful?
Thank Shadowstaff
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Our room had unfortunately been double-booked, so we got a room without a bath. But the room standard was excellent. Huge bedroom with old-fashion furniture, a big bed, matching colours and a atmosphere and feel to it that money can't buy. The hosts were friendly and talkative, offering us tea and homemade buns upon arrival. The home was lovely -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2015

my husband and i have just returned from a three day break where we based ourselves at Wernhir Farm, and we have to say that it is a most charming, cosy and welcoming place. Monica, the owner of the B and B could not have been more welcoming, from her friendly greeting and a very welcome pot of tea and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra J

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and enjoy our homely accommodation to relax and unwind. Wernhir farm is situated in the Wye Valley scenic surroundings, with many local attraction within a short journey time.A working diary & sheep farm, stabling & paddock facilities Trout & Salmon permits available. fishing very near to property. 1 mile off Wye Valley walk & cycle rate. The farm is within 8 miles of Elan Valley Dams and on the way check out the Red kite feeding center in Rhayader or even have a relaxing game of golf in Llandrindod Wells or Builth Wells golf clubs. The homely accommodation offers you a chance to enjoy and relax in the beautiful garden. Guests have the choice of one double En-suite, one family room En-suite and also a single room with wash basin. All rooms have colour TV, clock radios and beverage tray. A full hearty breakfast is served also evening meals by prior arrangement made with home produced food are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wernhir Farm

Address: Newbridge-on-Wye, Llandrindod Wells LD1 6HB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Newbridge-on-Wye
Hotel Class:4 star — Wernhir Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wernhir Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with en-suite, so book early as they get booked up first as this is a popular and great place to stay!”
 of 5 bubbles 49Pam, 21 May 2013 | Read review
“The main bedroom is perfect for a couple”
 of 5 bubbles 590EmmaR590, 12 May 2013 | Read review
“Room 1 . Brilliant sunrise views and spacious room.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnandJohnW, 9 Sep 2012 | Read review
3 of 3