We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
Whitecroft
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Came for a meal with my partner and friends wed night.. Had a lovely meal.. I had duck, my friends had a mixture of steak, risotto, gammon & stack was really beautiful food, everyone cleared their plates 😁 Ended up doing quiz.. Great night at the George! Definetly recommend and would definetly visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle F
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

Great to hear from you we do a quiz every wednesday and have a good laugh as well i do try to make it fun. Great food and a laugh a good bonus i think. Hope to see you soon. All the very best Ian & Carole

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We stayed here last year for a little getaway myself and my husband. The room was beautiful and traditional, which we loved, with a big bed and the en suite facilities we very clean. The location was perfect with Go Ape and Puzzlewood nearby and the local towns to wonder. We also ate and drank at the George each night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
IanW1123, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The George

Coleford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Took my mother for lunch as a late birthday treat and was not disappointed. Wide range of food all freshly cook and prepared. The waiter could not have been any more attentive, beautiful restaurant area and amazing atmosphere. I have visited The George Inn a few times now and never disappointed. Thank you for such good service and amazing food!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miniizzy
IanW1123, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you had a lovely birthday meal. Look forward to seeing you again at The George

Reviewed 22 February 2016

We stayed here recently, the staff were attentive and friendly, the rooms were superb, albeit the toilet in room 9 was a bit of a disappoint as there was a stale aroma (hence 4 stars not 5 stars). had to take in to account noisy floorboards, and thin walls as we could hear the next door neighbour quite clearly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Huw G
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review we have worked really hard for the 4 stars to gain 5 stars we would have to comply with a myriad of stipulations such as his & hers dressing gowns for instance along with lots of other requirements, Very expensive and also x everything by 14 rooms. This is the reason we stay at 4 star....

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Went into the George inn for Sunday lunch, it's a carvery lunch with a selection of roast meats and a good choice of vegetables, red cabbage, peas, swede and carrot, parsnips, cauliflower and brocolli, peas, roast potatoes, new potatoes and Yorkshire puddings etc. All of the food tasted excellent even the gravy. The atmosphere there is also good, friendly staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheila H
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review Our carvery along with the food is a mainstay of our success and we cover over 80+ every week with alot of return trade, we look forward to seeing you again if you do have the carvery agin always try to pre-book. Best regards Ian & Carole

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We have just spent a very enjoyable weekend at Millingbrook Lodge & The George Inn. Our room at The Lodge was well appointed, comfortable and above all very clean, with lovely traditional furnishings. We ate breakfast and evening meals at the George Inn and all were delicious and freshly cooked. All the staff were friendly and polite and made us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jalous410
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Room was great no sign of damp but a very strong smell of it. Opening the bathroom door was like getting a whiff of old wet towels. Room smelt a tad damp too. That said it's nothing a really good air freshner couldn't fix. The bed however was a total nightmare and very very poor quality. I've never slept so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 58trace
donnylassGloucester, Owner at The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge, responded to this review

We take all reviews seriously it helps us to continually improve our service.All our rooms are aired by the cleaning staff on a daily basis and cleaned to a high standard also air freshened.As per the beds all the mattresses have been replaced the only thing we the owners can't do is cater for everyones ergonomic bed requirements i.e. soft,...

Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

We checked into reception easily, which is attached to the bar. The bar has a local feel but very friendly and warm. It has a restaurant with a fantastic English menu in a lovely setting with exposed timber and fairy lighting. Food was exceptional!!! The room is very clean and spacious with clean white bedding but finished off with coloured...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taragoviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Having never stayed in Lydney before I did a search for somewhere to stay and was not disappointed with my choice. Millingbrook Lodge was only 5 minutes away from my customer so was ideal. Good room with ensuite facilities, clean and wifi so could do some work after dinner. The food in the George is very good as were the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolmelwood
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in january! We were pleasantly suprised upon entering the room, with open stone walls and lovely decor in a spacious room. There is a small tv and basic facilities including kettle and cups. The bathroom seemed clean and nicely decorated however on a slight negative there was a really awful smell coming from there,not sure if it's drains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorean811

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylburton
10.3 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
637 reviews
7.6 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
578 reviews
9.5 km away
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#12 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
63 reviews
1.4 km away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
178 reviews
9.8 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Coleford
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ian, Carole and the Team welcome you to The George Inn and Millingbrook Lodge which is ideally placed in the centre of Aylburton, a small village just one mile from Lydney, Gloucestershire. The Lodge offers 4 star Visit England hotel style accommodation all with en-suite facilities at great competitive rates. Situated in the heart of Aylburton village it is ideally located for tourists and business-persons alike with easy travel links to Cheltenham, Gloucester, Bristol, Chepstow & Cardiff. The George Inn boasts a selection of locally sourced Cask Marque Real Ales, Draught Beers, Lagers, Ciders and selection of wines & Spirits. The Landlord Ian and his team keep an impeccable cellar and continue to offer award winning service. The Millingbrook Restaurant offers a wide range of fresh food from Lighter Bites to Traditional Home Cooked Meals. The George Inn prides itself on great service, an imaginative menu and we are Forest Famous for our value for money. The restaurant is open all year round and our garden is available during the summer months for al fresco dining. Our food is locally sourced whenever possible, for example our Meat is sourced from Cowshill Farm and Fitzgerald's Butchers in Lydney and we use the Finest Butter from Netherend Dairy Farm. The Millingbrook Lodge offers 4 star Visit England hotel style accommodation all with en-suite facilities at great competitive rates. A choice of breakfasts are also available, from Continental up to Full English every morning in the Millingbrook Restaurant for all our Millingbrook Lodge guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge

Address: High Street | Forest of Dean, Aylburton GL15 6DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Aylburton
Price Range: RM343 - RM392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles donnar15, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother.”
 of 5 bubbles 924ianb, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 8 of the lodge which looks out towards the pub.”
  • Family room
 of 5 bubbles 235RobL, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are room further back from the road which are probably better.”
 of 5 bubbles mitchellbenhur, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Please just visit as i have no complaints, you need to experience the welcome and service the staff provide, we will 100% be going back”
 of 5 bubbles mmcar39, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay