We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Casa Maderas Ecolodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Casa Maderas Ecolodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was the perfect place to finish a nica vacation. It's extremely clean, quiet and peaceful. The restaurant had a good variety and big portions. Management was extremely accommodating with my continually changing plans. Playas Maderas and Marsella are both a 10-15 min walk away. The pool and grounds are beautifully cleaned and maintained. The rooms are airy and you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This was my second time staying at Casa Maderas. I stayed for 2 weeks after traveling from the north of Nicaragua for 1 month. I decided to come back after my great experience the first time and it was no different. the location was great with shuttles to and from the beach if i was too lazy to walk the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blake S
CasaMaderas, General Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and telling other travelers how special and unforgetful it was to you. We are so happy that you came back after one month travelling in Nicaragua and still enjoyed your stay. I will tell our staff about your kind words and tell Monica about your complements....

Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Cash grab. Pay for every little amenitie that you could think of.. Upon arrival the pool was not swim able, it was so dirty. Horrible staff, not helpful. Getting back into town is headache. And shuttles to and from town are timed ridiculous. Last shuttle up at night is 4pm. The restaurant is WAY over priced and the food is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coreenj981
CasaMaderas, Owner at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

So sorry you had to experience this way. By reading your comment I was really surprised you even stayed the 2 nights? In fact you could have left the next day and ask for a refund based on your ‘horrible experience’, the more I read your comment the more I don’t understand why you stayed the second day. ABOUT PRICES:...

Versoix, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 August 2016

My two teenage children and I stayed here for four nights. We upgraded to a cabin, which gave us plenty of room with the extra beds and space. The area was so peaceful, whilst also being full of backpackers, so a communal feel to it as well. The pool was excellent as we're all the hammocks and garden area generally....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
CasaMaderas, General Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your insights about Casa Maderas, it means a lot to us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed so much our hotel during 4 days, our facilities and restaurant and thank you for your nice comments about our pool and relaxed atmosphere. We try our best to make our guests feel at home and help them find what...

Reviewed 18 August 2016

Casa Maderas is a beautifully designed set of lodges, set out to feel like a small village. The pool area is beautiful, and the lodges very comfortable and well looked after. We were not sure that we would be comfortable without air conditioning, but the well designed lodges were always cool inside. The staff were always extremely helpful, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dene W
CasaMaderas, General Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your insights about Casa Maderas, it means a lot to us. We are very happy that you enjoyed so much our hotel & facilities and thank you for your nice comments about our staff, they are very rewarding. We are also delighted to hear that you found the food at our onsite restaurant 'outstanding'. We try our...

Caye Caulker, Belize
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Maderas for 6 nights. The highlight was the yoga, my partner and I did at least one class a day with Monica for a week. We enjoyed the classes immensely and kept coming back for more! Monica is a brilliant teacher, able to cater the classes to our needs (both beginner and more experienced)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jakdunstan
CasaMaderas, General Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy your enjoyed your week vacation at Casa Maderas, and especially your Yoga classes with Monica. She is indeed very knowledgeable and a great teacher. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 12 August 2016

After reading all the comments on TripAdvisor I thought this would be my favourite hotel of our trip, but unfortunately this wasn't the case. The pro's: - Price - The views: although no sea side views, you have a wonderful view inland - The yoga platform - The staff at the reception Cons: - The beds are small, I know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie D
CasaMaderas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. In spite of your deception, we are happy that you could enjoy our location surrounded by nature and beautiful views of the green sceneries, particularly from our yoga studio located up the hill. We are also glad that you consider our rates and our reception staff as assets. We do our best to offer...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Maderas is a great beach for surfing and Casa maderas lodge is just beside: a very comfortable lodge (especially the suite, well worth it) with great food and amazing staff. We stayed 3 days & loved it. Side note that the road to maderas beach and lodge is very bumpy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgervais1976
CasaMaderas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable place and our location, just a few minutes ride from Maderas Beach, one of the best surf breaks in Nicaragua. The dirt road is indeed quite bumpy as most of the roads to beaches and remote places in Nicaragua, and there is a hill to go...

Reviewed 4 August 2016

Casa Maderas is very beautiful, has a nice pool, the staff is lovely, and you can easily walk to the beach from there. I stayed here with three friends, and we had a great time, particularly because of the surf lessons. The teacher, Alfredo, was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and kind. He stayed with us for a long time, and gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eline v
CasaMaderas, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with travelers. We are very happy you liked our hotel. Indeed our surf teacher Alfredo is an expert with many years of experience. Our guests really appreciate his classes. Sorry if the restaurant food was a bit expensive for you, we know as a fact that our prices are competitive compared to other similar...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights: it was the best way to kick off our vacations.The place is clean and quiet,remote enough to feel the back country but at the same time, you get to eat well at the restaurant and take advantage of the pool after a day at the beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisglan1
CasaMaderas, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your 6 nights stay with us. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time here. Being located in the countryside, a 20 min ride away from the commotion of San Juan del Sur, we are surrounded by nature, and yet only a 10 min...

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maderas
0.8 km away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
132 reviews
2.6 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.2 km away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
#2 of 2 in Playa Maderas
138 reviews
5.3 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
273 reviews
7.9 km away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#17 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
CASA MADERAS welcomes you in its authentic Nicaraguan country style accommodation. Casa Maderas is an affordable nature-friendly hotel located 9kms North of San Juan del Sur accessed by affordable daily shuttles. It is only a 10 min. Walk from a world-renowned surf break, Maderas Beach, making it a perfect place for surfers to experience great waves! Our hotel is ideal for solo travelers, couples, families or friends desiring to sit back and relax, away from the commotion of downtown San Juan del Sur. The songs of the bristling winds, singing birds, and howling monkeys will surround you. Our little piece of heaven offers you a wide range of services and activities such as surf lessons & rentals, yoga, zip-lining, sailing, fishing, horseback riding and sea-turtle expeditions. On site, you can enjoy affordable meals of international and local cuisine or refreshing fresh fruit smoothies at our Bar and Restaurant's terrace overlooking our large swimming pool. There is no kitchen available for guest use. Our restaurant is open for breakfast beginning at 7:30am and open through until 9:00pm. Breakfast is not complimentary. Chill in one of the many hammocks we have all over the property or lounge by the pool. Challenge your friends to a volleyball match in the pool. Come and enjoy the breathtaking view of the countryside at our splendid open air Yoga studio on the top of the hill. We also invite you to visit our Eco-Pavilion where you can find out about our nature-friendly initiatives. Our hotel consists of 24 rooms for 1 to 6 people. Each room is fitted with comfortable beds, new mattresses, mosquito nets, a bathroom, ceiling fan(s) and locker(s) (please bring your own padlock). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Maderas Ecolodge

Address: Playa Maderas road | 200 Meter From the Junction, Playa Maderas, San Juan del Sur 47000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Maderas
Price Range: RM187 - RM334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Maderas Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Maderas Ecolodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa Maderas Ecolodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in San Jaun”
 of 5 bubbles coreenj981, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is no AC so be prepared. The room are equipt with ceiling fans, but short power outages in the location are common due to the heat.”
 of 5 bubbles clowdarling, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“rooms higher up on the hill have the best views and more breeze”
 of 5 bubbles GiliGirlie, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own food to avoid getting sick.”
 of 5 bubbles CanadianRyanAndMel, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Some cabins are one above the other. Take the top one , otherwise you will hear your neighbor walking up .”
 of 5 bubbles 611isa, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay