We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Casa Maderas Ecolodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Casa Maderas Ecolodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Maderas Ecolodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 184: English reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Amazing place. The staffs is awesome and the guy who works at the bar (Pierre) is doing an amazing job. He's really friendly and he's giving a great service just like everybody who's working there. Just a cool place to hangout!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
casaoro906, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your rewarding words regarding Casa Maderas and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff made it even better. We make everything we can to help customers finding what they need and we will continue in that direction. Thank you again for your...

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Great place. Not far from the beach for surfing, has its own immense pool and the accommodation is great. Pierre and the staff are all mighty excellent. The food is some of the best in the area. The vegetarian burritos are so naughty. Would definitely recommend this place. Quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
casaoro906, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your insights about Casa Maderas, they mean a lot to us. We are really happy that you loved the hotelfacilitiesas well as the location. We are pleased that you loved the Lucky Monkey Restaurant because we are really proud of our healthy choices and of our fresh products, especially all the herbs that we grow in our...

Reviewed 17 December 2016

This was an awesome place to stay! walking distance to everything going on including the best surf around. A Major shout out goes out to Pierre, who was always a pleasure to run into during the day. He manages the bar and kitchen and is always willing to entertain! He's definitely good for a laugh or two before you get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
casaoro906, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

All the staff really appreciated your beautiful comment about our team and the location. We do our best to create a peaceful, friendly and lovely atmosphere for all our guests. We are also happy that you enjoyed Maderas beach, located at only 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel or you can just hop on a free shuttle. Thank you again...

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

All the employees are super accommodating, friendly and sincerely working for you to have a wonderful stay. Pier, the restaurant manager is great. He's informative, organized and personable. Casa Maderas could use more frequent room cleaning, towel changes and they don't provide beach towels which is a bummer. Overall a tranquil, peaceful place that I would recommend to my friends...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
casaoro906, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you sharing your experience with us and other travellers. We are thrilled that you loved your experience, especially regarding our staff. We will continue in that direction so that everyone can have a good experience as good as was yours. We are very sorry we could not provide a beach towel, based on past experiences beach towels always come...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Awesome place, the pool was a nice change from the beach and the staff is very welcoming. Pierre is dope, his BBQ Chicken is primo. Short hike to the beach, which has 3 restaurants/bars with everything you need. You can also rent surfboards here, and the shuttle is convenient. Enjoyed my stay would comeback again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Proalicious
casaoro906, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, it means a lot to us. We are located very close from the beach and you are right, our large pool offers a relaxing alternative to the beach. We are thrilled that you liked it and that the staff made your stay even better. You are welcome back with us at any time and it...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited this place by total accident. We were heading to playa madera and we saw their prices listed right outside their main entrance. We just needed a place to crash and shower. It ended up being an awesome friendly place. Prices totally affordable. Their food was excellent. The place as clean, quiet and relaxing. My husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kokolizo12
casaoro906, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking your time to make a comment about your improvised stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay and indeed would have enjoyed even more during a longer stay. Since the hotel is located in a mountain area, it is a good thing to bring your repellant. We have really good mosquito nets...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

This place has great staff and a fantastic set up. The yoga studio at the top of the hill is in the perfect spot, with it's view of beautiful forest as you get sweaty and stretchy. The pool in the middle makes for a great spot to sun tan and socialize with all the other traveling guests. I enjoyed spending...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brozzss
casaoro906, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you had a good stay in our hostel. There are lots of good comments about the perfect location of the yoga studio because it offers a really beautiful view on the mountains. We are glad that you had a pleasantstay with us, it is a really friendly hotel and we make everything we can to make...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

This was the perfect place to finish a nica vacation. It's extremely clean, quiet and peaceful. The restaurant had a good variety and big portions. Management was extremely accommodating with my continually changing plans. Playas Maderas and Marsella are both a 10-15 min walk away. The pool and grounds are beautifully cleaned and maintained. The rooms are airy and you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
CasaMaderas, General Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

So happy you had a great time, and mostly that you appreciated our efforts in offering the best service possible. Thank you for your specific, clear and descriptive comments, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in many ways. Hope you travel again in Nicaragua and come by Casa Maderas in the future.

Reviewed 30 September 2016

This was my second time staying at Casa Maderas. I stayed for 2 weeks after traveling from the north of Nicaragua for 1 month. I decided to come back after my great experience the first time and it was no different. the location was great with shuttles to and from the beach if i was too lazy to walk the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blake S
CasaMaderas, General Manager at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and telling other travelers how special and unforgetful it was to you. We are so happy that you came back after one month travelling in Nicaragua and still enjoyed your stay. I will tell our staff about your kind words and tell Monica about your complements....

Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Cash grab. Pay for every little amenitie that you could think of.. Upon arrival the pool was not swim able, it was so dirty. Horrible staff, not helpful. Getting back into town is headache. And shuttles to and from town are timed ridiculous. Last shuttle up at night is 4pm. The restaurant is WAY over priced and the food is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coreenj981
CasaMaderas, Owner at Casa Maderas Ecolodge, responded to this review

So sorry you had to experience this way. By reading your comment I was really surprised you even stayed the 2 nights? In fact you could have left the next day and ask for a refund based on your ‘horrible experience’, the more I read your comment the more I don’t understand why you stayed the second day. ABOUT PRICES:...

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maderas
0.8 km away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
139 reviews
2.6 km away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.7 km away
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
#3 of 3 in Playa Maderas
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
406 reviews
7.9 km away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
268 reviews
5.3 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
CASA MADERAS welcomes you in its authentic Nicaraguan country style accommodation. Casa Maderas is an affordable nature-friendly hotel located 9kms North of San Juan del Sur accessed by affordable daily shuttles. It is only a 10 min. Walk from a world-renowned surf break, Maderas Beach, making it a perfect place for surfers to experience great waves! Our hotel is ideal for solo travelers, couples, families or friends desiring to sit back and relax, away from the commotion of downtown San Juan del Sur. The songs of the bristling winds, singing birds, and howling monkeys will surround you. Our little piece of heaven offers you a wide range of services and activities such as surf lessons & rentals, yoga, zip-lining, sailing, fishing, horseback riding and sea-turtle expeditions. On site, you can enjoy affordable meals of international and local cuisine or refreshing fresh fruit smoothies at our Bar and Restaurant's terrace overlooking our large swimming pool. There is no kitchen available for guest use. Our restaurant is open for breakfast beginning at 7:30am and open through until 9:00pm. Breakfast is not complimentary. Chill in one of the many hammocks we have all over the property or lounge by the pool. Challenge your friends to a volleyball match in the pool. Come and enjoy the breathtaking view of the countryside at our splendid open air Yoga studio on the top of the hill. We also invite you to visit our Eco-Pavilion where you can find out about our nature-friendly initiatives. Our hotel consists of 24 rooms for 1 to 6 people. Each room is fitted with comfortable beds, new mattresses, mosquito nets, a bathroom, ceiling fan(s) and locker(s) (please bring your own padlock). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Maderas Ecolodge

Address: Playa Maderas road | 200 Meter From the Junction, Playa Maderas, San Juan del Sur 47000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Maderas
Price Range: RM173 - RM195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Casa Maderas Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Maderas Ecolodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa Maderas Ecolodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seems to be nice. No hot water, bring your own beauty supplies.”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in San Jaun”
 of 5 bubbles coreenj981, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is no AC so be prepared. The room are equipt with ceiling fans, but short power outages in the location are common due to the heat.”
 of 5 bubbles clowdarling, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“rooms higher up on the hill have the best views and more breeze”
 of 5 bubbles GiliGirlie, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own food to avoid getting sick.”
 of 5 bubbles CanadianRyanAndMel, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5