We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ocean Park Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ocean Park Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Firstly we didn't get a room set up we were promised, that didn't make our stay enjoyable. Dogs, cats and monkeys made us very uncomfortable which we were not aware of. We were overcharged for services we never used for a child. The staff and food was great though :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 337roses
oceanpark2015, Manager at Ocean Park Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Rose, I'm sorry you were unhappy with your stay. I did explain about the room change before your arrival. You were not overcharged at all - you had a 50% discount off our normal rate and when purchasing the voucher for your stay it was quite clearly stated that there was an additional payment for children - which was... More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Lana and her staff was amazing. The garden was beautiful and we felt so at home. Errol and I loved every bit of it. They are doing a wonderful job in making it an unbelievable experience. The chef on duty did every well and the rooms had a lovely touch with flowers in the towels and chocolate on the pillows... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SANatural
oceanpark2015, Manager at Ocean Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your awesome review! I hope we get another opportunity to impress you :-) Best wishes. Lana More 

Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Place was well maintained, helpful staff and great food, a nice quiet and tranquil place.for a relaxing time this is the place to be. Ample parking, close proximity to shops, and beaches, would recommend this place to anybody

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dayeng2016
oceanpark2015, Manager at Ocean Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks a million ... we hope to see you again soon! More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Very friendly, helpful and professional staff who go the extra mile. Delicious food and beautiful and clean facilities. Excellent management from the owner. A relaxing environment and home away from home.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank louiso537
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Great family retreat. Food is Awesome on need to eat out. Hostess was really good. Close to Durban. Croc World a must see. Nearby beaches are clean and safe but not for swimming. Scottsborght is very close and has great swimming beaches

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank davidgZ4977PU
oceanpark2015, Manager at Ocean Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review .. see you next time! Lana More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
206 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016

A friend and I spent 2 nights here. Firstly, if you don't dive, golf or fish, there is absolutely nothing to do in Umkomaas. Not the establishment's fault we made a bad choice. A special vegetarian dinner prepared for us the first night was delicious. Breakfast, however, was very uninspired. A sort of apple, mostly fruit salad, and muffins so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HelenZA
oceanpark2015, Manager at Ocean Park Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Many thanks for your review. I'm sorry you were not entirely happy ... we try our best to do our best and have noted your comments. Thanks for the positive comments also. Best wishes. Lana More 

London
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Stayed one night. Very low cost. Smallish rooms but still great value. Incredibly nice lady who runs the place. I'd have no hesitation in recommending it. Great breakfast. Ukomaas itself is quiet but the guest house is fine.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gilesguest
oceanpark2015, Manager at Ocean Park Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Giles. Thanks so much for the lovely review!! I hope you enjoyed your safari :-) and that we get to see you again! Take care. Lana More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Best place to stay in Umkomaas. I've been here many times and I always come back. the staff is very friendly. rooms are large and comfortable. WIFI quick and free. Be sure to eat here since dinner is good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 133bot
oceanpark2015, Manager at Ocean Park Guest House, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks so much for your review ... always great to have you here and I look forward to the next visit! Best wishes always. Lana More 

Durban
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2016

The stay was nice,food up to excellent standard,rooms are spacious the one in the main house,the outer ones are not up to standard,even the floor is not tiled,there must be improvements in outer rooms

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gladnessm2016
oceanpark2015, Manager at Ocean Park Guest House, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you were happy and enjoyed the meals. Comments about the outer rooms are noted - we will be doing upgrades to all rooms over the next year or so. I hope to see you again! Lana More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2016

its a beautiful place away from the hustle and bustle of the city all calm and relaxed and the hospitality was awesome. its a great place to take a loved one to take in the view, and friendly people..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tshepom499
oceanpark2015, Manager at Ocean Park Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Tshepo, Thanks so much :-) It was lovely having you here and I look forward to the next time! Best always .. Lana More 

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umkomaas
8.9 km away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
147 reviews
10.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
21.4 km away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Umkomaas Guest House
Umkomaas Guest House
#4 of 8 in Umkomaas
32 reviews
7.5 km away
The Dugong Guest House
The Dugong Guest House
#1 of 3 in Scottburgh
33 reviews
22.3 km away
305 Guest House
305 Guest House
#1 of 25 in Amanzimtoti
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Umkomaas on the KwaZulu-Natal south coast, lies our appealing guesthouse, which is a true oasis for any traveller. Featuring spectacular views, peaceful atmosphere, and friendly service, we offer visitors unbeatable location for scuba diving on Aliwal Shoal which is considered a top ten dive site. From here you are a short walk away from our beaches, as well as any shops, restaurants or activities you could want. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Park Guest House

Address: No 12 Robinson Street, Umkomaas 4170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umkomaas
Price Range: RM250 - RM308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Park Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Park Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay the extra charge R100 for two single beds in your room-they are huge and so comfortable to sleep on!”
 of 5 bubbles 724ashlynd, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Room 7 has two comfortable single beds, no particular views”
 of 5 bubbles C6133ETashleyc, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“you need a rental car if you want to stay in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Aziz172, 21 Nov 2013 | Read review
“room #2 is the best. Corner room with windows on two sides, far away from kitchen (and early morning breakfast), nice view on the patio from your bed and a huge (!) walk in shower.”
  • Desk and Couch
  • Hotel Room
  • Plenty of parking
 of 5 bubbles RaymondL199, 27 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Check the website. We loved room 2”
 of 5 bubbles SheilaD124, 27 Nov 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay