We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“main street”(5 reviews)
“afternoon tea”(12 reviews)
“superior room”(4 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
177
68
19
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
177
68
19
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain streetafternoon teasuperior roomsunday carverywholesome foodmixed grillon arrivalvery friendly and helpful stafffriendly hotelroast beefulster fryfew monthsfew drinkspeasvisited this hotelno hesitation in recommendingfeel very welcome
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We met up with family at this hotel today and we’re not disappointed. The food was delicious; piping hot and lots to eat. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and did everything they possibly could to ensure our meal was enjoyable. Sadly, we were unable...More

Thank David W
Response from TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Royal HotelResponded 4 days ago

Dear David, Thank you very much for your feedback. We're delighted to see that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the service you received. It's always our priority to ensure guests feel as relaxed and welcome as possible so it's great to see...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We frequently visit the Royal for the Sunday carvery and we always get a lovely tasty lunch with plenty of variety and we visit for an occasional evening meal served in the dining room which is equally as good. The building has had an recent...More

Thank loughfeabells
Response from TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Royal HotelResponded 4 days ago

Dear Loughfeabells, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted to see that you have been consistently pleased with what we offer at The Royal Hotel. We appreciate you mentioning our recent improvements and hope that we'll see you again for another...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovley cosy enviroment in the bar area. Food is really good and excellent quality with plenty to choose from on the menu. Staff could be a bit more attentive towards tables when checking/waiting to order. Lovely garden smoking area at the back.More

Thank missmtt
Response from TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Royal HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear missmtt, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. We're delighted to see that you enjoyed our food and surroundings in the Lounge. Apologies that you found the service slightly lower than our usual high standards - your comments will be forwarded to the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on business and was a bit underwhelmed....Hotel room was nice and clean and a good hot shower...that said the carpets on the stairs to the rooms are really dirty, reception staff very cool and bathroom / room tiled floor so slippy I fell....More

Thank Woolpackcottage
Response from TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Royal HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Woolpackcottage, Thank you for leaving feedback following your stay. We are very disappointed that you did not fully enjoy all aspects of your experience at The Royal Hotel. We are currently undergoing an extensive renovation programme throughout the hotel with many areas recently completed....More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Just had enough of the the mis steak sandwich; couldn’t finish it....you can’t have the sauce separately and now I know why....it’s covers all the fat on the steak! This was simply rubbish and the pepper sauce was disgusting. AVOIDMore

Thank Paul R
Response from TheRoyalHotel, Reception at Royal HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paul, Thank you for your review. We are surprised and disappointed to see that you didn’t enjoy your meal. Our steak sandwich is indeed quite a substantial portion so it is not unusual that you were unable to finish it. The dish cannot be...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$94 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$94 - US$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DarrenHehir
6 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from TheRoyalHotel | Property representative |
Hi Darren, we would be delighted to work with you on your flexible dates. please contact reception directly on 02886762224 for best long term rates
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Not sure because we didn’t stay overnight."
Read review
"If there are 3 or 4 then room 12 is great 2 singles and a double with a door to close for privacy"
Read review
"All 3 rooms we got were of equal quality."
Read review
"I believe all rooms are on the first floor anyway."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing