We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Avarest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avarest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avarest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2014

i stayed at the averest in november 2013 although the owners where away there daughters made me very welcome room was clean and very comfortable the breakfast was large and fresh i dont know what some people expect [slaves] i was happy im going back in march with friends well worth a stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamworthjohn
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I only stayed for one night during quiet season. Owners were away but the place was adequately looked after by a friendly young lady who I believe was the owner's daughter. She served a great breakfast in an expeditious manner. The place was clean but a bit tired but that is to be expected with a building of this age....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank one_wandering_celt
Antrim
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed at the Avarest after the Coleraine v Glentoran game ,the room i had was excellent large bed all to myself ,spotless bathroom with a hot powerfull shower ,breakfast was superb ,full cooked Ulster fry with toast ,cereal ,tea ,coffee ,the young girl who looked after us was a credit to her parents who i believe own the guest house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wamjimjam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a lovely stay here......Location is perfect....3 minute stroll down to the harbour, where theres a lovely pub serving a splendid pint of Guinness together with high quality eateries to suit all tastes and budgets......The room was cosy with a lovely clean en suite....and had everything you would expect from a quality hotel. The staff were warm and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcm987
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B last week and were very disappointed in that breakfast was supposed to be served from 8:30 am to 10:00 am. We waited in the study until 9:40 am an no one ever came to cook breakfast let alone open the dining room. The temperature outside was close to 80 degrees and they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julia L
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this review

Firstly we really must apologise for your experience. The B&B was not due to be open due to our wedding anniversary, but due to an error the booking system was not booked out and your booking came in. Rather than relocate you our daughter decided she would look after things. We are very sorry that she slept in on that...

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Good location near the Portrush harbor, but that is about the extent of our positivie remarks. Avarest House has very dark, old, creaky halls, stairs and rooms with torn, raveled carpeting. Owners have made no effort to update the place or to make you feel welcome, they hide behind a door in a small closet. They have kept up with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jackin2009
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this review

Must say not surprised by your review in the slightest. We try to accommodate everyone, but it is not possible in reality to please everyone. We know you had a problem about not getting a sea view like your friends and if it had been possible to do so we would have, in hindsight we should have gave you all...

Belfast
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Perfect location. Very good value-we got a great rate online. Good breakfast and a few wee welcome extras in the room. Very good indeed. The rooms were finished to a really high standard. The mattresses were good quality and we slept really well. We're looking forward to getting another weekend there soon.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen M
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed for NW200 with two children and we really enjoyed it. Weather was great until race day when it chucked it down but plenty of heaters in room to dry us out. Excellent B&B. Large room and all the breakfast you wanted. Host couldnt do enough for us. Would go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim H
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The location is great, the staff is friendly, breakfast is authentic and above average, internet works in some areas of the hotel, but worked fine in my room. I stayed in room #8, which was quiet, a perfect temperature, and the bed was fine. The toilet wouldn't flush properly (didn't have enough suction to clear it), but the bathroom with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tcamp0000
spollock, Owner at Avarest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our home. We know you guys all had a great time golfing for dad's 70th birthday. Just to address some of your points, we know your father had a problem with light in his bathroom and so when it was pointed out the bulbs were energy saving and took longer to light...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in June and it was lovely. We had paid for a room with a sea-view and it lived up to expectations. We were able to look out over the harbour and the beach. There was a table and 2 chairs beside the window which meant my husband and I were able...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phyllis M

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portrush hotels
0.1 km away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 9 in Portrush
890 reviews
0.1 km away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 9 in Portrush
645 reviews
1.9 km away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 9 in Portrush
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Port Hotel
The Port Hotel
#7 of 9 in Portrush
247 reviews
0.1 km away
Pier39Portrush
Pier39Portrush
#2 of 30 in Portrush
71 reviews
0.2 km away
Albany Lodge
Albany Lodge
#4 of 30 in Portrush
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Avarest is a victorian Town House set in the centre of Portrush. Minutes to all amenities, free unrestricted parking on street. All rooms ensuite, some sporting superb ocean views. Special diets catered for , vegetarian, gluten free, lacto intolerant. A short drive to Giants Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avarest House

Address: 64 Mark Street, Portrush BT56 8BU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Portrush
Price Range: RM276 - RM442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avarest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avarest House Portrush, County Antrim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avarest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Avarest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view is worth the little extra.”
 of 5 bubbles S366ACmarting, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles georgewK5030QG, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floor sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 915IanC, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We paid a bit extra to have a room with a sea view and thought this was worthwhile!”
 of 5 bubbles JoSwarbrick, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room at front”
 of 5 bubbles Junie180, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5