We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abbeydale Hotel

Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (5)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
**For best rates always book direct with the hotel** Now Under New Ownership, Donna, Keith & the family welcome you to The Abbeydale. We offer an 11, all en suite bedroom property, with guest lounge, Bar & dining/breakfast room, we offer a home from home style property where you are free to come and go. Should you have any queries, Donna & Keith are on hand to help. We do have set opening and closing times, but you will also receive a set of keys to your own entrance, We are providing good Quality homely accommodation, we are updating the hotel, please see our new photo album to see some of the changes made so far, more to come & we are just a short walk from Chesterfield Town Centre with free private parking and free WiFi. The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only a short 10 minutes walk away from the bustling town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. Don't forget to book our superb unlimited breakfast its only £6.95.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Classic
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
76Somewhat walkable
Grade: 76 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
6Attractionswithin 0.5 km
253Reviews
46Photos
4Q+A
36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 177
  • 53
  • 16
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Our 5th or 6th stay in the Abbeydale to visit family locally! We wouldn't stay anywhere else now, as we feel so at home. Nothing is too much trouble for Donna and Keith. Well equipped, clean rooms with comfy beds. The best breakfast ever and real value for money. Just a short
Read more
Stayed here for two nights. Although they do not open reception until 4pm the person minding the desk called us in when she saw us sitting in our car at 3.15pm (we had planned to go for a walk but it was raining). Room was very comfortable, tastefully decorated and bright. TV in
Read more
Be aware that there is a late check in of 4.00pm.we arrived at around 3 pm we thought that was adequate,that was entirely our fault not checking online!there is nothing around the hotel,it’s 10 min or so walk into the town centre.expected a nice soak but no bath.room&bathroom
Read more
Response from abbeydalechesterfied, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the review... Next time it would be an idea that you do read where you are booking, that is what most do, read info like what time the hotel opens etc, our welcome book has all the info you would need about the area, where to go, and yes rules and regulations, if you don't like rules and regulations I suggest you open your own hotel and then see how many you need to put in place and how quickly!!!. You were obviously bored enough to count the time took to read it from front to back, As for the 4pm check in, this suits everyone & have not had a complaint about this until now. I notice you did not mention any of this on check out when you were asked if all had been ok, no, you wait till you have left and then wrote a review. I suggest you book elsewhere next time, as you can see from 99% of our reviews, everyone is very happy, we cannot please everyone though, it seems you would find something to moan about wherever you go, we are located 8 mins walk from the town, a 5 minute walk to the local restaurant where you could have had lunch and drinks, as for the £50 you paid for the room, I'm not sure how that is expensive for a room with all the extras, new bed also, did you ask for a room with a bath, No, you did not, could you have upgraded your room to one with a bath, Yes but didn't wish to pay extra. Nothing wrong with the bathroom in 15, its is long with a full size shower, sink and loo, fluffy white towels and all the little free complimentary items you could need. If you find a hotel closer to the town for less than £50 let me know.
Read more
Needed a base for family visit to Chesterfield. Rooms are very clean, en-suite, beds comfortable. TV and WiFi etc 10 minutes walk to City Centre. Breakfasts cooked to order, very nice dining area. Great value.
Read more
Response from abbeydalechesterfied, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely review, see you next time.
Read more
Friendly welcome and taken to my room which exceeded my expectations for the price - Extra clean and well presented with loads of Tea, Coffee, milk and even biscuits - Very comfortable and well presented room with a quality bed that allowed me an excellent nights sleep -
Read more
Response from abbeydalechesterfied, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review, we are very happy to see you have enjoyed your stay so much. We will take a look at the coffee machine but believe the company that own them do set them to a temperature that does not cause burns etc, or maybe it was just having an off day. Thanks again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
bedroom
Single room
PreviousNext
123456
Are you near Brampton
Do you have ground floor bedrooms for elderly people who walk with a stick?
Do you have ground floor bedrooms for elderly people who walk with a stick?
Yes they have a few Ground floor bedrooms
0 votes
Show all answers
"Room 2 on ground floor with easy access to car park through side door."
"Car park on site."
"The stairs are very narrow and it is difficult to lug suitcases upstairs. Ask for rooms downstairs"
"Don't stay here!"
"If a couple, ask for Room 2 - it's a good size."
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandChesterfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing