We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Peacock Bakewell

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 410: English reviews
Start your review of The Peacock Bakewell
 Click to rate
Brough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great rooms, very clean nicely decorated and well equiped ours had a four poster and large flat screen tv with Netflix etc tea making etc compact but very cozy.modern en suite with walk in shower nice fresh clean towels daily .very friendly and helpful staff nothing too much trouble throughout our 3 night stay. fantastic pub food with great choice...

1Thank wh00pee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights just after Easter, Mid week break for me and wife. Excellent accommodation, room was newly refurbished to the highest of standards, fantastic bed, modern bathroom, large smart screen tv , all top notch. Staff were brilliant,nothing too much trouble,ate in on first night, quality food at reasonable prices, then there is the breakfast. . . Wow...

1Thank Ian B
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We had a good time in Bakewell.The room was good with comfortable bed and lovely linen and towels.The breakfast was excellent.The staff were good.Just one problem the car parking. Very central to Bakewell.

2Thank Den J
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Staff rude and unwelcoming on arrival, no one smiled or even said hello for the entire 24 hours of our stay. We waited 20 mins to be able to check in. The room was tiny, hot and really uncomfortable. The bed was hard. Not what was expected for £145. The only redeeming feature was the shower, until I used it....

17Thank Jenny W
thepeacockbakewell, Excuses change nothing, but make everyone feel better, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

No- one was rude on your arrival Jenny W, I repeat no-one.... It was unfortunate you arrived when the Peacock was extremely busy and with all due respect we cannot simply turn our attention to you the moment you walk through the door when there are so many other customers that also need to be given our attention and be...

Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of a combined business / family trip and booked the Peacock rather than a local hotel. We were very glad we did - it was superb. We arrived late at night after a 6 hour drive and the management were extremely welcoming, even changing our room as we had originally booked one...

Thank DucatiBiposto
Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights 10 & 11 March fabulous food which was well presented, using quality ingredients and very good portion sizes. Excellent service which was attentive without being intrusive, polite helpful and friendly staff, nothing was any trouble. looking forward to a return visit.

1Thank genarothwell
thepeacockbakewell, To succeed in life you need three things - a wishbone, a backbone and a funny bone, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Thank for your complimentary comments genarothwell - they are well supported with the quality rooms we have on offer at the Peacock, find me better in a B & B and I will honestly pay for them, such is our trust and belief in the product we endorse! Foods good too or as you put it fabulous, so all in...

Reviewed 27 February 2017

Stayed for 3 nights Fri - Mon on arrival car park was full but staff member shorted out a space for us straight away, we booked in & was shown to room 3 which was spotless clean with lovely decor, we had a four poster bed (very comfy) en suite shower and also a big bath which I had a...

1Thank Karen M
thepeacockbakewell, We become wiser by adversity; prosperity destroys our appreciation of the right, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Once again we satisfy our customers demands as in the case of Karen M and we thank you humbly for stating the facts of your stay with us!. The rooms here at the Peacock are amazing and if it's a Pub B & B you are looking for I confess you need not look no further! Great review so many...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Very well located in the heart of Bakewell but away from the road & has on site parking. Our room was in a small building alongside the main pub and was top quality, modern, comfortable & very clean. We stayed one night but would have been happy to stay longer in this contemporary room. We eat in the pub in...

Thank DecandClaire
thepeacockbakewell, Quality is not an act, it is a habit, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

We pride ourselves with Quality Rooms and Dining DecandClaire, so thanks for letting the readers know. You say it all in your review, so i'll just shut up until you return the next time! Thank you

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic location right in the centre of scenic Bakewell with everything you can ask for right on the doorstep. Lovely staff especially the waiter who simply cannot do enough to help, he clearly loves every minute of his job. Food was fantastic, maybe a bit pricey but can't complain considering the surroundings which were to die for. Rooms were modern...

6Thank Ballbag101
thepeacockbakewell, Neither irony or sarcasm is argument, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

The Breakfasts at the Peacock have never been £40, they actually come free, no charge, complimentary, free gratis if you book direct with us at the Peacock but if you in our opinion, foolishly book through third party websites such for example as booking.com we charge £10.95 per head, but in return you get the kitchen sink in return. Fantastic,...

Reviewed 1 December 2016

We stayed in The Peacock for 2 nights late November in the family room. This is one double bedroom and one 2xsingle bed room interconnected by the bathroom. Rooms were good, clean sheets and towels and all functioned well. As we booked direct with Breakfast was included and was excellent - good choice of cold juice and food, followed by...

1Thank BristolSteved
thepeacockbakewell, In a just cause the weak will beat the strong, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

It gives us all at the Peacock great satisfaction to receive accolades and know we have ticked all the boxes BristolSteved, so a massive thank you in appreciation for your posting! You summed up in your own words what we at the Peacock aim and strive for, so it goes without saying, another massive thanks!

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (31)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (4)
Dining (5)
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (113)
Double En Suite (16)
Dining (37)
Superior Double (17)
Superior Four Poster (20)
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (6)
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.3 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
376 reviews
0.2 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.1 km away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
2.7 km away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
204 reviews
3.3 km away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Price Range: RM625 - RM1,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peacock Bakewell staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Torquay, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Peacock Bakewell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 four poster”
wh00pee, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Good choice of rooms,couples,family, romantic the choice is yours!”
ianbG1440ZF, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 was very comfortable”
DecandClaire, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in an annex which only had one other room so it was lovely and quiet”
C4618MQchristinec, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Can't comment. Ours overlooked the car park. Not great.”
Classylady61, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$127* /night
View Deal
View all 6 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates