We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Peacock Bakewell

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Peacock Bakewell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 409: English reviews
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Lovely old place right in the centre of town with a small first come first served car park but free parking if you can get in - we stayed on the Christmas/farmers market w/end so paid more than we would usually pay - the rooms in the outbuildings are lacking in natural light & not laid out very well (try...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CORTINA1600E
thepeacockbakewell, An old raincoat will never let you down, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

You know sometimes you simply cannot win as in this case, as CORTINA1600E comes as is I feel his common want, and posts what is in all honesty a nice review of his time spent at the Peacock in Bakewell on what was an insanely busy weekend in Bakewell - especially in November, yes November folks, but still finds time,...

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Peacock for 2 nights and had a thoroughly lovely time. The food is amazing, we both choose from the specials board on the Friday night and the Saturday. The staff made our stay all the better, great chats and looked after us for the whole stay. I wanted to write this as so many people just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 186386Anne1234
thepeacockbakewell, Kind words can be short and easy to speak, but their echoes are truly endless, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Wow, when 186386Anne1234 aka Jenny & John come to TripAdvisor, she really knows how to spin the top, as she posts a lovely review on the lovely time she spent together with her friend and rock John! Thanks for your thoughts as you both knocked backed the Wine, and Guinness, and Peroni and whatever we could put in a Glass...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Bakewell is a honey pot for weekend visitors and therefore rooms come at a premium. However for £149 per night for a double room without breakfast is a little steep. They have decorated the rooms in what they think are tasteful Farrow and Ball colours. I personally love their paints and use them all the time however they just haven't...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Classylady61
thepeacockbakewell, If only closed minds came with closed mouths, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

When you finish off your little ditty Classylady61 with a statement "I wouldn't recommend going to Bakewell' - then I feel we are basically on a hiding to nothing, because where is your class coming from (oh yes self opinionated), because Bakewell is a beautiful little tourist town that I can't even imagine how many people come to the Peak...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We booked the Peacock for an overnight stay before a funeral. The room was comfortable and modern, in an annexe next to the main pub. There was a good shower, the room was well heated and the wifi was free. We had a good meal in the pub in the evening and the breakfast the next morning was superb -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony B
thepeacockbakewell, Three things in human life are important-The first is to be kind. The second is to be kind. And the third is to be kind at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Tony B we are humbled as you post a complimentary review during a stressful time, so it's a brief Thank you from us, as we hopefully gave you all you could ask for, in trying times. Thank You!

London
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the peacock for 2 nights over the August bank holiday weekend. From the desciption and photos on the website we were expecting a much higher standard of service and quality of food. One of the biggest disappointments was the level of customer service. The owner was rude and when we mentioned that we were...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank JustineChris
thepeacockbakewell, Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

So no wi-fi JustinChris and we are deemed to give poor customer service..... One thing in life you possess Justin or is it Chris is a lack of a sense of humour, because I was not in the slightest rude to you when you mentioned you couldn't obtain wi-fi in your room, I was simply trying to make light of...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Had a wonderful three night stay at the Peacock at the end of July. So lucky to have managed to book in at short notice and we weren't disappointed with the room allocated. From the minute we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful even giving us tips for sightseeing in the area. We ate in throughout the duration...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John D
thepeacockbakewell, The path to cheerfulness is to sit cheerfully and to act and speak as if cheerfulness were already there, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

John D it was a pleasure to meet you, and thanks for taking the time to review your thoughts. We'll see you again hopefully another time, maybe with your friends.....

Rushden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed at The Peacock for 2 nights in July 2016 for a short trip to Bakewell. Room was clean, spacious and nicely furnished and the Peacock is centrally located in Bakewell. Didn't eat at the hotel other than for breakfast, which was included, but that too was excellent with masses of choice. Couldn't fault and would definitely stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trebor900
thepeacockbakewell, Knowledge of what is, does not open the door directly to what should be, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Trevor 900 - thank you for describing the Peacock rooms exactly as they are, and hopefully next time you visit Bakewell you will sample our lovely food, as just like the breakfast you did sample, is excellent - Thank You!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Peacock on the hottest two nights of the year with our baby and they really helped accommodate us by providing us with a fan and bringing the amazing food up to our room while the baby was asleep. The staff go out of their way to help and the food is brilliant. Perfect location for exploring...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LittleGem065
thepeacockbakewell, Ability is of little account without opportunity, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

LittleGem065 you are a little gem for posting lovely comments, but it was hot and it was the very least we could do for you and your beautiful baby! Thank you for saying it, as kind words never go a miss, from all at the Peacock!

Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We stayed 2 nights in room 4 which we immediately liked - generously sized, clean and comfy. Our friend's room on the other side of the building was less generous, apparently. Breakfast and Dinner was tasty and the menu was varied with lots of local choices. Other half's fish and chips were among best he has had. The service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilandAnna
thepeacockbakewell, You can never learn less, you can only learn more, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

A nice confident review from PhilandAnna who as stated stayed with us over a couple of nights in June. The review is testament to the rooms at the Peacock, and I doubt wether you will find better in our lovely town. Food was up to spec too - as always, so we thank you for taking time out to give...

Carmarthen
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

The Peacock is a Pub with rooms. Our Room was small with a separate bathroom . The room was not well ventilated as the exterior window was painted shut . The interior window only opened 2 inches .as a blind has been installed .There is an A/C unit to cool things down and a ceiling fan . However you can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waspie11
thepeacockbakewell, You are only as strong as your purpose, therefore let us choose reasons to act that are big, bold righteous and eternal, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Waspie11, as it's honest and to the point! I have since this review being posted freed the painted up exterior window, as it was only recently painted, (we do keep up to date with maintenance), and is now free to open up and down quite freely. The Air Con was actually installed for the purpose...

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (113)
Viewed
Double En Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Superior Double (17)
Viewed
Superior Four Poster (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.3 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
369 reviews
0.2 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.1 km away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 47 in Bakewell
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
2.7 km away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
202 reviews
3.3 km away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Price Range: RM623 - RM1,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peacock Bakewell staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Torquay, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Peacock Bakewell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good choice of rooms,couples,family, romantic the choice is yours!”
ianbG1440ZF, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 was very comfortable”
DecandClaire, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in an annex which only had one other room so it was lovely and quiet”
C4618MQchristinec, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Can't comment. Ours overlooked the car park. Not great.”
Classylady61, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“great location”
gaz-cope, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5