We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Malt Shovel

Save
Share
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good18%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch”(5 reviews)
“open fire”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
22
7
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
22
7
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchopen firefriendly local pubthe pubwell worth a visitpedigreewarkworthlandlorddogswalkers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Called in after a day out and left it rather late for lunch but was greeted by friendly staff behind the bar. We asked if they were still serving food and we were told that they could offer us Sunday roast of the day or...More

Thank Stan M
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Sunday lunch. Choice of meats, gluten free catered for, dog friendly, excellent service. Nothing more to ask for. Went for a drink and had lunch and thoroughly enjoyed it. Not overly busy but steady flow of locals and visitors.

Thank Geoff L
Response from Karen R, Owner at The Malt ShovelResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us. We will look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 11 July 2018

Ate in the bar as the restaurant room was dingy with too many tables with oilcloths on them. Menu was on the wall. We like to sit and have a drink while studying the menu. Also the menu was different to the one on their...More

Thank campeys51
Response from Karen R, Owner at The Malt ShovelResponded 12 July 2018

We can only apologise for your disappointing visit. We keep a fairly simple menu as most of our food is homemade and fresh however our chef is extremely flexible to ensure all our diners leave happy. I understand chef went off menu to accommodate your...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Had several Sunday Lunches at the Shoval. Perfection every time. great food. cosy venue. friendly mine host and caring chef. Food at its very best.WOW!! Would recommend to anyone just give it a try any day.

Thank fwc169
Response from Karen R, Owner at The Malt ShovelResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for your kind comments. We aim to please! We look forward to seeing you again soon 😊

Reviewed 7 July 2018

We must have driven past this pub many times over the years. We called on the off chance they were serving food ,glad we did. The service was very friendly,the food was ok ,we would call again. Thanks

Thank sdmmmtc2016
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Malcolm N S
18 April 2016|
Answer
Response from lindas270452 |
12 till 8 Mon and Tues 12 till11 30 weds and Thurs 12 till12 Fri and sat 12 till 9 sun food served 12 till 7 30 Mon to sat 12 till 4 30 on sun
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing