We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glendon Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Glendon Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glendon Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

This is a lovely place and the welcome, hospitality and food were all excellent. Unfortunately, we got almost no sleep and this is an important aspect of a B and B! although we had booked a double room, we were accommodated in the family room and were kept awake all night by the sonorous chimes from the church clock opposite!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mw1504
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are very pleased you think Glendon is lovely, thank you. We want all guests to feel welcome so are pleased to read this. The room you had is both a double room and family room (although the second room where the children’s beds is closed off and separate). We put you in this room as you had originally enquired...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

I have spent three wonderful days at Glendon Guest House. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. The décor is superb - reminiscent of Downton Abbey. Adrian and Damian are the perfect hosts, and made me most welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miriam B
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We enjoyed talking to you during your time in Derbyshire visiting friends and it is lovely to hear how much you enjoyed Glendon and the area. You certainly give us something to live up to with your feedback. If you are visiting Derbyshire in the future it would be lovely to welcome you back.

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

This is the fourth time we have stayed here at Glendon House and it is still as wonderful as ever. Everything is still immaculate and fresh and Adrian couldn't have done more for us when we arrived carrying our cases to our room, providing us with coffee and cake before we went to visit my great grandson. We had asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheila787
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

It was so lovely to see you both again and we are very pleased you still think everything is excellent. We are aware that guests have many options when choosing where to stay so we are always appreciative when guests recommend us to others. We hope to see you again when visiting Derbyshire.

Reviewed 5 October 2015

We were a group of 9 Americans taking a 3 1/2 week road trip through the UK. We stayed in some wonderful places, but Glendon was the best. Absolutely beautiful rooms, and the hospitality was superb. Breakfast was perfection (best eggs benny EVER), and Adrian was ever so kind and helpful. Such a shame we were only there one night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldtrek55
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are always pleased to receive feedback and particularly when we have guests visiting from overseas. It is a shame you were not able to stay longer. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the UK. If you return again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back for a longer stay.

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

This is, I believe, a Grade 2 listed, 3 storey stone built Victorian townhouse, which has been sympathetically restored by the current owner[s]. Decor is very good, with what looks like a lot of Laura Ashley about the place. Rooms are well decorated and furnished with good quality beds and bedding, and fluffy towels! Bathrooms are clean and modern, usually...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff K
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We try to ensure that guests enjoy all aspects of their stay so your feedback is very welcome. Thank you taking the time to provide feedback.

Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

Glendon Guest House is a lovely little guest house in Matlock. Which is conveniently positioned for exploring the Peak District. The hosts are very nice with a friendly, but professional approach towards the guests. Nothing is too much trouble and they are pleased to help. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast excellent. Would definitely visit again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerald Y
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review and if you are visiting the area again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more warm, welcoming and attentive. Within minutes we were offered fresh coffee and a slice of cake which was a great way to unwind after travelling. Our room was delightful; breakfast delicious with a great selection to choose from including fresh fruit and yoghurt and a very well cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elslinky
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

It is very important to us that guests enjoy their stay so your comments are lovely to read. We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope to welcome you back at some point. Thank you.

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised by this lovely B&B. The owners were very tentative and personable. Attention to detail was great e.g. Books and games in the family room, children's cutlery at breakfast. Provided bread to go feed the ducks. Good location. The room was relaxing and clean. Lovely decor. Definitely will go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aditip950
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Lots of visitors who stay are trying a B&B for the first time. We aim to offer a standard found in fine hotels but with a personal touch. So your comments are most welcome, thank you.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Stayed in the family room for 5 nights. Ample space for two adults and two teenagers. Fantastic choice of breakfasts with an extremely friendly service. Lovely fresh fruit available daily. Good location right by the river and lovely park. Knowledgeable and informative staff offered lots of advice about places to go and where to eat. Would definitely return to Glendon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wayne G
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and found the family room worked well for you. We want all our guests to feel welcome so it is good to read your comments and particularly to know you would visit again. If you return to the area it would be a pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

This is the second time we have stayed here and it was as wonderful at the first time. On arrival Adrian was kind enough to serve us with a fresh pot of tea and scrumptious lemon drizzle cake. The room was spotless and the the fresh milk in the silent fridge is a lovely touch. Whatever question you have Damien...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KMIM
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review

It is lovely to read you enjoyed your second visit to us. We always try to provide relevant and helpful information so your comment is particularly welcome. We hope you are able to visit again in the future. Thank you.

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matlock hotels
1.8 km away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
344 reviews
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
209 reviews
2.2 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
394 reviews
0.2 km away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 51 in Matlock
286 reviews
1.0 km away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 51 in Matlock
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glendon, a fine Victorian house, offers a genuine welcome. An ideal base for leisure and business visitors. Located on the edge of the Peak District we offer individually designed bedrooms with a range of amenities including a silent fridge and Wi-Fi. The sitting room, overlooking Knowleston Gardens, is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and offers a full choice. Ample parking is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glendon Guest House

Address: Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Price Range: RM414 - RM525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glendon Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Glendon Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You will hear the church bells from the guest house so just note this if you are a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles 709123, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Query be size. One was a narrow single which is why it rates 4 for rooms not 5.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnGeoffreyM, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are probably quieter with a pretty view of the Church. Room 1 - four poster is lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 895KevinS, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Views to the church at the front, also may be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneR461, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms look onto small gardens/park.Use hair drier/tongs, bring an exten lead as posn of socket not by mirror.”
 of 5 bubbles lloyd2306, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5