We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ripon Spa Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Ripon Spa Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

701 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Ripon Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 700: English reviews
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Recently stayed here for 1 night as a short break on route to elsewhere. So pleased my dog was welcome; at no extra cost!! Staff were very welcoming and considerate, food was beautiful and the roaring open fires fab! Yes, the decor is a little tired and dated but this hotel more that makes up for wallpaper. Couldn't fault it........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
Fergus T, Department Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

The staff are the most important cog in the hotel wheel , and are always striving to make the guests feel valued . We hope to see you again soon

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2015

Staying at the Ripon Spa hotel and cannot believe how accommodating they are. We are here with an extremely needy little dog. We are unable to eat in the restaurant due to not wanting to leave her making a noise for the comfort of other guests. This, however is not a problem to the staff. They offered room service or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cassiejh
Fergus T, Department Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

We always welcome guests with dogs and am glad we exceeded your expectations . If you should return in the warmer weather , you will be able to eat outside on the terrace , overlooking our award winning gardens watching top level Croquet or the World go by . Your choice ! Extremely glad you enjoyed your stay .

Normanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2015

My husband and I had a lovely one night stay ,at the Ripon spar hotel Yes the building is a little tired ,But the staff and the food were excellent Our bar meal on the evening was first class The breakfast was good as well .we left the hotel that morning full for most off the day Will we come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
Fergus T, Department Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . Like the Forth Road Bridge work is continuous and when you return I hope you will notice some of the remedial works are being undertaken .

Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015

My husband booked the restaurant at the Ripon spa for a surprise Valentine dinner for the 2 of us! I was quite excited, as being local to the hotel, we had always admired it from outside, but never actually been into the hotel itself. The meal itself we couldn't fault, but the layout of the room, for a Valentine's dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie C
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that your Valentine's dinner did not turn out to be the romantic occasion it should have been. A music system has since been installed as a result of your review and we would be very pleased to invite you and your husband to dine one Sunday lunchtime with our compliments. I will be contacting you direct...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015

I stayed here on a recent business trip to Ripon and thought it was terrible. On arrival I thought I had arrived at the wrong place. It was more like a retirement home than a hotel. The room was clean although there was a musty smell to the whole place.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sarah W
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry you were disappointed. Some of our bedrooms are in the process of being refurbished and the lack of content in your review does not allow us to comment further however can all the latest reviewers be wrong in their ratings?

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in cold Feb. and the open fires in the lounge and the bar were most welcome. We really enjoyed our breakfast with great tasty bacon and field mushrooms, The building was a little tired which was reflected in our room as the heating could only just cope with the draught coming through the window. Considering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter h
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

I am of course biased, but I have to agree with you that our food is particularly good! We are running a special promotion on steaks at the moment - £15 Steak Night Every Night" - what better excuse to book a return visit?

Leeds
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Echoing other reviews the hotel could do with a little TLC but it felt so cosy and welcoming and I think the fact is isn't ultra modern and new adds to its charm. Staff were attentive and friendly, breakfast was lovely, you had to order some bits like hash browns and beans but they were brought out quickly. I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R4ch3lM4ri3
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for highlighting so many positives about your stay and we are working on the "TLC"!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2015

I love these kinds of hotels - where, yes, admittedly they are very dated, but with soo much character and history. I felt at home here and the staff were very friendly and attentive. I would stay again for sure. Yes, in need of TLC on outside but I didn't stay here for the paint work! My only suggestion would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jojow25
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment about background music - a new system has been installed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Bedford, England
Reviewed 11 February 2015

We stayed here overnight after celebrating a family birthday as the party was held in one of the function rooms. The place is clean, the staff very helpful and welcoming, and breakfast wholesome and plentiful. It also sits in lovely grounds, adjoining Ripon Spa Gardens. Just don't expect the luxury you might get elsewhere a £100 a night room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Anderson_UK
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we hope you may return for another family celebration in the future.

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2015

A lovely hotel in a great location. Sure it looks a little old, and may need a little paint here and there, but the food was phenomenal and the staff did everything they could for us and our dog! Would be back in an instant!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for you vote of confidence!

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.6 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
426 reviews
0.4 km away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
738 reviews
12.8 km away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,289 reviews
0.4 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
349 reviews
32.8 km away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Price Range: RM370 - RM625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ripon Spa Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ripon, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Ripon Spa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back overlook lovely grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles norman293, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms overlooking the gardens are lovely especially in summer months.”
 of 5 bubbles HazelJ610, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 58, too near the fire doors at the top of the staircase and the lift.”
 of 5 bubbles N5715WLdavidc, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There is a lift to the upper floors. Rear facing rooms overlook the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles thesilverfox20, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the garden are best,”
 of 5 bubbles michaelrN926AW, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay