We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harbour House & Leisure Centre

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Harbour House & Leisure Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Start your review of Harbour House & Leisure Centre
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We picked this spot while we were driving around Kerry and glad we did staf and owners were very helpfull and friendly the food was luvly to nice dish,s cooked well the rooms were a bit dated but the view from the window made up for that during the day rooms sound a bit noisy but very quiet at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in Kerry again some day. Regards Sandra

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 April 2017

I was on vacation visiting family and thought I would treat them to lunch at the Harbour View. Firstly the waitress could not have been moe rude and the food was just awful. The best part was the brown bread. It is a shame as it is a beautiful location and I wish the owners would wake up!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cid983
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am so sorry that you had such a bad experience with us. If you had let me known at the time I would have been delighted to address any issues you had. All I can do is apologise again for our staff member and I will endeavour not to let it be an issue again, Many thanks...

limerick
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Has to be the filthiest place I have ever had the misfortune to visit. Everything was filthy, the floors, carpets, Windows, doors, staircase, toilets, walls just about everything. The outside was untidy with rubbish stacked against the wall at the back of the building. If the public areas are like this I dread to think what the kitchen was like....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank millieme73
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review, all the areas that you took the photos are around the pool area and we had that are rented out to another company over the winter and when you visited we had not got to repair it over the use of the winter. Thanks to your review, we took it on hand and...

Limerick
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Great family run guest house with views you just couldn't put a value on! The property is literally situated on the tip of the Dingle Peninsula, next stop - the ocean!! I've attached pictures I took from the front of the house - so breathtaking. There's a little play area for children with swings and slides, two really friendly house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank delasa
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Have stayed here a couple of times, beautiful location and great clean rooms. Lovely living space with lots of natural light and panoramic views. Sandra and the team always bend over backwards to make you feel welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We stayed at this B&B for our friends' wedding, it was such a great experience, rooms are spacious and clean, staff is extremely friendly, delicious breakfast and breath-taking views, do I need to add anything more?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BiaLaSfidaDellaMagia
Clonakilty
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for a cup of tea and a treat which ended up costing close on €30 for 2 adults and 2 children (we had earlier got 4 main courses in an excellent restaurant in Tralee for €40). The real insult however was the poor quality deserts one of which was so stale the fork could barely go through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank corkcc
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had such a bad experience with us, if you had let us know on the day there was an issue with the desserts we could have rectified it for you. Our cakes are made every second day and I don't know what happened that yours was stale. All I can say is I'm sorry that...

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Very easy to book...Sandra and the team were very friendly and accommodating even though we arrived much later than expected on our first night. Stayed for 2 nights and the views were spectacular. It's a long walk back into the nearest village called Castlegregory over 4km so but there's a lovely walk to the harbour and pier head around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
Sandra F, Manager at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

Dear Helen Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, we enjoyed meeting you both. The Maharees is a very special area and a great place to live. We look forward to meeting you again. Kind regards Sandra

Gretna, Ne
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Amazing food, wonderful seafood chowder. We did not stay at the B&B, but ate dinner one night. The hostess were wonderful and the waitstaff were very good. Food was hot, delivered quickly and prices were very reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you had a good experience here at Harbour house's Islands Restaurant. We source all our fish locally and our vegetables are from a few fields down the road. We hope you enjoyed your time in the Maharees and that you will visit this area again soon. Kind regards Sandra

Murroe, Ireland
Reviewed 8 August 2016

My husband and I took some time out together while on holiday in the area and decided on a Sunday morning coffee in Harbour House while our children were minded. We asked if they has fresh scones with our cuppa and were told that they were freshly baked that morning. We got warmed scones tough and inedible from a microwave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bberkery
Sandra F, Owner at Harbour House & Leisure Centre, responded to this review

Dear Bberkery Thank you for your review, I am so sorry you had a bad experience with us. I remember speaking with you on that morning regarding the towel holder in the toilet, our toilet was done up last year and the designer had a shabby chic towel rail and after your discussion with me we had it removed and...

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
25.1 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
23.0 km away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
492 reviews
25.3 km away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
727 reviews
24.5 km away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
813 reviews
8.6 km away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 7 in Castlegregory
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Harbour House is a family run B&B and has 15 individually styled bed rooms, all en-suite. Good food, a comfortable bed and leisure centre can be found in many hotels in Ireland, but it is unusual to find them in a guest house. It's own indoor heated swimming pool, gym, Sauna and its Islands Seafood Restaurant makes it a ideal location for a break. Panoramic views of the breath-taking scenery of the Maharees Islands is on your door step and your hosts promise you good Irish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour House & Leisure Centre

Address: Scraggane Pier, Castlegregory, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Price Range: RM364 - RM424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour House & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harbour House & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House & Leisure Centre Hotel Castlegregory
Harbour House And Leisure Centre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbour House & Leisure Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
27 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour House & Leisure Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the sea view rooms. We overlooked the bay and it was a great way to start and end your day.”
M41TJmichaelc, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“because of the presence of Dogs at the door unfortunately they never got to the rooms”
dicey_8, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is available in the common areas. The excellent Spillane's restaurant is a short walk down the road”
adamlh58, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Sea view please, who needs WiFi!!”
colmm543, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
“No wifi or TV in rooms.”
Themanfromdelmonte1, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates