We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Presbytery

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinsale
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Old Presbytery
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Presbytery
See the most recent reviews
Showing 716: English reviews
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Delicious breakfast! Very cute, spacious, and clean room. Bathroom was also very nice and water for the shower was hot. Short walking distance to shops/bars/water. I stayed in the 2 bedroom suite which had a nice dining room and small kitchen. The owner was very nice and accommodating as well. No complaints here.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cslingerland
Rochester, New York
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We just stayed at this B&B and it was more than we could've hoped for. Very reasonably priced, great rooms, GREAT food and some of the nicest and friendliest staff/owners. We were given great recommendations for restaurants, entertainment and more. The food was excellent. All home made, organic, and freshly squeezed juices. You can see the time and effort that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sshera05
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The place itself is a lovely looking place. Nice courtyard and is exactly what you'd expect from an 'old presbytery' style B&B. However, if you have a baby with you - avoid it. There are lots of stairs and doors to navigate. As for a pram, forget it, that would be impossible to use there. The WIFI seemed non-existent in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank IrelandsBeauty
Noreen M, Owner at The Old Presbytery, responded to this review

Dear IrelandsBeauty, I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding our B & B and service. We are disappointed that you were not entirely happy with your stay but we feel that your review is somewhat misleading and I would like to address some of the issues raised. The doors you mention are internal fire doors and...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 18 August 2014

One of the highlights of our Ireland trip! The room was newly remodeled, quiet, and beds were VERY comfortable. The owner is an excellent chef with a wide variety of breakfast options available...much better than your standard breakfast fare....loved the homemade granola with a special twist! Also enjoyed the afternoon coffee and snacks available. Location is excellent - close to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShariM03
Hot Springs
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Old Presbytery was one of the highlights of our two week tour of the Irish coast. Although the price is only a little more than the average B & B, it was more than worth it. It exuded quaint, the bed and the breakfast were much higher quality than average, and I felt like I was hobnobbing with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tomkempf
Collierville
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Book room #6 and plan your trip accordingly. We loved the room, the view from the private balcony, and the breakfast. The building is where the Catholic priest lived a couple of 100 years ago, so the setting is full of history. Kinsale was a great place to visit. We will go back to Kinsale and to The Old Presbytery.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Buddy J
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Old Presbytery for one night. We enjoyed the stay. The place was quaint and interesting, with odd corridors and many doors. The decor was really nice and there was much to look at and admire, in terms of furnishings, mirrors, chandeliers, art, etc. The staff was pleasant but we did not find the same warmth and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coachiris
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I have given this place four stars, only due to the fact that although this place is great, with large rooms and bathrooms, clean and in a great location. I just feel that is was too high of a price for a bnb, We stayed in bnbs all over Ireland and all of them were just as good as this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travellinma
Monroe, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Kinsale was our final stop in Ireland. Staying at the Old Presbytery was a great place to finish our trip. First of all there is off street parking. We spent two nights there and it was wonderful. It is about a 3 minute walk to all of the action. There is a lot to do in Kinsale. Walking tours, boat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick I
bedford
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at The Old Presbytery last month for just one night. A warm welcome despite the tight parking space. Tea and biscuits on arrival. Bigger than average room, comfortable bed and good shower. Breakfast good. Homemade bread and jam a real treat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cnewman9

293 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (274)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.5 km away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
815 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
593 reviews
0.8 km away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#7 of 54 in Kinsale
298 reviews
0.3 km away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#17 of 54 in Kinsale
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Old Presbytery

Address: The Old Presbytery 43 Cork Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Price Range: RM509 - RM904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Presbytery Hotel Kinsale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Presbytery staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Presbytery staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3rd flood had a great view of the harbor”
 of 5 bubbles 212seant, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book room 7 for an extra special occasion. It is quiet and has a lovely sitting area on private roof top porch with a beautiful view.”
 of 5 bubbles debkdg, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 has a beautiful balcony overlooking the city, with a King size bed and plenty of room”
 of 5 bubbles HeatherMcMahon, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“higher floors might have a harbor view, one has a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles redgirlOhio, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We liked room 3.”
 of 5 bubbles manleyf2014, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5