We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible18%
22 Sep 2017
“Clean, convenient & economical”
27 Jul 2017
“Good stay”
AMENITIES
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
24
15
10
7
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
24
15
10
7
15
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

I contemplated giving this hostel 2 dots just because it made a 4am wake up so welcoming for us! From the start, we were put off. They claim to have a car park but I have to say it looks more like a lot for...More

Thank Anonymouskittykat
Response from unrealdeal, Manager at Dempsey's HostelResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Anonymouskittykat, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I'm sorry you had a bad experience with us. Unfortunately with the powers for social media like tripadvisor when someones name comes up as Anonymouskittykat we can't find out when you...More

Reviewed 31 March 2018

I stayed here for a few days in the mid nineties. It sounds like the place has not changed much! but all you back -packers ,bargain hunters,those who want everything for nothing types,,I can can give you a little bit of advice:- hostel is spelt...More

Thank davidanderson366
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Dempsey's Hostel provided a clean and economical accommodation for a one-night stay in Kinsale. Location is easy to find and very walkable to downtown, and free parking is conveniently located on-site. Dempsey's had reliable hot water, good plumbing and clean (shared) bathrooms, plus the bonus...More

1  Thank Bridget W
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Where to start? I ask myself why are these people running the hostel? The staff are rude, uninterested, and blatantly clueless. I don't think I've ever been met with less of a welcome than from their weekend 'receptionist'. I wasn't surprised to learn he was...More

1  Thank Trevor E
Response from unrealdeal, Owner at Dempsey's HostelResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Everyone, There is a good reason for this spiteful review. He will not be welcome again and is using this open web-site for revenge. We stand by our other genuine reviews, Ciaran Dempsey

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

I spent here one night with my aunt and her two kids (7y/o and 11y/o) The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The guy who received us was kind and gave us a quiet room at the first floor. A nice stay!

2  Thank Martina C
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Kinsale
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Price range
US$33 - US$92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms
7
Reservation Options
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dempsey's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Location
Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Dempsey's Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Don't get a room here"
Read review
"Family rooms are plenty affordable for even just groups of 2-3 friends."
Read review
"Rooms on the east side are quieter, we stayed in rooms E & F."
Read review
"We and my family are literally BEGGING you not to even consider here, BUT if you do don't take room A..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing