We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Commodore Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Commodore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 416: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there 2 nights for Startup Island, lovely hotel and really friendly staff. The hotel itself could do with a bit a TLC but you can see they are working on it. Rooms are clean & comfortable. The staff really friendly and nice food in the bar. It's really good value too. Would definitely go back for a break-away with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruno L
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bruno, Thank you for your lovely review and your understanding with what we are doing in the hotel at present. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope the conference went well. Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Best regards, Robert Fitzpatrick, Assistant Managing Director, Commodore...

Clonmel, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely food, great nightly entertainment, excellent staff, beautifully clean rooms with sea view. All in all , a great place to stay. Would highly recommend The Commodore. And look forward to a return visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noelle A
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Noelle, Thank you for your for lovely review. We hope you enjoyed the birthday celebrations. All the hotel staff loved mixing with you. The sing song was great on Sunday before you left. Looking forward to seeing you again soon, Best regards, Robert Fitzpatrick, Assistant Managing Director, Commodore Hotel,

Burnie, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Harbour facing room on the second floor provided a great base for three weeks of a relaxed tours of local sites and towns.The staff were most helpful with information on local details . The food was excellent ,rooms well serviced .An unusually mild Autumn combined the the majestic view over the harbour and all its activities has left me with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dozoctol
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John, Thanks for taking the time out of your travels to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thankfully the weather here at the moment is still very good. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to all the staff. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Commodore, Best...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here for lunch and we were not disappointed. We skipped starters as we wanted dessert but we couldn't order as we were full after the main course alone. The staff were very good and made sure everything was in order for us

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thanks for taking the time to pop in for lunch and for writing a lovely review. It is a pity that this time around you didn't get a chance to taste dessert (the homemade brownie is a particular favourite of mine) but maybe next time. We are delighted to hear that everything was to your satisfaction, Best regards,...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night in the Commodore. The hotel is in a great location and there is a lovely atmosphere in it. The staff especially the reception staff were really nice and helpful. Breakfast was really nice and enjoyable and there were staff on hand to get anything extra that was needed The hotel is quite old but well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank powerIreland
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi PowerIreland, Thank you for your review. Your feedback about the plumbing is very important for us to hear. The Maintenance team are checking all cisterns in hotel bedrooms to see are they in working order. We encourage guest to let us know while they are here if they have any issues and we will to our very best to...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic value for money, stayed for a weekend in Cobh with family. Decent breakfast and while the room was small and nothing special it had good views of the harbour Decent food in the bar during the day, nice vibe in the evenings. It has free parking and good wifi. The service was excellent, really friendly and I've often got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bozeman-Dublin
Robert F, Assistant Managing DIrector at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Bozeman, Thank you for writing a review especially as I see it has been a long time since you stayed with us. Your lovely comments about the hotel are very much appreciated. Next time you stay be sure to ask about our larger family rooms, all of which look over the harbour. Venerable is a beautiful word to describe our...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed last wekend 6/7 Nov.had seaview room fantastic view.fab food and as for the staff and bar staff Sabrina and Stevie so helpful in every way cocktails to die for.I can safely say we will b back again..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brid B
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brid, Thank you for your lovely review. Your feedback about the food and cocktails (always a good mix during a stay with us) is very welcome. I will be sure to see Sabrina and Steve and pass on your feedback. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon, Best regards, Robert Fitzpatrick Assistant Managing Director, Commodore Hotel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was very disappointed with the hotel and mostly our room. I'm glad we stayed only one day since the room condition and view was really terrible. Our room had very limited and old furnitures. Despite the fact that the hotel is located in a good location by the sea, you should not be fooled into it. VERY DISAPPOINTING.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reza M
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reza, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I can understand that you were disappointed with the view from the hotel window. Recently we have worked on ventilation in an area of the hotel and we are in the process of taking away the old equipment. Rooms to the front over looking the harbour...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on Saturday Night after the Medal Presentation for the Naval Service. We requested a Sea View Room and that is what we got - Room 204. We arrived too early to check in but were still able to get a Car Space and leave our Case at Reception. When we did check in later on, we were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANNEWAR
Robert F, Assistant Managing Director at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Anne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It must have been a very proud moment to see members of the Naval Service receive their medals, in particular as the ceremony recognised those who were involved in the Mediterranean Operation. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for all your lovely...

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This is a hotel that has resisted the urge to modernise itself - and that's fine. The rooms do the job, and the bathrooms are clean. It's not four-stars, but you know what you're getting - and that's value. And, you're staying in a lovely historic town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greenlens

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
0.1 km away
WatersEdge Hotel
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
602 reviews
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
5.7 km away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Fernhill Golf and Country Club
13.1 km away
Cork International Hotel
10.9 km away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Harbour, Heritage and Home-grown Hospitality from the moment you arrive at the Commodore Hotel. An elegant Georgian residence, the Commodore Hotel is located directly on the main street of Cobh, overlooking Cork Harbour, one of the largest natural harbours in the world. Each of our 40 guestrooms is unique and many are decorated to highlight their Georgian features with high ceilings and large windows. There is a wide range of food on offer for you to choose from. Breakfast, Afternoon Teas, Bar Food and Restaurant specializing in home-cooked, locally sourced produce. Live entertainment is available and our friendly bar staff will update you with our schedule.The Commodore Hotel is the perfect location to experience everything East Cork has to offer such as: St Colemans Cathedral, Queenstown Heritage Centre, Titanic Experience, Cobh Museum, Fota House and Gardens, Jameson Whiskey Heritage Centre. The Titanic Trail Walking Tour leaves the hotel at 11am daily. Fota Wildlife Park which is a must see for families is on our doorstep - only 10 minutes train ride away. For the golf enthusiast there are many golf courses to choose from, Fota Island Golf Resort being the most renowned. Cobh Golf Club is a parkland style course which has an island green. For the angler, Cobh is an ideal location given its proximity to Cork Harbour and its famed quality of angling. Located 30 mins from Cork Airport, Ringaskiddy Ferry Port and with its close proximity to major roads and rail routes, the Commodore Hotel is easily accessible for all visitors. If driving, please note the town of Cobh is located on the Great Island in Cork Harbour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Price Range: RM238 - RM366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Cobh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Harbour facing room”
 of 5 bubbles dozoctol, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 204 beautiful views of the harbour”
  • View from room 204 Sunday Morning
 of 5 bubbles ANNEWAR, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ASK for what you need, staff are very willing to assist in any way they can to make your stay as pleasant as can be”
 of 5 bubbles happyincarlow, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Chose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles michaellI396SR, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Worth checking out the specials. Great value!”
 of 5 bubbles 707DC, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay