We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hodson Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hodson Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,897 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hodson Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,878: English reviews
dublin, ireland
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Stayed in the Hodson Bay with family for a birthday celebration. We were upgraded to a room in the spa area, which was very nice. We ate in the hotel on the Friday & the food & service was excellent, they even printed a special menus with photos of the birthday girl on them. The hotel was very busy as...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank bules1
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bules1, Thank you so much for providing this wonderful review- I’m delighted that you enjoyed this celebration. As you mentioned, we like to surprise guests for special occasions such as this- it’s the little touches that make all the difference! I’m delighted that you availed of The Spa at Hodson Bay- it is certainly the perfect area to relax...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

stayed in hodson bay for 3 nights which included 2 evening meals in their award winning restaurant The meal on the sunday was absolutely wonderful starter wonderful asparagus with feta cheese drizzled with coulee main of rump of lamb so tender with a selection of seasonal veg. for afters i had a beautiful cheeseboard enough for 2 people the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank conor m
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear conor m, Thank you so much for providing this feedback. I’m disappointed that you weren’t thoroughly satisfied with your food- our Executive Head Chef has extremely high standards as you experienced on your first night dining but will appreciate that you brought this to our attention. The team members you encountered during your stay represent the entire team, all...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 30 September 2015

My family had been planning a joint 70th birthday for my two eldest twin brothers (one living in Australia and one in Ireland) and had booked the Hodson Bay Hotel as it looked to be the most central location for all of us, as we are well scattered around Ireland and also abroad. Unfortunately, one of the twins was tragically...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Catherine K
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine K, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience but my deepest sympathies for the loss of your brother. I’m glad that our Reservations Agent William was able to assist you- as Employee of the Year 2014, he is a valuable member of the team.I am extremely proud of the entire team- each of...

Reviewed 29 September 2015

Stayed at the hodson bay for a wedding and a weekend stay over. Very scenic location rooms vary from small to very large. But all very clean. Public areas are of good decorative standard. restaurants and bars are busy but have a good atmosphere. Food is excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful.. free WiFi with great coverage. Overall deserves...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Jay M
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jay M, Wow what a wonderful review you have taken the time to provide- I’m delighted that you enjoyed your weekend here and also the wedding you attended! As you mentioned we are extremely fortunate to have such a fantastic location and beautiful views of the lake and golf course- the perfect setting for a break away! Your compliments...

quizzz
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Nice hotel located on the shore of Lough Ree which runs into the Shannon as it rolls through Athlone. Daily boat trip available to Athlon (10 Euros return...highly recommended). Lake view rooms had a disappointingly small window for such an excellent vista, but sufficed, The staff were all helpful and attentive. Retreat rooms are better appointed and bigger, with separate...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank quizzz
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear quizzz, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your 5* rating is reassurance that our efforts to provide our quests with top quality service have been successful. As you so accurately described, the hotel offers some fantastic facilities; from spa and leisure centre to complimentary activities and fine dining, some of which I’m delighted you availed...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel in beautiful setting. Rooms are fine and big although slightly dated. We didn't have a very nice view from our room but You do need to pay extra for a lake view. Good value for a midweek stay. Friendly staff, great swimming pool facilities and perfect with kids.

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Dawnawakening
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawnawakening, Thank you for choosing Hodson Bay Hotel for your family break- as you mentioned we are blessed with our setting which boasts some beautiful views and some exciting activities. We aim to provide the perfect family break with good value for money, top quality service and a range of activities for both children and parents! I hope you...

East Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Booked a 2 night break here as part of touring holiday good room well worth the upgrade to spa room Warm welcome on arrival and dinner was included for one night food was good ate in bar second night This is a very busy resort but staff cope well parking is a bit of a problem far from the rooms

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank jaylena
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jaylena, Many thanks for taking the time to share your lovely review. We aim to provide guests with a home away from home setting which includes a warm welcome from our team here! I’m delighted that you sampled both of our dining options and enjoyed the variety of food on offer. I am blessed with a team who thrive...

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

I booked the above deal in this hotel. Upon arrival it was very busy as a large wedding party was also checking in. Despite this the staff were efficient and we were quickly checked in. Our room was a bit of a disapointment. It was quiet small with no extras at all (no safe, fridge, dressing gowns and not enough...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gomdori1
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gomdori1, Many thanks for your feedback but I am very disappointed that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. You outlined some areas that you weren’t happy with and I appreciate that you have brought this to my attention; I will most certainly add this to the agenda for the weekly review meeting. As you mentioned, I am blessed...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Just back from a very relaxing 2 night break in this very homely hotel .We stayed in a deluxe lake view retreat room , very spacious with a Jacuzzi bath. We had one evening meal with our package which was delicious and well presented . Breakfast was the usual buffet which most hotels have now days .Staff were very courteous...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank cruzdublin2
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cruzdublin2, Many thanks for your fantastic review- I’m delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us! As you mentioned we like to offer our guests plenty of options; retreat at Hodson Bay our adult only area is the perfect place to relax and unwind. We also aim to offer numerous leisure facilities from the spa and the leisure...

Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Went for 3 nights on a golden ages break. Staff were excellent, reception gave us a couple of excellent locations to visit and the bar staff were friendly and attentive. L'Escalle restaurant matched most I have eaten at lately and surpassed many. Breakfast was also beyond expectations. The hotel location on the lough is stunning. Would seriously recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank IDCann
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear IDCann, Thank you for your wonderful review. Your positive comments serve to highlight that we maintain our promise to guests; to provide top quality food and exceptional service in a beautiful location. Thank you so much for sharing your kind words, the team will be thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay. I look forward to having you...

511 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (380)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (191)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (74)
Viewed
Classic Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
6.1 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,734 reviews
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.5 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
956 reviews
5.9 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
5.8 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: RM463 - RM917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hodson Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hodson Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the block above the leisure facilities (rooms 6__). No noise. spacious and views.”
 of 5 bubbles trevora456, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the lake have a spectacular view.”
 of 5 bubbles mmholly60, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If possible afront facing room overlooking the lake”
 of 5 bubbles WindsorP, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Deluxe rooms have an absolutely amazing view over Lough Ree.”
 of 5 bubbles mcashen1, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the lake in the new wing”
 of 5 bubbles Halloweentourist, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5