We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hodson Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hodson Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,875 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hodson Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,856: English reviews
County Mayo, Ireland
Reviewed 22 August 2015

I have stayed at this hotel with my family, always school term hols party of 4. My parents are in there early 70's and usually come with us for a short break as grand parents stay free on this offer. There is something for us all here and we like the familiarity of this hotel. I have an older child...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Caroline G
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline G, I’m delighted that you have previously stayed with us and have such wonderful things to say about the hotel. As you mentioned, we have a loyal team many of whom have worked at the hotel since it opened its doors over 20 years ago. We also have extremely loyal guests who we like to take great care...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We stayed here recently for a family occasion, couldn't have asked for much more from a venue, the staff made it a top choice. The food was excellent, the staff were both only professional and friendly. I had informed the staff earlier of the occasion and they themselves added little touches like a congratulations card in the bedroom and a...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Niamh3699
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Niamh3699, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with this lovely feedback. We always appreciate when guests share their experiences with us and we were especially delighted to have been chosen as the venue for your family occasion. Our staff and service are one of the main reasons that guests that guests return to us- I am...

Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

My family and I have recently returned from a short break at the Hodson Bay Hotel and yet again it lived up to expectations. This was our third visit to the hotel within the last 12 months and there are a few very simple yet important reasons that keep us going back. Value, exceptional service and excellent facilities. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Philorllolo
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philorllolo, Wow! What a fantastic review, I literally don’t know where to begin. You have left no area without compliments and for that I am proud of each and every team member who contributed to your stay. I will pass on your kind words to the team and in particular Andres and Aoife. We pride ourselves on top quality...

Cork
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in a family break and overall we enjoyed it . We arrived on a very busy Sunday... But the staff accommodated an early check in. However our room was very small for 2 adults + 2 kids (compared to other hotels and for the rate we were paying). We talked to the staff and after...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Cathal3
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathal3, Many thanks for providing us with this feedback. I’m delighted that the team rectified your room concerns and ensured that the remainder of your stay went well. I’m also glad that you availed of the hotel facilities; leisure centre, spa and restaurant- we work hard to ensure that there is plenty of activity options for our guests. I...

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 18 August 2015

I should probably begin my review by stating that we did not have a booking and arrived on a busy Saturday night. Is that why the clerk told us the only room was a family suite for 220 Euro? Our intake form said the normal rate was 149. This was crossed out and 220 written in. As we were in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosyg789
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosyg789, Many thanks for taking the time to provide me with your feedback. I'm disappointed to read that you were unhappy with our service during your recent stay. I would love to hear from you directly on thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com. I do hope you choose to return in the future. Kindest Regards, Tim Hayes General Manager

dublin,ireland
Reviewed 17 August 2015

I really feel I can only give a 3 star rating for this hotel which is a pity as the staff and food where fantastic, the noise on the other hand was a disaster. We had booked a two night stay as we were attending a wedding, the hotel where so helpful in letting us check in early for a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank liked_copper
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear liked_copper, Thank you for this feedback on your stay. You have mentioned some individuals and areas within the hotel that collectively enhanced your experience. I will pass on your comments to the team and in particular to Lynette and John who will be thrilled by your kind words. I’m disappointed that your stay was disrupted by noise- it is...

Mayo
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We booked this break as a surprise to join some family who had planned a stay. We checked in on the Sunday afternoon amidst a busy period. This was July 2015 and allot of families around. We'd been travelling a while and got caught at the end of some traffic going to match in Roscommon. On check in we were...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank MrDC31
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrDC31, Thank you for taking the time to write this dedicated review. All feedback is appreciated and helps us to enhance our overall guest experience. From your description, I believe you stayed in retreat at Hodson Bay, our adult-only area of the hotel. Built with luxury in mind, it’s a quiet area of the hotel perfect for resting and...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 17 August 2015

I visited the hotel for a wedding recently and I was very impressed with how the staff handled requested from the guests. They honestly couldn't do enough for us during our stay and in particular Owen and Merrick from the bar. They were particularly accommodating and extremely friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Ciarán M
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ciarán M, It makes me very proud to read your review, all the staff here are very dedicated not only to the hotel but to each and every guest that come through our doors. They will be delighted to read your kind comments and in particular Merrick and Owen. Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely...

Reviewed 16 August 2015

We arrived by water to this hotel, which was originally an 18th. cent house owned by the Hodson family, which is (allegedly) built in the exact centre of Ireland which is marked with Hodsons tower on a small islet in front of the hotel. Being a sunny day it would have been beautiful to have a view over the lake...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Vincent D
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vincent D, Thank you for your review and for stopping off at the Hodson Bay Hotel. You chose a fantastic mode of transport- a boat is the best way to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the lakelands which is steeped in history! The Waterfront Bar was designed with the Irish climate in mind, to provide a cosy and welcoming...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015

The hotel has excellent amenities and facilities to cater for all age groups. There are extensive grounds and seated areas outside and a variety of water sports and golf are available. The staff are exceptional, especially those in the restaurants and bar. Food is superb with a very extensive menu. Rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. Spa and...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Bernie M
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bernie M, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are undeniably blessed with our wonderful location and all that Hodson Bay Resort has to offer. I am also blessed with the dedicated team here, many of whom have been part of the team for several years now and will be delighted to read this review. You mentioned our extensive...

510 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (379)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (190)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (74)
Viewed
Classic Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
6.1 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,710 reviews
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.5 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
942 reviews
5.8 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
5.9 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: RM347 - RM871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hodson Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hodson Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If it's for a couple then try the rooms in the retreat section. More comfort and quite”
 of 5 bubbles 66phillipg, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure your room is nowhere near the boiler house/air conditioning unit”
 of 5 bubbles jamesie67, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If adults travelling ask for adult only rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles EKdublin, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view?”
 of 5 bubbles georgie159, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Look or lake view”
 of 5 bubbles patm947, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay