We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wineport Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wineport Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

958 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wineport Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 944: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here to escape and that is exactly what I did. Wonderful room overlooking the lake. Fantastic hospitality all round and great food. Glen was one of the waiters who served us and he made us feel extremely welcome. We will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a fantastic experience, counting the days till I can get back here again, took my wife here for her birthday and it was a wonderful experience the staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was just unreal, to die for ! thanks a million guys

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernardcullen
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear bernardcullen, Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. We were delighted you spent this special occasion with us and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Norma.

County Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just home from a fabulous two night stay here. The place is beautiful and from the warm welcome, not to mention the hot whiskey to the lovely room with amazing views. The whole staff team are so accommodating and helpful. The hot tub is great and very relaxing. Breakfast was lovely. One of the many highlights was watching the sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank availine
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear availine, I am delighted to read such a lovely review of your stay. We like to ensure our guests have a wonderfully relaxing stay so I am glad to hear you left feeling relaxed. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards, Norma.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was curious to visit here and as I was in the area visiting an old friend I took advantage of the opportunity to visit for lunch midweek. As it's January that probably explained why it was so quiet. We seated ourselves at the tables in the lounge. The lunch menu was extensive with daily specials - we both had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sandra B, Many thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review of Wineport Lodge. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch in the Bollinger Lounge. We try hard to create a relaxed atmosphere and I'm happy to know you enjoyed that. We look forward to welcoming you back once again very soon. Kind Regards, Norma.

Dublin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We started with a gorgeous afternoon tea overlooking the lake. The sandwiches and cakes were delicious and a special mention for the sweet and savoury scones! Followed that with a treatment in the spa and some time chilling out in the outdoor hottub which looks over the lake, just stunning. Our evening meal was equally delicious! We were lucky enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chaiwallah
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Chaiwallah, It is lovely to read your fabulous review of your recent stay at Wineport Lodge. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea on arrival in our Bollinger Lounge and the upgrade to the Champagne Suite was a nice surprise. We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge for a longer stay very soon. Kind...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and himself decided we wouldn't do Christmas presents, instead treat ourselves to one last official blow out on a room before our new chapter commences. We booked to stay in the Champagne suite. Without a doubt one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in to date. Two storey room, with a view of the lake, tranquil, peaceful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Samantha S, Firstly thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay. We try at all times to provide excellent customer service & fabulous food in an unrivaled setting. While your review is at odds with the majority of positive reviews we receive,...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Having visited this hotel for lunch and evening meals which were thoroughly enjoyed I decided to try the afternoon tea but was very disappointed with the quality of the sandwiches too thick with crusts left on the bread. Scones were dry as though they had been defrosted and reheated certainly did not appear to be fresh. The savoury scone was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay D
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lindsay D, While I appreciate that your took the time to provide this review of your visit, I'm disappointed to read how you were let down by some aspects of the Afternoon Tea. Rest assured I will be taking your feedback on board & discussing your comments with the rest of the team. Kind Regards, Norma.

Louth
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Wineport lodge is faultless! Have stayed a couple of times.. Gorgeous rooms & breakfast in the room as standard. Stayed in champagne suite each time, total & utter luxury but we also had a look at some other rooms which all looked just as nice! We ate in the bar and the food amazing, as was the service. Love this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keighra06
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Keighra06, Thank you for taking some time to post your lovely review. The Champagne suite is certainly a room that needs to be seen to be believed so I'm delighted you have had the chance to enjoy it! Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Norma.

Reviewed 16 January 2017

I had heard a lot about the quality and setting of the Wineport Lodge so arrived for dinner and an overnight stay with expectations... which were wildly exceeded! We had a really top class stay in a large and unique suite layout (too many hotels today are standard template layout), with champagne on our arrival and really top class service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Padraig M
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Padraig M, Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read such fantastic feedback on your stay. I will be sure to share your kind words with all the rest of the team who work so hard to ensure every guests stay is a memorable one. Kind Regards, Norma.

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Have tried the wineport a few times for Sunday lunch. You're always guaranteed 3 things. Friendly staff, great setting, consistent food, but always painfully slow. Perhaps I'm missing the point of Sunday lunch, but when the resteraunt is half.full I can't understand what the hold up is

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
Norma W, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Richard T, Many thanks for taking some time to post your review on Tripadvisor. While I am happy to know you have always enjoyed friendly staff, a great setting and good food I was sorry to hear you felt our service was slower than expected. I will be discussing your feedback with the Restaurant team and look forward to...

825 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (376)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (168)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (394)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Champagne Suite (74)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Suite (55)
Viewed
Deluxe Lakeview Room (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
5.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,738 reviews
1.6 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
6.8 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
8.5 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
841 reviews
5.6 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Restaurant
The Restaurant
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: RM718 - RM1,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wineport Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Wineport Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lake view ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles Liffeylady, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Enjoy those lake views!”
 of 5 bubbles geoffmarg, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“get a balcony with lake view ,worth the extra €20”
 of 5 bubbles bernardcullen, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lakeview Room is very nice. For a special occasion, well worth going for a Lakeview Suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Cearnley, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do ask for an upgrade even though all the rooms have a beautiful view of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles 849michelew, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5