We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,350: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have stayet here on numerous occasions and always enjoyed it but unfortunately on this occasion due to works being carried out it was very noisy frim very early in the morning. We should have been informed of this when booking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
Naas
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Two great things about this hotel...location and greeting!! It is located in a great location, within walking distance of wherever you want to go in the town centre. The manner of the staff on reception was excellent. I love getting a polite and friendly greeting. Great first impression! In fact I can't fault any of the staff. In the morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cearaoc
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice location, room was clean and of appropriate quality, staff was helpful, breakfast was reasonable (and had gluten free options). Parking was nice. Got a better rate going thru website versus what they could do over the phone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BH001
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I decided to have a meal in the hotel as we have done on a few other occasions. We were very disappointed. The place was quiet with work going on. "The service was very slow and when we got our order, my mashed potatoes were only warm. My wife had fish and chips and the mushy peas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam F
Reviewed 1 week ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandratQ2349TY
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

At the check-in clearly stated I wanted to have dinner in the hotel. Then at the restaurant gave my room number and ordered food. It was not too bad but not great. Untrained very young staff. After finishing my meal asked to sign the bill was told that the room was prepaid and I had to paid immediately no card...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Help N
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Help N, Can you please send me your contact details as I would like to speak to you in person? Kind Regards, Victor O'Brien, General Manager.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel and staff were brilliant,but 12.50 each a breakfast was alittle over priced and wifi didn't work for us until the morning we were checking out the hotel bar was freezing, other people had ther jackets on and the guy that was to play inda hotel didn't turn up which I was looking forward to all night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H707HImaryo
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear H707HImaryo, We so appreciate your feedback and I would like to aplologise for all the shortcomings. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel. Kind Regards, Victor O'Brien, General Manager

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

I did not feel very welcome on arrival, no recognition of my gold status, very average room with view over the swimming pool roof. Great breakfast as usual though! Average service at the bar, was left waiting for a while in the very spacious in front of the bar space before being asked if I wanted to order anything more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian_kirkwood57
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Ian_kirkwood57, Many thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel. I would like to apologise for any shortcomings during your stay. I will speak to reception team in relation to your comment about the status and I will also speak to our food & beverage team about the service. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming...

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

A fine big bedroom for a family of five, two televisions so no arguments over watching our programs. Breakfast was a little disappointing the fry was a bit dry. A nice bar with excellent food. The decor needs renovation soon as the carpets were torn on the top floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E4192JXleo
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to our hotel. I will speak to our Head Chef about the breakfast. We started an extensive refurbishment off all areas of the hotel, so I hope next time you will see a big difference when you visit. Kind Regards, Victor O'Brien, General Manager.

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

lovely hotel, great staff , lovely room , had great time , room very clean/tidy , breakfast was plentiful , warm and friendly restaurant staff , would return and stay at this hotel again without a doubt

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phillip O
Victor O, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Phil132016 Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.I was delighted to read that you had you had a great time in our hotel. Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards, Victor O'Brien General Manager

659 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (251)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (387)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Business Class Double Room (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (58)
Viewed
Junior Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Suite (75)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.5 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,673 reviews
5.7 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,849 reviews
0.3 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#8 of 9 in Athlone
804 reviews
0.6 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
6.2 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Element's Bistro
Element's Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium. The outdoor terrace is overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a specialty!Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone

Address: Radisson Sas Hotel Northgate Street, Athlone, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: RM290 - RM813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Rezidor and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone Hotel Athlone
Radisson Athlone
Radisson Hotel Athlone
Athlone Radisson Sas
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Athlone
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles 276gerryh, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“beautiful ”
 of 5 bubbles deepblues2014, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 207 had a lovely view of the shannon”
 of 5 bubbles Anniedublinireland, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The room was spacious and the en suite was a good size and kept very clean each day. ”
 of 5 bubbles T1701LJjohnb, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with river view”
 of 5 bubbles M8032XSdebbiel, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay