We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glasson Stone Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Athlone
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Glasson Stone Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016

A very lovely house with all the conforts and warmth. Also the kindnes of the Owners was really lovely. Around the house there were lots of very beautiful objects WIFI Connection was all right. Everything was very clean and we breathed a very quiet and peaceful athmosphere You cannot miss it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saverio N
glassonstonelodge, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

It is always our pleasure meeting people like you. Hope you got home safely to Milan, wishing you both health and happiness in your lives together. Best regards Carmel & Oliver

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived on Sunday 18/9/2016 to the warmest welcome Carmel & Oliver were most welcoming and showed around Staying at Glasson Stone Lodge reminded of us staying at home Wonderfully priced , beautiful rooms & warm hospitality Perfect place to stay for those who love home comforts Definitely will be coming back !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethj1988
glassonstonelodge, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Elizabeth for your lovely review, great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was our pleasure meeting you all. Hope you found some information about your ancestors in Moate, and if I can be of any assistance in that regards, just drop me an email, all the best from Carmel &Oliver

Naas, Ireland
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

We were greeted by Carmel and shows to our room which was beautiful with really nice decor. Towels and toiletries provided and location is excellent right in the centre of Glasson close to pubs and restaurants. Rooms and house in general were spotless. Nothing bad to say about this property. It was exactly what we were looking for on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
glassonstonelodge, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it was lovely meeting you and nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us, regards, Carmel

kingston ontario
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Carmel and Oliver and lovely people and the rooms were both spotless and very comfortable.We planned on only staying one night but decided to stay another as we really enjoyed the local pub and restaurant.would for sure stay here again.we did not need the breakfast as we were leaving for the airport early and Carmel gave us a reduced rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irishfruitcake
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed it, and thank you for your business, Carmel &Oliver

Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had the absolute pleasure of staying at Glasson Stone Lodge when we were visiting Ireland to attend our friends' wedding at the Glasson Golf Club. First of all, the building is a gorgeous stone structure and the garden is expertly maintained and lovely. The rooms are extremely clean and homely and the breakfast is delicious. Best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Emily & Mitch. Nice hearing from you and thank you for your lovely kind words. It was a pleasure havie you stay with us, hope Mitch got over his flu. Hope you had a good trip back to aus. We might be going that way in spring. Best regards Carmel & Oliver

West of Ireland
Reviewed 7 October 2015

This B&B is ideally located in the heart of Glasson village and just a short stroll to the many excellent restaurants which the picture postcard village is famed for. On arrival Carmel and Oliver made us feel right at home, our room was huge, warm and furnished as a home and not as a business. The en-suite had everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mayonthemove
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

We really appreciate you warm comments. You will be most welcome should you ever be in the vicinity again. Best regards Carmel & Oliver

Holywood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

When Carmel and Oliver say "make yourselves at home" they really mean it. Their excellent en suite rooms and the comfort and warmth of their lounge set this place apart from the feeling you get in many otherwise well appointed bed and breakfast 'businesses' we've experienced - and the breakfast is not just hearty with all the 'top-ups' you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnandMaura050667
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Maura & John, glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us. It was lovely meeting you and chatting to you, it's people like yourselves that make this business worth doing. Best regards, Carmel & Oliver

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The rooms were cold and our shower was very poor. I did not like the cooked breakfast at all, very small pieces of everything not a proper full Irish breakfast. The most tasteless breakfast I have ever eaten or picked at ever in my travels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aisling G
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Aisling, so disappointing to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately you didn't let us know when you were here, we could have easily turned on extra heat and provided extra breakfast and indeed are frequently complimented on our breakfast. We will use your review to help improve our service. Regards Oliver

kfar yona
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We stayed in Glasson Stone Lodge about six weeks ago. This was towards the end of our ten-day trip Ireland. We stayed in many B&B's, but Glsson Stone Lodge was the one we liked the most. Carmel and Oliver are very friendly and tried to do their best to help us feel comfortable and get to know the area. Their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kati b
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kati & Israel, thank you for your lovely review, great to hear you enjoyed Ireland and especially Glasson Stone Lodge. Regards Carmel & oliver

Crema, Italy
Reviewed 15 September 2015

A really comfortable lodge! Oliver and his wife, who is of Italian origins, make you feel like you're at home. I stayed here on the day of my birthday with my family: I had booked an Italian restaurant in Athlone, but it was not easy to find. Then Oliver and his wife very kindly took their car and drove us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
oliver O, Owner at Glasson Stone Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Andrea, thank you for you lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you all. I'm sure you would do the same for us. Nice to see a family holiday together, all the best Carmel & Oliver

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
7.2 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,673 reviews
8.0 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
1.8 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
2.4 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
8.2 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Glasson Stone Lodge is a four star family run bed and breakfast. We are situated in Glasson village, christened the village of roses by Oliver Goldsmith. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glasson Stone Lodge

Address: Stonepark Lodge Glasson Village, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: RM309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glasson Stone Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Glasson Stone Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“último county antes de llegar a Dublin.”
 of 5 bubbles bepimati, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All were decorated beautifully and customized to your size party.”
 of 5 bubbles Tommaruna, 9 Aug 2013 | Read review
“room at the back with view on the lawn , nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles glouchix, 4 Aug 2013 | Read review
“maybe a room at the front of the house?!”
 of 5 bubbles magzerwest, 25 Jul 2013 | Read review
“We stayed in room 3, which was a comfortable double room that I found quiet and very comfortable. Good and dark with the blind down so I slept well.”
  • Rear view of the lodge
  • Front view of the lodge
 of 5 bubbles Jo64adventures, 11 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5