We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Athlone Springs Hotel

Booking.comUS$64*
View Deal
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$87*
US$64*
Great Deal
US$87*
US$87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

893 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Athlone Springs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 871: English reviews
Bray, Ireland
Reviewed 10 November 2014

We stayed here for one night - we were going to a wedding in another hotel nearby so we were not spending much time in the hotel. The hotel is very "grubby" - all the walls are scuffed, the skirting boards in the corridors are filthy and many of them had chunks taken from them (no idea how!) The grouting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LWA2014
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there LWA2014, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate all your feedback and there are points we will work on. We are currently working on our painting programme and this is a constant work in progress. The areas you mentioned will receive attention in the next few weeks. We have just cleaned all our...

Reviewed 5 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights Thurs 30th October until Sun 2nd November. Had 4 rooms booked as it was a family get together and I had my 4 year old and 7 year old with me. Kids Club was brilliant great value and my 2 loved it. Took part on 2 nights including Halloween when they played games and watched Monster...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare-Anne C
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Clare-Ann, Great to hear from you and many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad your little ones enjoyed our "Koala Kids Club" our camp leaders were delighted with your comments. Unfortunately due to health and safety the fire alarms cannot be turned off for any reason and the night team carried...

dublin
Reviewed 4 November 2014

My husband and i just retruned from two nights in this hotel. We were met by the lovely Tara when we arrived she was so welcoming and warm. Our room was very nice, large double bed and all the basics were there including wi-fi. The bathroom was lovely with a very spacious shower. The bar served very good food and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aileennestor
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Aileen, What a review, thank you!! Tara and all of our team were delighted to read your comments and we really appreciate your feedback. We have a great team here who love Athlone Springs Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband again soon. Kindest Regards Victoria

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Just returned from a excellent weekend at a family wedding.The staff are amongst the best I have encountered and the food was first class.The sirloin steak I had was one of the best ever and the tradditional irish breakfast was a great way to start the day.Some parts of the hotel are starting to get tired but it did not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aptrading
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AP Trading, Wow what a review. We are all delighted to read your feedback and it is feedback like yours that makes the team here at Athlone Springs Hotel thrive! Now that we are coming into our low season we can now catch up on some of our deep cleaning and maintenance projects. Just this week we had all...

leinster
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Stayed with my family over Halloween break , the shortfalls as I see them , bar is very small and lacks atmosphere , cleanliness is not a huge priority judging by the floor in both the bar and the restaurant , breakfast was very poor our first morning , even though we were down an hour before breakfast finished ,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank yummymummy046
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear yummymummy046, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am really disappointed to read some of your points and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have taken your comments on bored regards breakfast and cleanliness and we will work on these areas. We did have an event in our ballroom and we...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Loved it here. Only stayed one night a few years back but will never forget the bed. WOW. Huge and a lovely fluffy white duvet. The room was spotless.I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area. Price was reasonable too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Fiona, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Delighted you had a great nights sleep in our cosy beds. You are right, the duvets are amazing! We hope to see you again soon and if I can ever help with anything just let me know. Kindest Regards Victoria

Ashbourne, Ireland
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Myself, my husband and our three year old son stayed here in August. All Staff were extremely friendly and helpful in particular the girls at reception who were ALWAYS cheerful and very helpful. Rooms were spacious but bed was very uncomfortable! Neither myself or my husband had a good night sleep there! We ate in the restaurant the first night...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda C
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Amanda C, It is so lovely to read feedback from our guests and thank you for your review. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and got to take in some of the local activities. Glendeer Pet Farm is very popular for children of all ages. Amanda, I would love if you could contact...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2014

my wife and I stayed here on 17th - 19th Oct. Rooms are very shabby. We are from the Uk and feel the standards here are always quiet high BUT The Springs is not in this category. We ate on Friday night and the Food was only Fair. Service was ok, but I felt the Staff could be more attentive....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Ivan W
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Ivan W, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review. We value all feedback here in Athlone Springs Hotel and I will bring all your comments to our management meeting this week. Each department does have a training programme in place and I will ensure that dinner service will be the main topic for the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Not sure. Who was responsible for the 4 star rating of this hotel. I would say 3 star. The have. "Coloured mood" lighting throughout so you can't see anything!!, the mattress on the bed was one of those spring mattress which literally had spring popping every time you turned. Lighting in the room was also very poor so impossible to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Gearoil
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gearoil, Thank you kindly for your very valued feedback. I would hope to speak with you a little further and see which room you stayed in so I can make sure this does not happen again. We have never received a complaint on our mattresses before and usually our guests find our beds extremely comfortable. I have taken all...

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2014

Just back from a weekend away with the whole family. Staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. ( especially Donal and Elaine in the bar). Rooms are very spacious and have everything you need , hair dryer, iron and board , safe , tv, tea, coffee and toiletries. Pool was great with sauna and steam room. Restaurant food was very...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank THE-DOWN-CLAN
Victoria W, Director of Sales at Athlone Springs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear THE-DOWN-CLAN, What a fantastic review thank you so much. I am so glad you got to experience Athlone. It really is a great town to visit and there is just so much to do. Great that you mentioned " Sean Pub" which was just reviewed by The Lonely Planet travel guide. All of the team are delighted you enjoyed...

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (100)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.7 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,812 reviews
5.4 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,980 reviews
3.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
8.5 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sleep, relax and refresh yourself at the Athlone Springs Hotel. Modern and elegant with 68 spacious bedrooms, this 4 star hotel is among the best in Athlone. The bedrooms are luxuriously furnished in warm tones. All bedrooms have the option of a bath with overhead shower with additional extras such as work desk, TV and free Wi-Fi. If you are feeling extra tired, the lazy checkout is an option, subject to availability of course. Push the boat out with breakfast in bed and room service. Guests can also avail of the state of the art Zen fitness and leisure centre and free parking. A family friendly hotel, the Athlone Springs Hotel offers excellent facilities for families including kid's camps and children's pool at the leisure centre. Family rooms are available, some with interconnecting rooms. Additional camp beds and cots are available on request. For the ultimate experience in luxury accommodation, the Manhattan suite comes with two widescreen LCD TVs, a separate sitting room, "his and hers" bathroom, jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, bathrobe and slippers. Fresh flowers and champagne can be organized ahead of your arrival to surprise that special someone. Zen fitness and leisure centre has a 20m swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room as well as all the equipment you would expect in a modern gym. Zen Beauty will have you pampered and preened for a night out or melt away your troubles with a message. Dining in the Athlone Springs Hotel is a relaxed affair with superb food from both the Cedar Bar and Cedar Restaurant. Offering excellent service from friendly local staff and a locally sourced menu, the award winning chefs like to follow nature's lead producing food that is in-keeping with the season. The Athlone Springs Hotel is a choice destination for events and conferences. The conference meeting rooms are climate-controlled and include a choice of two boardrooms, five syndicate rooms, executive business centre, integrated audio visual and multimedia equipment as well as ample parking. The Clonellan suite can hold up to 500 people and can be partitioned. A beautiful venue, superb wedding team, excellent food and service make the Athlone Springs the hotel for your wedding day. The dedicated wedding coordinator will be by your side from start to finish making sure everything goes off without a hitch. No matter what your budget, requirements or aspirations, the Athlone Springs Hotel can fulfill your needs. Private suites are also available for religious blessings or civil ceremonies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Athlone Springs Hotel

Address: Tuam Road | Monksland, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: RM327 - RM724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athlone Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athlone Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#6 Family Hotel in Athlone
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Athlone Springs Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Ireland
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Athlone Springs Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front of hotel, away from kitchen fans”
ShellBK, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“just ask at the desk or contact the hotel directly at the time of booking - staff so helpful!”
helenr92, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor suites are fab!”
X3188KLpauld, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we were on the first floor and only had a short distance to go to the pool.”
annepgorman, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dont matter which room..”
589jimn, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$64* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$87
Hotels.comUS$87
Orbitz.comUS$87
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates