We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Smuggler's Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Smuggler\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Smuggler's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 24 June 2015

The inn is situated on a gorgeous inlet, creating beautiful views from every window. There is an adjacent beach and several picnic tables outside, though the floor-to-ceiling windows in the dining room allow for indoor meals with spectacular views as well. The food was fabulous (we ate both breakfast and dinner there), and the staff were very helpful in helping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wanderlust813
Ocean City, Maryland
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We stayed one night on our way to County Clare. We arrived very late, after the kitchen closed. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and served us chowder and a cold seafood platter. The effort was greatly appreciated. Our waitress was lovely, and our room had a view that was breathtaking. We cannot say enough good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathleen W
Portarlington, Ireland
Reviewed 12 June 2015

My wife and I stayed for two nights in June and to start with the positives of which there are plenty........the food was as good as any we have had in Ireland, the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and are to be complimented. The room was warm, clean and comfortable whereas the bathroom was cramped and the drab and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 711JimB
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Lovely guesthouse in a beautiful setting just located outside the town of Waterville next to the golf club and the beach. There is a small bar and a large restaurant on site with views of the beach. Bedrooms are located up a stairs behind the bar area. There is ample parking and the front and side of the building. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mrs_Pud1
london
Reviewed 13 May 2015

Two friends and I stayed at the Smugglers Inn for two nights and received a wonderful welcome on arrival; our rooms were spotlessly clean, with tea and coffee making facilities, ensuite bathrooms and TV. The staff could not do enough for us. The restaurant service and food were of the highest quality. The views from the rooms and restaurant of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LittleRosieRed
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We stayed there recently and were very happy with the accomodation/facilities. The bay is a view that you wouldn't forget in a hurry. The restaurant was busy with guests and casual callers and I believe the food quality is of a very high standard from talking to others, we certainly found it so. On talking to the owner, Henry, there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tomjude2015
Bray-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

This is my third stay at this charming place and the welcome received was wonderful and cheerful and we were greeted by name which is always a plus!! We got the same room at the end of the building overlooking the sea - it felt like returning back to your "own" room. We arrived a little later than anticipated, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ELVDB
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of The Smugglers Inn and for visiting us again. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. And its always a bonus when the weather is good and i'm pleased to say is still good now! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Bray-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2014

A second stay at this charming hotel and once again we received a warm and friendly welcome. Our room was at the end of the building overlooking the sea which gave a stunning view of the waves lapping on the rocks. The beds were comfortable and there was a seating area as well as a desk and a kettle was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ELVDB
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather was a bit wet and wild to say the least but glad that we made your stay warm and comfortable so as to enjoy the waves from the warmth of your room. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2014

We were overcharged for our room by 30 euros. We had a superior double room and it was far from superior. No shampoo, no soap just dispensers. The room didn't have direct sea views and the windows were too dirty to enjoy the view. There was no internet in our room but there was in most others, there was tiles...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Aileen B
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Smugglers Inn. You had called to say that there would be only be 3 people staying instead of 4 and asked to change your reservation to 1 room for 3 people. The room you were allocated is called a Superior Room because it is more spacious than our Standard...

Fillmore, California
Reviewed 6 October 2014

The breakfast service was great? But! All rooms up a long split flight of stairs, Not good for handicap There was no shampoo or conditioner in the room, Only a wall dispenser with soft soap Like you are going to wash with your face or hair with soft soap. Our room had no sea view as advertised, I was able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amaer1947
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing The Smugglers Inn. We are a small guesthouse with 13 rooms and all rooms are upstairs, with the bar and restaurant downstairs. We do not have an elevator, and it is just 14 steps upstairs, so therefore not suitable for people who have a problem with getting up and down stairs. Most people like to travel...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
10.1 km away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
107 reviews
9.9 km away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
235 reviews
9.7 km away
Brookhaven Guest House
Brookhaven Guest House
#2 of 11 in Waterville
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 11 in Waterville
179 reviews
0.0 km away
Klondyke House Bed & Breakfast
4.9 km away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Smuggler's Inn

Address: Cliff Road, Waterville, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Price Range: RM398 - RM597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smuggler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Hotel Waterville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smuggler's Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Smuggler's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe avoid the small rooms facing sea.”
 of 5 bubbles 186605Dublin, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Restaurant only -- but the food was great!”
 of 5 bubbles QRooBound, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a larger room if you want something a bit nicer, but we were fine in the room we had.”
 of 5 bubbles tmbrown64, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“wifi is slow and blanks out often”
 of 5 bubbles V6684USdavidh, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 10 & 11 had sea views”
 of 5 bubbles JenniferWestie, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay