We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nesbitt Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 239: English reviews
Start your review of Nesbitt Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a really nice stay in the Nesbitt Arms hotel. We stayed while a wedding was going on so the place was packed, we were told by reception that we may expect some noise but hopefully not too much! He also said he put us as far away from the wedding hall as much as possible, which he did, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jobrea
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here in this beautiful part of Donegal. We are blessed in that we are very central to all that is going on. Thankfully our celebrations in the hotel did not in any way hinder you time here with us. We would...

Craigavon, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Two nights experience in June '16 in this Hotel was special because it was some 47 years ago in 1969 when my wife, myself and children last crossed the threshold. At Reception we were given a beautiful room with all the amenities and that set the tone for the rest of our stay. The meals served - breakfast and dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DAMSON59
About Hotel's Favourite Review
NesbittArms, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Welcome back to The Nesbitt Arms! What a lovely story to tell. I am thrilled that you got to travel down memory lane in this beautiful part of Donegal. You certainly managed to see all the key sights in our area and how beautiful are they? We are so lucky to be strategically placed in SW Donegal making...

Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely friendly hotel, staff superb , food top class,rooms very comfy, the hospitality is first class it is sad to leave. Location is too handy to the pubs so be prepared for a crazy time full,of enjoyment and new friends.x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0yramcsherry
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Well thank you so much for your top class review. We are so grateful to you for taking the time to write this. I will pass on you comments to our team here who are just simply the best. Ardara is still a hidden gem and you are right about the lovely pubs, welcoming, friendly and like the hotel team...

Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed on Saturday night for a short visit to a christening in the town and will definitely be back again next time we visit. The hotel has a lovely interior, warm and cosy and the room was spacious and comfortable. The christening party was also held at the hotel and everything from start to finish was made perfect by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am so glad that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and our team as we do our living best to ensure that every guest who joins us leaves with a true experience of Donegal hospitality. I am thrilled that you like our changes to our...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We stayed here overnight on a saturday night .We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They even found a mechanic on a sunday for a guest who's car had broken down. The rooms were very spacious ,warm and clean . The breakfast was lovely and we were well taken care of. The only complaint we had was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eundoc
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here with us and got to experience our teams friendly and warm manner. Helping out comes as second nature to Donegal people and am glad you witnessed this. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your bedroom and we are delighted to...

Reviewed 17 January 2017

Wouldn't be in a rush to stay here again. While the place is quite nice, the service of the staff is pretty poor. Very unfriendly and uncaring, seemed like every little job was a huge effort for them. Such a shame as it has the potential to be much better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy9567
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am very surprised at your comments as we are renowned for our friendly team here which I have to say baffles me. However we obviously did not live up to your expectations during your visit which we truly regret. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel in other...

Maynooth, Ireland
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Knowing we would be cooking all over the Christmas period, we treated ourselves and popped in here for dinner on the 23rd December. as soon as you entered the reception area you could feel the warm friendly atmosphere. A lot of this hotel has been tastefully remodelled and the new Bar/Restaurant - The Ramblers - was buzzing for Christmas with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grainnecl
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a great review and thank you for taking the time to do so. Thank you also for your comments concerning all our remodelling. We have just finished our restaurant and meeting rooms and are delighted with the results. We are renovating our bedrooms very soon so its very exciting times here at The Nesbitt Arms Hotel. You...

Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

We recently had day 2 of our wedding in Ardara and all of our guests stayed in the nesbitt arms that night. From beginning to end, we were treated so well. The rooms are impeccably clean, very comfortable, the b&b rate was extremely reasonable, the breakfast in the morning was cooked to order and really delicious.. and plenty of it!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Revlin
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wow, what a great review and thank you for same. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time here in Ardara. We pride ourselves on having the friendliest team, of course all being from Ardara, they share a wealth of knowledge of this area and are great at assisting guests with their day. So glad you enjoyed...

County Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

We took my parents away for a couple of days midweek break. The village itself is very pretty and offers some great dining options, pubs and scenic drives. The rooms are standard, comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the function room was good, but constant delays with food supply to buffet. Evening dinner in the bar was busy, very tasty if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank irishroverr74
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your trip to this beautiful part of the world. Ardara is a unique place and definitely has the friendliest folk around. I do apologise for the delay in service, we source our food locally and do pride ourselves on cooking everything from fresh which probably...

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Myself and my husband stopped off for a day and a half - great room, lovely renovations, lovely food etc. I found the service was timely although when it gets busy there may be a little wait, but not much. I found the service to be overall very good, friendly staff, however the waitress we were served by for lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lana O
Claire O, Public Relations Manager at Nesbitt Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very informative review. Overall, I am glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and may I say that I have taken on board your comments and have duly addressed same. I do apologise for this occurrence and am glad that it ended positively. Reviews like this are a great learning curve and its...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardara
14.1 km away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
14.0 km away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 3 in Killybegs
544 reviews
8.4 km away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
23.0 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
695 reviews
24.4 km away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Nesbitt Arms Hotel is the only hotel in the beautiful heritage town of Ardara in SW Donegal. An ideal location for discovering Donegal's Wild Atlantic Way. Our hotel consists of 49 ensuite bedrooms and is family run. We are very unique in that all our team here are local so our guests can be assured of a true Donegal experience. We are very conscious of our carbon footprint in that most of our team here walk to work and all share a vast knowledge of the area often imparting great information to our guests about the little gems in the area. All our public areas have been remodelled consisting of a chick traditional bar/restaurant called Ramblers. We also have a 70 seater restaurant and private dining facilities. Weavers Suite is an ideal place for your wedding or party. The hotel offers FREE WIFI to all our guests and visitors. There are an amazing amount of activities and attractions in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nesbitt Arms Hotel

Address: Nesbitt Arms Hotel Main Street, Ardara, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Price Range: RM383 - RM623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nesbitt Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Nesbitt Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesbitt Arms Ardara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nesbitt Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Nesbitt Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all the roooms seem ok”
 of 5 bubbles eundoc, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just ask Claire or her staff!”
 of 5 bubbles mgould99, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be nice at Reception and keep your fingers crossed.”
 of 5 bubbles DAMSON59, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for your requirements, staff will oblige where possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 315Jimwayne315, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi Free and really good throughout hotel”
 of 5 bubbles mullenman, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5